Rockbox Technical Forums

Third Party => Repairing and Upgrading Rockbox Capable Players => Topic started by: Q85 on January 10, 2013, 06:30:09 AM

Title: -DONE- Iriver H120 hangs at Rockbox screen when started. Afterusingresetitworks.
Post by: Q85 on January 10, 2013, 06:30:09 AM
Hello.
My Name is Quentin, i am a 27-year old from germany.

When i try to start my Iriver by pressing the Play-button it hangs at Rockbox screen. The red HDD-light does just a single flash, then nothing else. I have to use the reset button. The player then switches off. When i use the play button again, everything works fine.

This occurs with hdd or cf card present.

History of what i did with the player:
I have been using my Iriver H120 with bootloader v6 and some rockbox version for some years.
Bought CF-Card and adapter.
Installed bootloader 7-pre4 following http://www.rockbox.org/wiki/CFModGuide#Current_bootloader_install_procedure_for_iRiver_H120 and http://www.rockbox.org/wiki/IriverFlashing#Upgrading_the_bootloader
I also installed the latest stable rockbox build 3.12 by using the very conveniant rockbox tool.

Things i already tried to solve my problem:
-reflashed the dumped ROM-image to get back to bootloader v6 + original firmware
-restored original firmware by using unpatched firmware file in OF
-reinstalled bootloader 7-pre4 and rockbox
-read on the forums, could this help?: http://forums.rockbox.org/index.php/topic,16423.msg122601.html#msg122601

I hope somebody can help me to get my player back to normal :)

Best regards, Quentin

Edit: If there are any questions left, please ask.

I am Using a Transcend 32 GB 133 Compact Flash Card.
The adapter was bought from ebay (http://stores.ebay.de/Unique-Networks/CF-/_i.html?_fsub=1625500018&_sid=17927768&_trksid=p4634.c0.m322 -> "IDE ATA to Compact Flash CF Adapter 1.8 Toshiba iPod")
Title: Re: Iriver H120 hangs at Rockbox screen when started. After using reset it works.
Post by: monoid on January 10, 2013, 07:23:30 AM
I do not know what the problem is. So, probably no real help. :(

I have H120 and have made SDD mod quite recently. I use 120 GB SDD and everything works fine most of the time. Sometimes (say 1 of 10) if I start iRiver using remote, it starts boot and after few seconds switches off. It has never occured if started using iRiver button. No real problem. I use bootloader 7pre4, the behaviour with 6 was rather erratic - it booted successfully 1 in 10 cases.

Also other guy made exactly the same Mod and no problem, as far as I know.

You do not write which HDD does not work. Is it original or other bigger one?

Maybe try another card, also you did not write anything about, how you formated the HDD and card.
Title: Re: Iriver H120 hangs at Rockbox screen when started. After using reset it works.
Post by: Q85 on January 10, 2013, 08:29:47 AM
Hi monoid.
Thank you for trying to help.

Well, the problem is solved.

I installed the harddisk from my other Iriver. It still had the old version of Rockbox i have been using for so many years (r18607-3.0-080923). I told the bootloader 7-pre4 to boot from disk. I used ROLO. I flashed the old version to ROM and RAM as described in the links above.

Voila!

No more hanging at Rockbox Logo.
The player now starts very quick, i am happy :D

CF, Compact Flash 32 GB Transcend 133, bootloader 7-pre4, Rockbox r18607-3.0-080923 flashed to ROM and RAM

Greetings, Quentin
Title: Re: -DONE- Iriver H120 hangs at Rockbox screen when started. Afterusingresetitworks.
Post by: monoid on January 10, 2013, 08:42:53 AM
So, if I understand it well, the problem was not in bootloader, CF/HDD or any other hardware, but in version of RB used? Simply downgrading RB did the trick?
Title: Re: -DONE- Iriver H120 hangs at Rockbox screen when started. Afterusingresetitworks.
Post by: Q85 on January 10, 2013, 11:24:02 AM
So, if I understand it well, the problem was not in bootloader, CF/HDD or any other hardware, but in version of RB used? Simply downgrading RB did the trick?
Thats right. I just copied an older version, which was running on that device earlier.
Sleep timer is back where it belongs ;-)
Title: Re: -DONE- Iriver H120 hangs at Rockbox screen when started. Afterusingresetitworks.
Post by: Enda on February 08, 2013, 12:27:15 PM
This information came in very handy for me as I had the same problem after doing the CF Mod. So thanks Q85 and Monoid.

I wonder will this be rectified in future releases?

E
Title: Re: -DONE- Iriver H120 hangs at Rockbox screen when started. Afterusingresetitworks.
Post by: Q85 on February 11, 2013, 12:49:39 PM
This information came in very handy for me as I had the same problem after doing the CF Mod. So thanks Q85 and Monoid.

I wonder will this be rectified in future releases?

E

I am happy this information was useful to you. :)
This version is the one which is working for me: http://download.rockbox.org/release/3.0/rockbox-h120-3.0.zip
I think Rockbox is made to work with an unmodded player. So maybe the developers are busy with more important things than fixing problems on an old modded iriver?

An CF-modded iriver H 120 is running fine with bootloader 7 pre 4 and rockbox 3.0. The only feature i noticed when using 3.12 when my HDD was still in place was album art. But its pretty useless on 160 x 128 greyscale LCD anyway :D

Q
Title: Re: -DONE- Iriver H120 hangs at Rockbox screen when started. Afterusingresetitworks.
Post by: fikander on April 04, 2013, 05:10:06 AM
I have the same problem with modded H120 - SSD 64GB and 2200mAh battery. The last version of Rockbox which runs without any problems was 3.11. Versions: 3.11.2, 3.12, and 3.13 freezes at boot. It's something wrong with latest versions of Rockbox. I hope developers can fix this issue. Probably Rockbox was not tested with modded players with SSD drives.
Title: Re: -DONE- Iriver H120 hangs at Rockbox screen when started. Afterusingresetitworks.
Post by: Uwe Z on November 20, 2014, 05:38:45 PM
Got the same problem with my H140 and a Toshiba 240Gb disk. Just wandering if anybody found a solution?. Keep running Rockbox 3.11 with 7pre4. Overall a great modification but sad we can no longer upgrade to newer versions  :-[
Probably not high on the agenda but think there is a growing community with upgraded H120s and H140s.
Uwe
Title: Re: -DONE- Iriver H120 hangs at Rockbox screen when started. Afterusingresetitworks.
Post by: wodz on November 21, 2014, 02:44:14 PM
I just checked what are the commits between 3.11 and 3.11.2 and honestly I can't see anything even loosely related to the problems described. I guess the only way to fix this is if any of you is able to bisect the offending commit. If anyone from those suffering from the described bug wants to help and dive into building and testing I may provide support on IRC.
Title: Re: -DONE- Iriver H120 hangs at Rockbox screen when started. Afterusingresetitworks.
Post by: gevaerts on November 21, 2014, 03:15:28 PM
Which bootloader are you using? If v7pre4, are you booting from disk or from flash?

Do things work better if you disable dircache?
Title: Re: -DONE- Iriver H120 hangs at Rockbox screen when started. Afterusingresetitworks.
Post by: mborus on December 18, 2014, 09:12:03 AM
I have the same probleme here, too. I modded two players, a Iriver H100 and a H120.
The H100 works flawlessly, the H120 stops booting at the start screen.

I'm using the v7pre4 bootloader on a H120 and the current release build 3.13
with a CF adaptor and 64GB CF card.

It makes no difference if I use flash or rom (booting from the CF card itself fails, of course)

When I press reset, I am always able to boot. If I shut down the player and start
it normally, it hangs in the boot screen most of the times.

I will attemt to go back to 3.11 (as suggested above) to see if that fixes it.

#UPDATE#

I can confirm that flashing 3.11 in RAM (rather than 3.13) has worked and that my
player has booted without problems for 10 times in a row.

Some more information about the problem:
It made no difference if I booted from RAM,ROM or into the boot selector.
Even if I waited a few seconds and then selected RAM or ROM, the player
would hang on the first attempt.


##UPDATE 2##
The H100 player with firmware 3.13 started to show the same behaviour and
now also hangs after having worked for a while.