Rockbox Technical Forums

Installation / Removal => Manual Installation => Iriver - Installation/Removal/Flashing => Topic started by: Fiver on September 22, 2006, 05:24:11 AM

Title: no .rockbox directory
Post by: Fiver on September 22, 2006, 05:24:11 AM
Okay guys, I'm giving up on tryin'

I tried to flash upgrade my H320 with the latest Rockbox build and now it comes up with the messages:
"No .rockbox directory"
"installation incomplete"
I've checked sereval times, the .rockbox directory is in the root, as well as the rockbox.iriver.

Older versions of Rockbox (from around May) work fine. I patched the Firmware again and flashed again. But nothing, I tried extracting using Suse 10 or WinXP Pro, erverytime the same result.

Was there a major change in Rockbox after May and my Player somehow can't handle newer versions?

Regards Fiver
Title: Re: no .rockbox directory
Post by: Febs on September 22, 2006, 08:42:01 AM
First, you don't flash your player to the newest build.  You only need to flash when you are upgrading the bootloader.  If you have bootloader v5, you have the latest version and there is no need to flash anything when upgrading the firmware.

Second, are you absolutely certain that the .rockbox folder is in the root directory, that it is spelled correctly, and that it has the leading dot?  How are you extracting the build to your player?
Title: Re: no .rockbox directory
Post by: Fiver on September 22, 2006, 10:01:05 AM
@First: sorry my mistake, I meant copying the new build onto the player.

@Second: Yes, I am absolutely certain, that the .rockbox folder is in the root directory, it is spelled correctly and has the leading dot. And if I overwrite the new rockbox.iriver file with the old one I got (Kosh experimental 2.4.4), Rockbox boots completly but not with the new one, so the .rockbox directory must be fine.

I tried extracting in Suse10.0 via Archivmanager (no worries, I didn't forget about the hidden files/directories) and I tried WinXP via Explorer and WinRAR. I tried extracting it directly to the H320 and I tried extracting it to my hdd and then copiyng it to my player.

And as I said, if I copy the older version it works, if I copy a new one it doesn't.
Title: Re: no .rockbox directory
Post by: mnhnhyouh on September 22, 2006, 10:07:14 AM
So if you delete the .rockbox folder does the behaviour change?

What about if you delete the rockbox.iriver file?

h
Title: Re: no .rockbox directory
Post by: Llorean on September 22, 2006, 10:10:24 AM
Okay, how 'bout this: Compare the contents of the .rockbox directory included in the kosh build with the one you're getting with the official build. You are using an official one right?

I can't tell if you're just copying the Kosh's .iriver file over, or extracting its whole build. In either case, it's possible that your .rockbox folder is incomplete, but the Kosh build isn't recognizing that something's wrong with it. Which official build exactly did you try to download and use, so one of us with an H300 can try out that archive and see?
Title: Re: no .rockbox directory
Post by: Fiver on September 22, 2006, 10:20:25 AM
Okay, maybe this helps:

I deleted the .rockbox directory as suggested, the new version, is showing me the two warnings and then an empty screen with only the standard-topline with the battey-symbol and so on. This is the same as before.
BUT
The older version is starting up telling me also "No .rockbox.... and then showing the browser with all my files!

So is my file system maybe corrupt? And the newer version can't handle this? So what should I try next?
Title: Re: no .rockbox directory
Post by: mnhnhyouh on September 22, 2006, 10:23:06 AM
It is sounding more like the bootloader.

I would get fresh firmware, and patcher (unless you know the patcher is new enough) and a new build of Rockbox and start from scratch.

Make sure you reset when booting into Rockbox (provided you can).

h
Title: Re: no .rockbox directory
Post by: Llorean on September 22, 2006, 10:25:16 AM
I notice that during that you didn't answer any of my questions. I also don't think it's the bootloader, though I'd like to know which version of bootloader you're running as well, it's unlikely to to cause this sort of problem.
Title: Re: no .rockbox directory
Post by: Fiver on September 22, 2006, 10:35:46 AM
I tried a few builds, since I've encountered that problems a few weeks ago, I tried:
Kosh:
the working ones: 2.4.4; 2.4.5; 2.5.0; 2.5.2;
not working: 2.8.5; 2.9.0; 2.9.3; 2.9.4; 2.9.12
official not workin: 20060823; 20060922
and I was just using the newest official build and copied only the Kosh .iriver file.

Bootloader: V5 with 1.30-EU freshly downloaded and patched today.

Sorry Llorean I was just trying to answer you.
Title: Re: no .rockbox directory
Post by: Fiver on September 22, 2006, 10:41:37 AM
Is it possible to get my hands on some (maybe all :o) older official versions? Starting 2nd of may till 22nd August and I try to find out from wich build on I get the error?
Title: Re: no .rockbox directory
Post by: pabouk on September 22, 2006, 10:43:46 AM
Have you tried clearing the settings? After turning the player on press and hold the record button until Rockbox whites "cleared" to the screen.

I would also check the filesystem (i.e. chkdsk in Windows)
Title: Re: no .rockbox directory
Post by: Llorean on September 22, 2006, 10:49:55 AM
With the official builds, you've extracted the whole build (not just the .iriver file like you did when copying over the Kosh build) and cleared the settings as pabouk suggested?

Unofficial builds have had a history of leaving settings around that have caused problems.
Title: Re: no .rockbox directory
Post by: Fiver on September 22, 2006, 11:17:00 AM
Yes I've extracted the whole build and I cleared the settings  ???
Title: Re: no .rockbox directory
Post by: Llorean on September 22, 2006, 11:38:05 AM
You never got back with your bootloader version, by the way. While I still don't think it's the cause of the problem (since you're at the point where you're past it), the problem is somewhat baffling me.
Title: Re: no .rockbox directory
Post by: Fiver on September 22, 2006, 11:44:44 AM

Bootloader: V5 with 1.30-EU freshly downloaded and patched today.

Title: Re: no .rockbox directory
Post by: Llorean on September 22, 2006, 11:59:42 AM
Apparently I can't read. Sorry 'bout that. I've been up a while, insomnia. It's 11AM here and I've not yet slept. :)

Okay, do me a favour, just try one more time. Delete entirely rockbox.iriver and your .rockbox folder, and extract a fresh one. I'm thinking the most likely problem is not that you don't have the folder, but that it's somehow incomplete . So completely removing it before installing a bleeding edge build might help.

It sounds like you're copying over it, since you use the word "overwrite" so I'd like you to erase everything, and then hold Record while booting to clear the settings once more on a completely clean build.
Title: Re: no .rockbox directory
Post by: Fiver on September 22, 2006, 12:10:04 PM
No worries  ;)

Tried what you suggested, no luck.

It seems to me, that the newer versions can't read my filesystem, but I've got no idea why.

Seems like I'm stuck with the old ones I got  >:( well, better than no Rockbox  :-\
Title: Re: no .rockbox directory
Post by: bluebrother on September 22, 2006, 12:13:04 PM
I had a similar problem once. I copied all files back to the PC, deleted everything on the iriver and put rockbox on it. Reboot, and it worked again, so I copied my music back.

Still I have no idea what caused this, but I suspect some strange things on the filesystem. Maybe formatting the whole drive also helps.