Rockbox Technical Forums

Support and General Use => Plugins/Viewers => Topic started by: n16ht5 on August 13, 2006, 01:17:40 PM

Title: doom mods not working..?
Post by: n16ht5 on August 13, 2006, 01:17:40 PM
whatever doom mod i try, i get

"this addon does not follow standard doom graphics" and it wont work :(. does anyone know whats going on? I am selecting Doom2 as the game
Title: Re: doom mods not working..?
Post by: Llorean on August 13, 2006, 02:10:52 PM
I assume you have either an official doom2.wad, or the freedoom project's doom2.wad then?
Title: Re: doom mods not working..?
Post by: ZeRøB on August 14, 2006, 05:25:03 AM
Yes, like he said. I don't know any other doom2.wad o_O

It means that the add-on has graphics that are bigger then normal, and thus ROCKdoom can't load them (for some stability issue iirc). Try other add-ons, like those described in the Wiki.
Title: Re: doom mods not working..?
Post by: Llorean on August 14, 2006, 01:15:14 PM
Some people have tried renaming pwads as Doom2.wad and not had it work. So I have to actually ask that question.
Title: Re: doom mods not working..?
Post by: ZeRøB on August 14, 2006, 03:49:58 PM
lol
The only pwad I have renamed is the FreeDoom wad, which is now called doom2f.wad (French, or in this case, Free).
Title: Re: doom mods not working..?
Post by: Llorean on August 14, 2006, 03:51:04 PM
FreeDoom is not a pwad. It can be used as one, but it's a base wad.

Besides, the question was addressed at him.
Title: Re: doom mods not working..?
Post by: n16ht5 on August 15, 2006, 03:22:47 AM
i use freedoom
Title: Re: doom mods not working..?
Post by: ZeRøB on August 15, 2006, 04:33:16 AM
I meant iwad, just got them mixed up.. It was pretty late in my timezone

If you're using freedoom as your doom2.wad, the problem lays in your addons. You are able to play FreeDoom without addons right? Try some other addons that were made for the original doom2.exe
I like looking here for them: www.doomworld.com
Every now and then, a /newstuff comes up witgh new wads, including for doom2.exe
Title: Re: doom mods not working..?
Post by: n16ht5 on August 15, 2006, 11:57:26 AM
ok thanks guys