Rockbox Technical Forums

Support and General Use => User Interface and Voice => Topic started by: LenW on October 31, 2018, 05:54:31 PM

Title: "Advanced Key Lock" feature on Sansa e200v2, v3.14 ?
Post by: LenW on October 31, 2018, 05:54:31 PM
I just installed Rockbox 3.14 on my Sansa e280-v2  ("e200v2 Series").
I see from the Manual, section "8.5.7 Advanced Key Lock" describes
a menu in the screen:   Settings -> General Settings -> System .
But it is NOT THERE, (and nowhere else that I could find).

What am I missing?

Thanks,
-LenW
Title: Re: "Advanced Key Lock" feature on Sansa e200v2, v3.14 ?
Post by: Bilgus on October 31, 2018, 06:21:50 PM
does your device have a physical lock button?

If your device has a physical hold switch then advanced keylock shouldn't be activated, apparently the device knows this but the manual does not
Title: Re: "Advanced Key Lock" feature on Sansa e200v2, v3.14 ?
Post by: LenW on October 31, 2018, 06:46:52 PM
does your device have a physical lock button?
Yes, there is a slide switch called Hold in the diagram.
From p20 of the manual:
"on the top, there is ... the Hold switch. Moving this switch to the right
activates hold mode in which none of the other buttons have any effect."

But now I'm confused.  I just noticed that the section
"8.5.7 Advanced Key Lock"  on p74, it refers to
"the key lock (software hold switch)".
But I can't find anything else in the manual about a software hold switch.
Title: Re: "Advanced Key Lock" feature on Sansa e200v2, v3.14 ?
Post by: Bilgus on October 31, 2018, 07:02:10 PM
I found the issue thanks for bringing it up
Title: Re: "Advanced Key Lock" feature on Sansa e200v2, v3.14 ?
Post by: LenW on November 01, 2018, 01:54:43 AM
Just another thought:
Would it be possible to add the software hold switch features to this device
even though it has a hardware switch?  I would gladly sacrifice the
use of the slide switch, since it is so drastic,  I don't recall
ever using it (except for a few times trying it out) in the
10+ years I have had this device.

Title: Re: "Advanced Key Lock" feature on Sansa e200v2, v3.14 ?
Post by: Bilgus on November 01, 2018, 02:18:54 AM
It could be added to a custom build as long as you had a key free to assign to it but I'd be unwilling to add it to the mainline
Title: Re: "Advanced Key Lock" feature on Sansa e200v2, v3.14 ?
Post by: Bilgus on November 01, 2018, 04:04:06 AM
This Build should work for you.
Rename your old .rockbox folder to .rockbox.old just in case...
Then copy the new .rockbox folder from the zip to the root of your drive

http://www.mediafire.com/file/3sc7ahrqa5ampjf/Sansae200nophysicalholdsw_SELRIGHT-rockbox-full-11032018.zip/file

I set the hold key as 'Select' + 'Right' and I'd assume your 'old' hold switch will still lock out the keys but no clue
Title: Re: "Advanced Key Lock" feature on Sansa e200v2, v3.14 ?
Post by: Bilgus on November 02, 2018, 09:22:20 PM
it only works in the wps screen if the menu is showing now it should work but I can try to look a bit deeper into it
Title: Re: "Advanced Key Lock" feature on Sansa e200v2, v3.14 ?
Post by: LenW on November 02, 2018, 10:23:19 PM
I tried both again, with that in mind - being careful that I was in
WPS when pressing the "hold" key.  Same results.
Title: Re: "Advanced Key Lock" feature on Sansa e200v2, v3.14 ?
Post by: Bilgus on November 03, 2018, 12:57:39 AM
Ok I got it to work with Select + Right see the first post for the link

Turns out the key map for the sansae200v2 doesn't fall through to the Standard Context
which is where I put the keylock so instead I placed it in the WPS context map and
tested it in the sim.

Again let me know if it doesn't work but I'm pretty confident it will.
Title: Re: "Advanced Key Lock" feature on Sansa e200v2, v3.14 ?
Post by: LenW on November 05, 2018, 09:58:14 PM
I've tried it out a bit, and it works like a champ!  Thanks!
Some questions:
 - What is an example of a player that has the software lock fully implemented?
     I would like to see what the manual says about it.
 - What base version (dev build?) is this custom build based on?
 - What is wrong with this shortcut entry?  It doesn't even show up
     in the menu:
[shortcut]
type: setting
data: Advanced Lock Key   
name: Adv-Lock-Key     

And a request:
 - Would it be possible to build a custom version like this for the
     "Sansa e200" (ie v1)? - yes, I have one of those also.

Thanks again for all of this.
Title: Re: "Advanced Key Lock" feature on Sansa e200v2, v3.14 ?
Post by: Bilgus on November 05, 2018, 11:39:19 PM
Sansa Fuze+ was the player that prompted the feature so look there it'll have all the manual entries for the soft lock but I doubt it'll tell you any more than you know already

You can't set a menu to a shortcut only a setting and tbh I thought I disabled them but you can set enabled (within the Advanced Keylock menu) to the shortcut menu for the time being
But I'll eventually disable that as well.. (the underlying reason is that it uses a custom menu to do the key masks)

The build is made from the latest Dev version as of the date I made it.

It is possible to do the same for any player I'll put a patch up on gerrit and you should be able to replicate it for any player if you so desire
http://gerrit.rockbox.org/r/#/c/1973/