Rockbox Technical Forums

Support and General Use => User Interface and Voice => Topic started by: blackbird on June 21, 2009, 06:40:03 PM

Title: How can I alter the rockbox main menu/Database?
Post by: blackbird on June 21, 2009, 06:40:03 PM
I recently started using the rockbox software on my Gigabeat F40, but I don't really like the complicated menus that I will never use. I want to be able to turn off the Playlist menu(which I will never use), move "settings" under "System", completely remove the "Files" menu, and alter the Database menu so that I don't see "Ratings", "Album Artist", and "Search", which I will absolutely not use. Is there anyway to do what I want?

Also, I think that the firmware should be altered so that users can change the order of the menus/whats on them, etc like on an ipod.
Title: Re: How can I alter the rockbox main menu/Database?
Post by: Chronon on June 21, 2009, 06:54:03 PM
Customizable menus are a No-Do for Rockbox.  If you wish to change the structure or content of the menus you will have to modify the code and build your own Rockbox.  This will be an unsupported build and you will be expected to verify with a supported build (either a release or a current build) before reporting problems).

See here (http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/view/Main/DataBase#tagnavi_config_v2_0_Syntax) for info on how to customize the database view.

Also, if you only wish to use the database, then why not set it as the start screen?  Then you can just configure your database screen how you want it, select your music and don't worry about the menus.
Title: Re: How can I alter the rockbox main menu/Database?
Post by: blackbird on June 21, 2009, 07:00:34 PM
hmm, customizing the database seems quite complex to do, and I don't exactly understand the methodology. Could you give me some pointers?

Also, what is wrong with allowing the user to customize the menus? Isn't that the point of open source?
Title: Re: How can I alter the rockbox main menu/Database?
Post by: Chronon on June 21, 2009, 07:11:56 PM
Customizable menus make support rather difficult since we have no way of telling people where to find various options.  It is open source and your are free to change the source to fit your needs.  However, the fact that it's open source does not require us to support modified code that you build.

I don't have much experience customizing the database screen, so I'll let someone with more experience with that help you. 
Title: Re: How can I alter the rockbox main menu/Database?
Post by: blackbird on June 21, 2009, 07:42:29 PM
Would you know how I get rid of the 1 before the track number? After I press Database>Artist>Album, the files all have 1s, then the song name. For some songs, it does, for others it doesn't, no matter how much I try to change them. How do I get rid of those ones? I'm assuming this is disc number, but although I am removing disc numbers, that still shows up. It is quite annoying.
Title: Re: How can I alter the rockbox main menu/Database?
Post by: saratoga on June 21, 2009, 08:01:57 PM
Open source means you can make whatever changes you want, not that you can ask other people to make them for you ;)
Title: Re: How can I alter the rockbox main menu/Database?
Post by: pixelma on July 05, 2009, 01:09:06 PM
Would you know how I get rid of the 1 before the track number? After I press Database>Artist>Album, the files all have 1s, then the song name. For some songs, it does, for others it doesn't, no matter how much I try to change them. How do I get rid of those ones? I'm assuming this is disc number, but although I am removing disc numbers, that still shows up. It is quite annoying.

Is there still a "1" somewhere in the path of those songs? There currently is some weird track number guessing in the database code that uses the file's path - every now and then the topic comes up to remove it but that hasn't happened yet (guess you'll find some threads on it here in the forums too). Alternatively you could probably alter the "tagnavi" config to not display track (or disk?) numbers. I haven't really worked with it myself as I don't use the database regularly, but found the DataBase (http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/view/Main//DataBase) page in the wiki quite helpful.