Rockbox Technical Forums

Support and General Use => User Interface and Voice => Topic started by: probedb on June 20, 2006, 04:33:48 AM

Title: Unresponsive nano :(
Post by: probedb on June 20, 2006, 04:33:48 AM
For a while now my nano is sometimes very unresponsive when using rockbox. This has happened for a few versions of the firmware and I'm not sure it's related as I think it started doing it without the version changing.

Anyways symptoms are:

- Trying to get current track to pause after unlocking can take upto 3 attempts before it does anything. This sometimes results in it going into the filemenu as well for no reason.
- Skip track sometimes does nothing then when I try again it skips to the next album on the nano instead of the next track in the playlist?

Bit confused as to why it would become so slow?

Any thoughts?

Ta :)

Paul.
Title: Re: Unresponsive nano :(
Post by: ryran on June 20, 2006, 07:17:32 AM
No clue... Rockbox works great on my nano.
Title: Re: Unresponsive nano :(
Post by: nesukun on June 20, 2006, 07:25:10 AM
same problem here, i thought that was nano's fault as I've only used apple's firmware a few hours before installing rockbox
Title: Re: Unresponsive nano :(
Post by: probedb on June 20, 2006, 08:07:21 AM
No clue... Rockbox works great on my nano.

This is why I'm confused....it worked fine till a couple of months ago. It's really rather annoying to tell you the truth! Especially the skip problem.
Title: Re: Unresponsive nano :(
Post by: Beto on June 20, 2006, 11:23:47 AM
i have that
i have to press the skip button or pause and stuff like that at least  3 times, its annoying
then when im playing games it, i try to go back, and it wont let me go to my music folder, it moves me to the plugins ???
Title: Re: Unresponsive nano :(
Post by: mightybrick on June 20, 2006, 01:33:53 PM
Hmmm.  Do you have "First Keypress Turns on Backlight" enabled in the General>LCD Settings menu?
Title: Re: Unresponsive nano :(
Post by: probedb on June 20, 2006, 01:49:28 PM
Yes. Is this what's causing it? Still can't understand why it takes 3 presses.
Title: Re: Unresponsive nano :(
Post by: mightybrick on June 20, 2006, 01:59:31 PM
That setting was what caused the slow response on my nano.  Change that setting to no or off and see if it fixes your problem.
Title: Re: Unresponsive nano :(
Post by: probedb on June 20, 2006, 02:34:01 PM
OK cheers for that. Have turned it off and will feed back in a couple of days of use :)
Title: Re: Unresponsive nano :(
Post by: nesukun on June 22, 2006, 11:15:39 AM
seems to solve the problem ^O^
Title: Re: Unresponsive nano :(
Post by: probedb on June 27, 2006, 08:53:51 AM
Unfortunately not for me....occasionally it'll work but today it still took 3 presses to pause.

I have replaygain on, and treble set to +3dB if this makes any difference?
Title: Re: Unresponsive nano :(
Post by: nesukun on June 29, 2006, 07:35:40 AM
Well I answered too fast, I still have that problem :( quite annoying
Title: Re: Unresponsive nano :(
Post by: Dwyloc on July 24, 2006, 03:11:08 PM
I have also found that turning of screen and audio fade in and fadeout makes the interface feel more responsive.
Title: Re: Unresponsive nano :(
Post by: probedb on July 24, 2006, 05:03:50 PM
Already off, can still take between 1 and 4 presses before I can get a track to stop :( Not going to stop me using it just damned annoying.
Title: Re: Unresponsive nano :(
Post by: regedit on April 14, 2007, 07:21:32 PM
I had the same problems - it seemed to get worse over time with slow and unresponsive menu's and audio drop outs.

What solved it for me was re installing rockbox (remembering to copy my eq settings etc).
Title: Re: Unresponsive nano :(
Post by: probedb on April 16, 2007, 05:00:56 AM
Still unresponsive for me no matter version of rockbox is installed or how many times I do it!
Title: Re: Unresponsive nano :(
Post by: pondlife on April 16, 2007, 02:02:32 PM
Does it improve if you ensure that all EQ is disabled, all crossfeed is disabled and you have no peak meters displayed?
Title: Re: Unresponsive nano :(
Post by: oblib__ on May 09, 2007, 06:47:20 PM
What codec are you using when it's unresponsive? I have noticed that both speex and nsf formats are terribly slow in responding to keypresses. I believe that has to do with how the codecs themselves are programmed, but I haven't looked too closely at it yet.
Title: Re: Unresponsive nano :(
Post by: probedb on May 10, 2007, 04:35:09 AM
Tried everything, still can take several presses.

Obviously something that will never get fixed. It's just MP3s I use.