Rockbox Technical Forums

Installation / Removal => Manual Installation => Iriver - Installation/Removal/Flashing => Topic started by: romme on January 18, 2008, 11:16:25 AM

Title: couldn't instal rockbox
Post by: romme on January 18, 2008, 11:16:25 AM
hi there,

i just purchased a used iriver 140 and tried to rockbox it...
which didn't work out...as i used the manual step by step i think
it has to do with me formatting the iriver beforehand in NTFS (whatever
that means - i'm not that computer savvy) so when i open the
iriver in the browser it is empty but the iriver firmware says 0 MB free.

any help would be appreciated, thanks
roman
Title: Re: couldn't instal rockbox
Post by: LambdaCalculus on January 18, 2008, 11:20:33 AM
Reformat your iriver using FAT32 instead, then try installing again.
Title: Re: couldn't instal rockbox
Post by: AlexP on January 18, 2008, 11:24:52 AM
And given you have a H140 and thus a 40 gb drive, you are going to need to use a 3rd party tool to do it such as Swissknife if you are using Windows XP, as XP will refuse to do it for you (as your drive is over 32 GB).
Title: Re: couldn't instal rockbox
Post by: romme on January 18, 2008, 01:24:59 PM

thanks for your help, everything works perfectly!

roman
Title: Re: couldn't instal rockbox
Post by: Mikerman on January 19, 2008, 07:25:52 AM
And given you have a H140 and thus a 40 gb drive, you are going to need to use a 3rd party tool to do it such as Swissknife if you are using Windows XP, as XP will refuse to do it for you (as your drive is over 32 GB).
Actually (and it's been awhile since I used the player's original firmware), wouldn't the player's own format option do this as well?  Just for future information at this point ...