Rockbox Technical Forums

Support and General Use => Audio Playback, Database and Playlists => Topic started by: -Rockstar on December 03, 2008, 04:27:58 PM

Title: Songs duplicate
Post by: -Rockstar on December 03, 2008, 04:27:58 PM
At random times, my songs duplicate, it's even gone to quintupled.

And, it seems that it happens around a few minutes after I initialize and upgrade the Database to get rid of it.

Any help?
Title: Re: Songs duplicate
Post by: donp on December 04, 2008, 01:27:40 PM
I can't help, but I get it too.  I reinitialize the Database to get rid of it.

Title: Re: Songs duplicate
Post by: Chronon on December 04, 2008, 04:36:09 PM
I think you're seeing a known bug.  Check FS#8414.
Title: Re: Songs duplicate
Post by: donp on December 04, 2008, 06:57:41 PM
Yes, that looks like the one.

Title: Re: Songs duplicate
Post by: -Rockstar on December 06, 2008, 08:04:44 PM
It doesn't let me view the bugs page.

:(
Title: Re: Songs duplicate
Post by: Chronon on December 06, 2008, 08:09:28 PM
The wiki, flyspray and some other things are down due to the denial of service attack.  When service returns they will be accessible again.
Title: Re: Songs duplicate
Post by: hjthorn on December 21, 2008, 10:15:26 PM
Hi Chronon

Can we assume the "duplicate songs" bug has not been fixed?

22 Dec 2008
Title: Re: Songs duplicate
Post by: Chronon on December 21, 2008, 10:24:05 PM
Can you see whether or not Auto-update has any effect on this?  I turned this setting off recently and it seems to have prevented this from occurring.  I will post this observation to the tracker.

Actually, I just turned on Auto Update.  If I notice this problem again I will post to the tracker.
Title: Re: Songs duplicate
Post by: hjthorn on December 21, 2008, 10:57:01 PM
Thanks Chronon

I set load to ram=on, auto update=off, reinitialized the db and rebooted.  Problem remains.

Worth noting is the problem is on the same album+artists (I checked 4 albums out of around 200)  3 albums from the same artist only 1 album (always the same) is affected.

Worth noting is, at the moment I am accessing the songs that were loaded up via ipod os with media monkey.
Title: Re: Songs duplicate
Post by: Chronon on December 22, 2008, 02:12:33 PM
Please post your observations to the tracker.  More information is generally a good thing and can help clue an interested developer in to what might be causing a given bug.  At this point it's still not clear exactly how to reproduce the bug.  Its appearance seems somewhat random.