Rockbox Technical Forums

Rockbox Development => Feature Ideas => Topic started by: zenji on February 15, 2011, 03:09:34 AM

Title: Choice to boot into original firmware or rockbox as default
Post by: zenji on February 15, 2011, 03:09:34 AM
Reluctantly I've just had to uninstall Rockbox because it was becoming too inconvenient...

The reason is that I only need it for one thing*, and apart from that I'm quite happy with the original firmware on my Sansa Clip+.

I use my player not just for music but
- to quickly record ideas
- to listen to lectures
so it's necessary to be able to start up as quickly and easily as possible.

I constantly forget to press the correct button to get my original firmware - or do it too late, necessitating a restart.

I think it would be wonderful if one could install the firmware in such a way that you had a CHOICE as to what firmware it booted into by default. Even better would be able to set it in the settings section, but that's not a major thing.
____________________________________
* I love the way Rockbox can:
- change the speed of audio without changing the pitch
- give you gradations of speed to choose from

The Clip+ does NOT retain the pitch when you speed up the audio - it goes chipmunk. This is pretty silly really, because it's technically possible to fix this.

Plus you only have THREE choices: fast, slow, normal.
And while I LIKE the idea of having available three simple options, it would be better to also have the choice of a gradational (%) change, set in preferences.

However SANSA has been UNRESPONSIVE to both of these requests for basic improvements.

Post Merge: February 15, 2011, 03:18:35 AM
Of course, Rockbox is developed so that people can use that as their firmware.

But I think we can also assume that many people originally bought their players because they thought the original firmware was pretty good too. Then later they found extra things they liked in Rockbox.

I think having a CHOICE is always good, yes?!
No one wants to be a Mubarak lol!
Title: Re: Choice to boot into original firmware or rockbox as default
Post by: Llorean on February 15, 2011, 10:18:06 AM
No need for the hyperbole. I doubt Mubarak had a button you could hold down to avoid the secret police and all those poor souls just forgot to press it.


What is it about Rockbox that makes it unusable for you as a primary firmware?


Also, why did you open yet another thread on this? You yourself have even posted about this before.
Title: Re: Choice to boot into original firmware or rockbox as default
Post by: saratoga on February 15, 2011, 11:45:05 AM
Just use your existing thread on the same topic.