Rockbox Technical Forums

Installation / Removal => Rockbox Utility => Topic started by: adam22 on February 10, 2010, 06:34:02 PM

Title: Installing to Fuze V1 w/ Linux
Post by: adam22 on February 10, 2010, 06:34:02 PM
Hey guys. Using Ubuntu 9.10 here and a V1 Sansa Fuze. Trying to get the installer to work, but no dice!

(http://img44.imageshack.us/img44/349/screenshotps.th.png) (http://img44.imageshack.us/i/screenshotps.png/)

I ran gksu with the file, and then tried the installer, but it won't recognize the device! Any ideas?

I get a network error too.
Title: Re: Installing to Fuze V1 w/ Linux
Post by: bluebrother on February 10, 2010, 06:43:36 PM
Well, as there is no Sansa Fuze in the list of devices I'd say the Fuze is simply not supported by the version of Rockbox Utility you are running. And you are definitely not running the latest version, which is easily to recognize from the screenshot. Please update and in case of further problems please post the output of the Help / Troubleshoot / System Info and System Trace dialogs.
Title: Re: Installing to Fuze V1 w/ Linux
Post by: adam22 on February 10, 2010, 06:47:52 PM
I downloaded from this (http://www.rockbox.org/wiki/RockboxUtility#Download) page. Could you point me in the direction of the new installer? It's 64 bit Linux.
Title: Re: Installing to Fuze V1 w/ Linux
Post by: bluebrother on February 10, 2010, 07:09:23 PM
Use the 32bit version. The 64bit binary is rather outdated, and as you can easily figure by reading the Changelog (http://www.rockbox.org/wiki/RockboxUtility#Change_Log) at the same page is support for the Fuze something that was added later -- with 1.2.3.
Title: Re: Installing to Fuze V1 w/ Linux
Post by: adam22 on February 10, 2010, 08:00:40 PM
That worked. Thanks. My home button doesn't do anything, but I think that's by design?
Title: Re: Installing to Fuze V1 w/ Linux
Post by: funman on February 19, 2010, 03:41:49 PM
Be sure to read the manual (http://download.rockbox.org/daily/manual/rockbox-sansafuze/rockbox-build.html)
Title: Re: Installing to Fuze V1 w/ Linux
Post by: froggyman on February 19, 2010, 04:16:02 PM
Why isnt the 64-Bit one marked to not be used then? That would solve confusion for a lot of people.

EDIT: I should have checked the wiki and how old bluebrothers post was before making a comment about this... my bad, since the 64-Bit Linux build is on the wiki