Rockbox Technical Forums

Installation / Removal => Rockbox Utility => Topic started by: 11moshiko11 on July 07, 2009, 06:48:57 PM

Title: rockbox doesn't work h300
Post by: 11moshiko11 on July 07, 2009, 06:48:57 PM
hello!

i used to have rockbox on player. it worked fine. couple of weeks ago i upgraded it to rb3.2 and then it stops work: when i turn it on, it show the battery capacity (3.9V left) and then it stucks.

i upgraded it using rbutilqt, i chose full installation.

the difference of files of rockbox between how it looks now for how it was is: rockbox.iriver is in .rockbox
bootloader doesn't appear in any library (though i copied the old one i had into i:\ and it doesn't work eather.

do i have all the files i need? if i don't, can you tell me where can i find the missing files?

thank you,
                moshiko
Title: Re: rockbox doesn't work h300
Post by: bluebrother on July 08, 2009, 04:00:52 AM
Please be more detailed: what is "stop working"? What output do you get? What version was your old version? And what version does the bootloader show? And what does this issue have to do with Rockbox Utility?
Title: Re: rockbox doesn't work h300
Post by: 11moshiko11 on July 08, 2009, 06:55:25 PM


"what is "stop working"? What output do you get?"
that's what show on the screen when i turn it on:
"rockbox boot loader
version 5
batt: 3.89v"
it used to work until i upgraded it. i uninstalled the old version of rb, then upgraded it using rbuiltqt.

"And what version does the bootloader show?"
version 5

"What version was your old version?"
i don't know, but a lot older than 3.2.

in the last version that worked, the bootloader was in the root. now after i installed it using rbuiltqt "bootloader-h300.bin" doesn't exist.
also rockbox.iriver used to be in the root too, but now it's in .rockbox. the h300.hex i patched is 1.29k (around 4mb after patching it).

"And what does this issue have to do with Rockbox Utility?"
Questions relating to the use of Rockbox utility, including the installation of Rockbox using it.
Title: Re: rockbox doesn't work h300
Post by: bluebrother on July 09, 2009, 04:08:11 AM
in the last version that worked, the bootloader was in the root. now after i installed it using rbuiltqt "bootloader-h300.bin" doesn't exist.

The bootloader never was in the "root". On the H300 (and H100) series you need to patch an OF file and flash that. No need to have any bootloader-h300.bin or similar file around, and having it around won't make any difference.

Quote
also rockbox.iriver used to be in the root too, but now it's in .rockbox. the h300.hex i patched is 1.29k (around 4mb after patching it).

This was changed quite a while ago (1 year? 2 years? Can't remember exactly, but it's been looong). The current version of the H300 bootloader is v5, so you're up to date with that and shouldn't have issues with rockbox.iriver being below the .rockbox folder. It might be a good idea to chkdsk /f the drive.

Quote
Questions relating to the use of Rockbox utility, including the installation of Rockbox using it.

Then please ask the questions about Rockbox Utility. You have asked about update problems, but not how those are related to Rockbox Utility. Updating a build as done by Rockbox Utility is the same as unzipping a new build on the player (and in fact that is what Rockbox Utility does -- nothing more).
Title: Re: rockbox doesn't work h300
Post by: 11moshiko11 on July 09, 2009, 05:56:58 AM
It might be a good idea to chkdsk /f the drive.

Quote
Questions relating to the use of Rockbox utility, including the installation of Rockbox using it.

Then please ask the questions about Rockbox Utility. You have asked about update problems, but not how those are related to Rockbox Utility. Updating a build as done by Rockbox Utility is the same as unzipping a new build on the player (and in fact that is what Rockbox Utility does -- nothing more).

ok, now i know. i got the point. i;ll try also to chkdsk the drive.


edit:
i tool forward your advice and formated the hd sing swissknife (fat32) and now everything works just fine.

thank you very much,
                           moshiko

*Chronon closed a quote tag to make post more readable.