Rockbox Technical Forums

Rockbox Development => Starting Development and Compiling => Topic started by: mlb2gm5x on August 19, 2006, 07:41:46 AM

Title: creating custom bootloader - problems
Post by: mlb2gm5x on August 19, 2006, 07:41:46 AM
Hi,
I'm trying to compile the rockbox bootloader for the h120/h140, but the 'scramble' tool gives me an error with the current bleeding edge build of rockbox:
"This doesn't look like a valid decoded iHP firmware - reason: file 'length' data"
:(
Is there anything special I need to know before compiling my bootloader.bin? The bootloader I got from thttp://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/view/Main/IriverBoot is around 20 kb smaller and the scramble tool doesn't return any error. What am I doing wrong?
I'm compiling the bootloader because my LCD display got broken and it cuts 48 first lines now :'(

Is there any guide to compiling bootloader? I couldn't find anything...

Thank you for any information on this topic
Title: Re: creating custom bootloader - problems
Post by: petur on August 19, 2006, 10:55:05 AM
building and flashing your own bootloader is not recommended! The official h1x0 and h3x0 bootloaders are build and tested by LinusN because he also has a wiggler so he can repair the firmware in the flash if it doesn't work.

If you build and flash your own bootloader, you only have one chance to do it right. If you made an error, your player is bricked. No fail-safe mechanism.

Be warned. Talk to LinusN for a custom bootloader if he has time.
Title: Re: creating custom bootloader - problems
Post by: Llorean on August 19, 2006, 04:39:43 PM
Why do you need a custom bootloader anyway? You don't really need to see most of what it says, and you could probably skip the first 48 lines in Rockbox only, without modifying the bootloader at all...
Title: Re: creating custom bootloader - problems
Post by: mlb2gm5x on August 20, 2006, 03:39:52 AM
Be warned. Talk to LinusN for a custom bootloader if he has time.
No.. I think he has enough work already.

Why do you need a custom bootloader anyway? You don't really need to see most of what it says, and you could probably skip the first 48 lines in Rockbox only, without modifying the bootloader at all...
Yes, that's what I did already (unfortunately a few plugins have specific resolution requirements). I was trying to do this because I also have some problems with my hdd and I can't read the error code.

So.. if it's a real problem as you say then I'll get use to it. It's not that important. I just thought it was quite a normal procedure.

Thank you for your answers