Rockbox Technical Forums

Installation / Removal => Manual Installation => Iriver - Installation/Removal/Flashing => Topic started by: Mr Whippy on October 26, 2008, 07:07:54 PM

Title: H140 playback problems
Post by: Mr Whippy on October 26, 2008, 07:07:54 PM
I've installed Rockbox to ROM, and now copying over the latest rockbox release, rebooted. When I play a file I'm getting codec failure. I've tried several files flac and mp3 and both the same. I'm wondering if the rombox flash is causing conflicts?
Title: Re: H140 playback problems
Post by: Llorean on October 26, 2008, 07:20:14 PM
Did you update the ROM version to the one you've just installed? It sounds like it's trying to use the Rockbox-in-ROM but you've got newer codecs than that, so it gets codec failure.
Title: Re: H140 playback problems
Post by: Mr Whippy on October 26, 2008, 07:23:07 PM
I've set the default boot to disc, and now works ok.  How do I reflash rombox/rambox with latest version?
Title: Re: H140 playback problems
Post by: Llorean on October 26, 2008, 07:25:42 PM
Same way you did last time. This is unsupported until you see it in the manual.
Title: Re: H140 playback problems
Post by: Mr Whippy on October 26, 2008, 07:28:35 PM
It's been about a year since I flashed ROM/RAM. I can't remember how.
Title: Re: H140 playback problems
Post by: Llorean on October 26, 2008, 07:29:21 PM
Well, as I said, it's unsupported. There's a wiki page on it, though I don't know the name. You'll have to search.
Title: Re: H140 playback problems
Post by: Mr Whippy on October 26, 2008, 07:45:39 PM
ah got it had to open rombox.iriver with the flashing util. Need to update rambox how do I flash to that? found it
http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/view/Main/IriverFlashing

Have flashed both ROM and RAM, plus rockbox on the disc. Which is better to use, ROM or RAM boot up?
Title: Re: H140 playback problems
Post by: Llorean on October 26, 2008, 07:54:44 PM
Whichever you prefer based on the differences between the two of them. Seriously, this feature is unsupported and mainly intended for developer and testing use. You're going to have to read about it and make your own decisions on which way you prefer.
Title: Re: H140 playback problems
Post by: Mr Whippy on October 26, 2008, 08:03:05 PM
I guess disc will be slightly slower, so it's either between ROM and RAM. Have no need of original firmware, I believe having rockbox in ROM/RAM has more recovery options instead of bootloader/ iriver firmware.