Rockbox Technical Forums

Rockbox Development => Feature Ideas => Topic started by: JoChn on May 29, 2010, 08:01:43 PM

Title: Flash menu
Post by: JoChn on May 29, 2010, 08:01:43 PM
Hi! I think about make a flash menu for rockbox. Is it possible? If not tell why? :)
Title: Re: Flash menu
Post by: saratoga on May 29, 2010, 08:10:27 PM
Whats a flash menu?
Title: Re: Flash menu
Post by: AlexP on May 30, 2010, 05:53:04 AM
If it in any way involves adobe flash, then no, it is not possible.
Title: Re: Flash menu
Post by: JdGordon on May 30, 2010, 09:39:21 AM
now hang on... we arnt Apple here... its not like we have anything against flash... if adobe want to port it then by all means :D
Title: Re: Flash menu
Post by: AlexP on May 30, 2010, 10:58:55 AM
Would "not (currently, and also very unlikely to be in the future) possible" be better? :)
Title: Re: Flash menu
Post by: bluebrother on May 30, 2010, 11:04:33 AM
And what would be the point of using Adobe Flash for the menu? It's annoying, useless and ressource-hungy like mad.
Title: Re: Flash menu
Post by: psycho_maniac on May 30, 2010, 11:34:33 AM
wow waiting for the menu to load would totally SUCK.
Title: Re: Flash menu
Post by: JoChn on June 03, 2010, 01:40:01 PM
By the flash menu, I mean e.g.: the animations for choosing elements in the menu, or pulsed line selector menu. :)
Ok, so the answer is "no"? :P
Title: Re: Flash menu
Post by: bluebrother on June 03, 2010, 05:36:12 PM
Ok, so the answer is "no"? :P

Someone might come up with a patch for that. However, I don't think any dev is interested much in something like this (and I even bet that most would rather dislike such a thing). From my point of view it's completely useless and annoying -- the purpose of Rockbox is to play music, not to have annoyingly flashing menus. So while it might happen I wouldn't hold my breath but rather be prepared for such a feature to get rejected.