Rockbox Technical Forums

Installation / Removal => Manual Installation => Apple - Installation/Removal => Topic started by: ywd on March 15, 2007, 09:30:51 PM

Title: Booting to the apple firmware as default
Post by: ywd on March 15, 2007, 09:30:51 PM
I am using the ipod video 30gig (not 5.5g), and i was wondering if there is any way to change it so that the bootloader automatically boots to the apple default firmware, and have the hold switch boot rockbox?
Title: Re: Booting to the apple firmware as default
Post by: Llorean on March 16, 2007, 03:27:18 AM
It's possible but requires a small amount of programming to modify and recompile the bootloader.
Title: Re: Booting to the apple firmware as default
Post by: mcbear on March 16, 2007, 05:14:36 AM
Thanks for the post, that was a very good idea, since Rockbox on the 3g
is not perfect yet..:-)
I did the modification to the ipod-bootloader, and it works...Apple by
default, Rockbox if the hold-swich is on.
I can mail/post the modified ipod.c, if needed.
Build done on VMWare platform.
Title: Re: Booting to the apple firmware as default
Post by: dommo on March 16, 2007, 05:50:28 AM
If rockbox is on the 5th gen is anything like it used to be on my old iPod mini, as soon as you're in the apple firmware, it'll always load that, unless you reboot it, or leave it off for long enough that it goes into "deep sleep".
Title: Re: Booting to the apple firmware as default
Post by: ywd on March 16, 2007, 06:15:53 PM
Thanks for the post, that was a very good idea, since Rockbox on the 3g
is not perfect yet..:-)
I did the modification to the ipod-bootloader, and it works...Apple by
default, Rockbox if the hold-swich is on.
I can mail/post the modified ipod.c, if needed.
Build done on VMWare platform.
Is it the source to a different ipodpatcher.exe? could you post the compiled version?
Also, for rockbox updates, would you need to change the bootloader, or just what's on the hard drive?
Title: Re: Booting to the apple firmware as default
Post by: ywd on March 16, 2007, 07:35:19 PM
Where is the bootloader stored, anyways?
Title: Re: Booting to the apple firmware as default
Post by: bluebrother on March 18, 2007, 06:13:48 AM
Where is the bootloader stored, anyways?
On disk, in a special partition (marked as empty).
Title: Re: Booting to the apple firmware as default
Post by: mcbear on March 19, 2007, 06:25:24 AM
Is it the source to a different ipodpatcher.exe? could you post the compiled version?
Also, for rockbox updates, would you need to change the bootloader, or just what's on the hard drive?
Has nothing to do with ipodpatcher....
Afaik, you don't have to change the bootloader for updates (as long
as there is no major change). Updating simply means to copy the
.rockbox-folder and the rockbox.ipod to the ipod...
Attached is a compile for the 30 gig  video, which should boot to
ApplsOS  by default. I don't take any responsibility whatsoever !!
(Mods, please remove if not the appropriate place...)



[attachment deleted by admin, too old]
Title: Re: Booting to the apple firmware as default
Post by: ywd on March 19, 2007, 03:52:41 PM
Where do i put the .bin?
Title: Re: Booting to the apple firmware as default
Post by: linuxstb on March 20, 2007, 04:19:45 AM
Attached is a compile for the 30 gig  video, which should boot to
ApplsOS  by default. I don't take any responsibility whatsoever !!
(Mods, please remove if not the appropriate place...)

The appropriate place would be the unsupported builds forum.

Also, the correct format for distributing bootloaders is the ".ipod" format - when you build the bootloader you should get a bootloader-ipodvideo.ipod file in your build directory.

Finally, don't forget the source code - Rockbox's license (the GNU GPL) requires you to make it available.
Title: Re: Booting to the apple firmware as default
Post by: mcbear on March 20, 2007, 04:52:28 AM
Ok, could have read the rules of the game before, sorry...
Will post it in the "unsupported builds" forum, with .ipod
and ipod.c file.