Rockbox Technical Forums

Installation / Removal => Manual Installation => Iriver - Installation/Removal/Flashing => Topic started by: TOFFEEMAN1878 on October 19, 2006, 10:40:30 AM

Title: Finally got RB on to my H320 !!
Post by: TOFFEEMAN1878 on October 19, 2006, 10:40:30 AM
Now I can't turn it of !! Screen shows No codec for/Arcade Fire ???????whats going on here it will not swicth off >:( & its not connecting to my PC .......JIm
Title: Re: Finally got RB on to my H320 !!
Post by: Llorean on October 19, 2006, 10:43:35 AM
Your post doesn't make sense. "Arcade Fire?" What is that?

Where are you trying to turn it off from, and what do codecs have to do with powering down? Are you saying it's frozen with that on the screen or something?
Title: Re: Finally got RB on to my H320 !!
Post by: TOFFEEMAN1878 on October 19, 2006, 10:46:44 AM
Yes its frozen ,& it will not switch off no buttons responding at all ,any clues ?

Title: Re: Finally got RB on to my H320 !!
Post by: bascule on October 19, 2006, 10:47:28 AM
Hard reset? On the H120, it's a pinhole in the base of the unit...
Title: Re: Finally got RB on to my H320 !!
Post by: TOFFEEMAN1878 on October 19, 2006, 10:49:41 AM
Cheers does that mean I'll lose all my play lists ?...Jim
Title: Re: Finally got RB on to my H320 !!
Post by: Genre9mp3 on October 19, 2006, 11:03:46 AM
The reset hole is located on the left side of the player, right under the mic. Use a pin for that. You won't loose any of your data. It's just a power reset.
Title: Re: Finally got RB on to my H320 !!
Post by: TOFFEEMAN1878 on October 19, 2006, 11:12:23 AM
Cheers for that reset means I can reboot to O/F , RB bootloaded  I get a message " No Rockbox directory" I take by that some files did not transfer to the H300 you have to be genlte with me I'm shoite with computers  ;D
Title: Re: Finally got RB on to my H320 !!
Post by: Genre9mp3 on October 19, 2006, 11:30:48 AM
Cheers for that reset means I can reboot to O/F , RB bootloaded  I get a message " No Rockbox directory" I take by that some files did not transfer to the H300 you have to be genlte with me I'm shoite with computers  ;D

Then it seems that you installed the bootloader but not rockbox itself! You can download a daily build or a CVS build (links in the frontpage) and extract its contents into your player.

Remember that the bootloader allows you to boot to both firmwares. (Play/On for Rockbox Play/On while holding Rec for retailOS)
Title: Re: Finally got RB on to my H320 !!
Post by: TOFFEEMAN1878 on October 19, 2006, 11:39:23 AM
Hi,I'm Saving the daily build to the desktop ,then extracting it to the ROOT folder for the player, but it keeps coming up with the same message"No Rockbox Directory " then says Installation Incomplete ! what I am doing wrong ? ...Jim
Title: Re: Finally got RB on to my H320 !!
Post by: Genre9mp3 on October 19, 2006, 11:43:19 AM
Eeer... are you sure you extracting the files right?

Check your player. It should have a .rockbox directory and a rockbox.iriver file
Title: Re: Finally got RB on to my H320 !!
Post by: TOFFEEMAN1878 on October 19, 2006, 12:06:23 PM
Heres a screen shot :(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v653/OPTIMISTICBLUE1878/ROCKBOX.jpg)
Thats Right Isn't  ?....Jim
Title: Re: Finally got RB on to my H320 !!
Post by: Llorean on October 19, 2006, 12:09:20 PM
You need to have
H:\rockbox.iriver
and
H:\.rockbox\ which is then full of other stuff.
Title: Re: Finally got RB on to my H320 !!
Post by: TOFFEEMAN1878 on October 19, 2006, 12:21:49 PM
Dumb Question but why is it not there Iv'e downloaded everything I need several times Builds /fonts etc I haven't a clue why they are not there !,why can I not extract  the neccersary files to the player ,it must be working because its booting  i.e. iriver & Rockbox ,isn't the hard part getting the bootloader patched ? which is done .....Jim :-[
Title: Re: Finally got RB on to my H320 !!
Post by: Llorean on October 19, 2006, 12:22:24 PM
Have you looked at the player to see what files are there, and where they've actually ended up?
Title: Re: Finally got RB on to my H320 !!
Post by: Febs on October 19, 2006, 12:28:40 PM
You're not trying to put the files into a folder named "ROOT," are you?  When we refer to the "root directory," we are referring to the topmost directory of the player, not to a folder on the player named "root."

If you follow the steps laid out in detail in the Installation Chapter of the Rockbox Manual (http://download.rockbox.org/manual/rockbox-h300/rockbox-buildch2.html#x4-110002.2.3), it should put the various files and folders in the correct place on your player:

Quote
Use the “Extract all” command of your unzip program to extract the files in the .zip file onto your player. Note that the entire contents of the /zip file should be extracted directly to the root of your player’s drive. Do not try to create a separate directory or folder on your player for the Rockbox files! The .zip file already contains the internal directory structure that Rockbox needs.

In other words, if your H320 is drive H:, extract the build directly to H:  -- Do NOT extract it to H:\ROOT.
Title: Re: Finally got RB on to my H320 !!
Post by: TOFFEEMAN1878 on October 19, 2006, 12:37:15 PM
Febs ,Thats what I have been doing see screenshot above  after highlighting the drive  pressing OK it extracts to the player or in this it dosen't   :'( I getting ready to tear my hair out here AAAAAAARRRRRGGGGHHH!.........Jim
Title: Re: Finally got RB on to my H320 !!
Post by: Febs on October 19, 2006, 12:40:18 PM
I can't see your screen shot because whatever site you used to host it is blocked by my company's web filter.

Try what Llorean suggested:  figure out where on your player the files are actually going.  Where is the .rockbox folder?


Title: Re: Finally got RB on to my H320 !!
Post by: TOFFEEMAN1878 on October 19, 2006, 12:53:43 PM
(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v653/OPTIMISTICBLUE1878/ROCKBOX-1.jpg)
They appear to be on the player ????
Title: Re: Finally got RB on to my H320 !!
Post by: Febs on October 19, 2006, 01:01:23 PM
"Where is the .rockbox folder?"

Title: Re: Finally got RB on to my H320 !!
Post by: TOFFEEMAN1878 on October 19, 2006, 01:11:09 PM
This is driving me nuts ,I'm sure you guys are losing patience with me by now , the Bootloader is on the H320 ,Im going to delete all the files I downloaded apart from the Boot files & start again,which file do I download first ?....Jim & don't say RTFM
Title: Re: Finally got RB on to my H320 !!
Post by: MoD on October 19, 2006, 01:15:19 PM
Extract the zip file with its exact folder structure. Maybe you have chosen an option in your zip extractor that extracts all files into the same folder regardless of any subfolders in the zip archive.
Title: Re: Finally got RB on to my H320 !!
Post by: MoD on October 19, 2006, 01:19:04 PM
you don't have to reinstall everything! If you really saw the message "no rockbox folder found" the bootloader should work as expected. Your only problem is that you messed up copying the rockbox files correctly!
Title: Re: Finally got RB on to my H320 !!
Post by: TOFFEEMAN1878 on October 19, 2006, 01:32:01 PM
MoD it said "NoRockbox Directory "....Installation Incomplete  ,I downloaded the daily build to the desktop right clicked to Extract to the player it tells me it allready contains that folder do I want to replace it click O.K. Is that the wrong way to do it ?....Jim
Title: Re: Finally got RB on to my H320 !!
Post by: Febs on October 19, 2006, 01:37:09 PM
I'm sure you guys are losing patience with me by now
Well, yes, because you aren't answering the questions that I am asking you.   Where on your player is the .rockbox directory? In other words, what is the full path to that directory on your player?

Quote
& don't say RTFM
There's not much else we can do if you don't answer questions intended to help you diagnose your problem.
Title: Re: Finally got RB on to my H320 !!
Post by: Llorean on October 19, 2006, 01:39:27 PM
It looks very much like you extracted without preserving the folder structure. There are all kinds of files in the root of your H drive that are supposed to be in folders.
Title: Re: Finally got RB on to my H320 !!
Post by: MoD on October 19, 2006, 01:41:02 PM
As it was mentioned a few times: After you've extracted the files to your H:\ drive you should have a H :\rockbox.iriver file and a H:\.rockbox folder containing more folders and files related to rockbox. Is that the case, yes or no?

By the way: Are you using the Microcrap builtin file extractor?
I suggest something more reliable like http://www.7-zip.org/ or http://www.winrar.com
Title: Re: Finally got RB on to my H320 !!
Post by: TOFFEEMAN1878 on October 19, 2006, 01:52:48 PM
As it was mentioned a few times: After you've extracted the files to your H:\ drive you should have a H :\rockbox.iriver file and a H:\.rockbox folder containing more folders and files related to rockbox. Is that the case, yes or no?     No I can't see any of them apart from those ones on that screenshot above

By the way: Are you using the Microcrap builtin file extractor?
] Again no I'm using WinZiP Pro
Title: Re: Finally got RB on to my H320 !!
Post by: Llorean on October 19, 2006, 01:59:39 PM
Please don't put your response *inside* the quote, it's almost impossible to see that you've responded.

You've got winzip configured improperly if it's extracting everything to the root instead of preserving the folder tree, as only one file and one folder should be put in the root, and everything else goes in that folder (or subfolders).

Since I don't use Winzip I can't tell you how to fix it, but I suggest reading its instructions to find out how to have it preserve directory structure.
Title: Re: Finally got RB on to my H320 !!
Post by: MoD on October 19, 2006, 02:08:21 PM
Try not to rightclick the zip file but doubleclicking it, so the file is opened by Winzip, then you can look out for any extraction options. Like Llorean I don't use Winzip, so I don't know where you can find this, but I'm shure this option exists!
Title: Re: Finally got RB on to my H320 !!
Post by: Febs on October 19, 2006, 02:26:49 PM
Windows' unzip utility works precisely as described in the section of the manual quoted above.  Double-clicking the file should open a folder showing the contents of the file.  There is an option on the left for "Extract all files."  Clicking that option starts a wizard, which in turn brings up a dialog box which allows the user to specify the extraction path (or browse for the location).  Just typing the drive letter of the H320 here (in this case, H:\) and clicking "next" should extract the files and folders to the proper locations on the player.
Title: Re: Finally got RB on to my H320 !!
Post by: TOFFEEMAN1878 on October 19, 2006, 02:41:29 PM
Febs  tried the Windows Zip works just like you  I can now see the Rockbox Folder & Rockbox iriver file ,Can't understand why Win Zip didnt respond in the same way ,any my H320 needs recharging now should be plain sailing from now on (crosses fingers )  Thanks Guys  for your help & paitence .......Jim