Rockbox Technical Forums

Support and General Use => Audio Playback, Database and Playlists => Topic started by: Abesters on November 05, 2011, 01:38:39 PM

Title: Sansa E250 V2 skipping tracks and does not playing anything.
Post by: Abesters on November 05, 2011, 01:38:39 PM
Hi all.
I installed Rockbox version 3.9.1 on a Sansa E250 V2.
When I try and play anything it rapidly jumps from one track to the next without playing anything. I tried enabling the "Prevent Track Skipping" setting but that doesn't seem to do anything.

Any suggestions?

Thanks
Title: Re: Sansa E250 V2 skipping tracks and does not playing anything.
Post by: Chronon on November 05, 2011, 01:43:04 PM
What format are the tracks?  Have they played properly in Rockbox before?  Is the file system containing the tracks free of corruption?
Title: Re: Sansa E250 V2 skipping tracks and does not playing anything.
Post by: Abesters on November 05, 2011, 01:54:37 PM
The tracks are in mp3 format. This is a freshly installed version of rockbox, I did change the theme but I didn't doing anything else to it.

After changing the theme I tried playing some music and it didn't work. That was the first time I tried playing any audio files, I never played anything before the theme change so I am not sure if it would have worked before the theme change.

Is there any way to check whether the file system is corrupt?


Thank you.
Title: file system checking
Post by: Chronon on November 05, 2011, 01:58:07 PM
On Windows I use chkdsk.  On linux I use fsck.vfat.
Title: Re: Sansa E250 V2 skipping tracks and does not playing anything.
Post by: saratoga on November 05, 2011, 03:13:36 PM
Skipping tracks often means that the contents of the .rockbox folder have been corrupted (due to bad USB transfer, problems with file system, etc).  After you check the disk for errors, you may want to reinstall the rockbox build (no need to do the bootloader).
Title: Re: Sansa E250 V2 skipping tracks and does not playing anything.
Post by: Abesters on November 05, 2011, 05:58:36 PM
I reinstalled the rockbox build. It seems to be working now.

 :D :D :D

Thanks