Rockbox Technical Forums

Support and General Use => Plugins/Viewers => Topic started by: fishlover900 on January 09, 2007, 09:24:19 AM

Title: why no audio?
Post by: fishlover900 on January 09, 2007, 09:24:19 AM
Ive been looking at all the posts and have downloaded nearly everything (i think) but the best ive got is a episode of futurama on my nano to play smoothly but with no audio. Ive also got the elephant video that plays jerky but has audio. Ive trued using VLC whihc gave me the smooth versino with no audio. What have is missed out as i dont really get what/ how to convert to the exact right settings?

Thank you
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: Llorean on January 09, 2007, 09:37:14 AM
Are you using an official build?
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: fishlover900 on January 09, 2007, 10:22:11 AM
what do you mean?
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: Llorean on January 09, 2007, 10:37:20 AM
Actually, more importantly, how did you convert your Futurama video. The problem is most likely that you converted it improperly.

What instructions are you using for conversion? The old .bat file won't work for audio.
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: fishlover900 on January 09, 2007, 10:46:43 AM
Ive been dragging mpg files onto the VLC-transcode batch file which makes a copy of the file in vlc file format, i then open it in vlc and save it to my ipod at the same time it converts it to mpg.
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: Llorean on January 09, 2007, 10:54:36 AM
"The old .bat file won't work for audio."

There is also no "vlc file format" so I have no idea what you mean by that.

You should be using the directions on the PluginMpegplayer page.
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: fishlover900 on January 09, 2007, 10:56:58 AM
they were converted then when i right clicked on then they had a .m2v extention
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: Febs on January 09, 2007, 10:58:14 AM
.m2v is a video stream with no audio.  As Llorean said, "the old .bat file won't work for audio."
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: Llorean on January 09, 2007, 10:58:54 AM
M2V files are video only. For the third time: The old .bat file will not work.

Edit: Fourth time, apparently.
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: fishlover900 on January 09, 2007, 11:24:40 AM
so which part is the new part, is it still with the porgram or with another one as ive looked at the page again and just got confused... :-\
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: Llorean on January 09, 2007, 11:39:34 AM
There are two sets of possibilities on the page. For VLC just use the command line they mention.
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: Febs on January 09, 2007, 11:43:25 AM
Try the attached batch file instead of the one that is on the wiki.  (Note:  you will need to change the filename from VLC-transcode.txt to VLC-transcode.bat)  Let me know what happens.

[attachment deleted by admin, too old]
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: fishlover900 on January 09, 2007, 01:53:56 PM
Sorry dont know what you want me to do, i need stop by step lol.

Llorean - For VLC just use the command line they mention.

which command line and how and where do i use it?

Febs - Try the attached batch file instead of the one that is on the wiki

wheres the one not on wiki?
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: lachlan on January 09, 2007, 04:25:00 PM
M2V files are video only.

I have a couple dozens videos on my harddrive that have the extension .m2v and perfect sound. I did not encode them myself, so I don't know why this is exactly, but how is it possible if m2v's are only raw video stream.
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: nls on January 09, 2007, 04:28:25 PM
The .m2v files that were being created with the old instructions for mpegplayer didn't contain audio (and .m2v files shouldn't, but you can of course change .mpg to .m2v and you have a ".m2v" file with audio...)
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: Febs on January 09, 2007, 04:39:17 PM
wheres the one not on wiki?

I can't make any sense out of this at all.
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: mipodr on January 09, 2007, 08:55:12 PM
I think fishlover means to say the "attached one." VLC-transcode.txt file that you asked him to change to .bat . Which is "the one" not on the wiki.

Although I might be totally wrong...
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: fishlover900 on January 10, 2007, 04:36:49 AM
ive changed the extention but when i drag a file on it a cmd open then closes straight after. Nothing happens to the video
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: gnu on January 10, 2007, 02:33:42 PM
The batch file doesn't work for me, I get this error:

access_output_file error: cannot open `' (No such file or directory)
stream_out_standard error: no suitable sout access module for `file/ps://(null)'
stream_out_transcode error: cannot create chain
main error: stream chain failed for `transcode{vcodec=mp2v,vb=600,width=176,height=128,acodec=mp3,ab=128,samplerate=44100}:std{access-video=file,mux=ps,c:\temp\1.mpg}'
main error: cannot start stream output instance, aborting

I've resetted my VLC settings, and I still get this error. If I do it manually, it works ???
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: fishlover900 on January 11, 2007, 04:24:34 AM
what do you mean manually, what you writing and where. I dont mind doing it manally if it just works! ;)
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: gnu on January 11, 2007, 09:48:45 AM
I mean when I don't use the batch file, but set all the streaming options myself!
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: gnu on January 11, 2007, 10:08:00 AM
OK I fixed it, you need this in your batch file:

"c:\programs\vlc.exe" %1  --sout=#transcode{vcodec=mp2v,vb=600,width=176,height=128,acodec=mp3,ab=128,samplerate=44100}:std{access-video=file,mux=ps,url=%1.mpg}

You'll need to adjust the path to your VLC, the height and the width!
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: fishlover900 on January 11, 2007, 10:10:16 AM
what options do you use, is there any chance of a step by step guide as when ive tried to do it manually the video comes out all jerky
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: AndrewTheArt on January 14, 2007, 03:57:30 PM
OK, as I understand it... The m2v format will NOT accept audio, therefore making the batch script on the mpgplayer useless for converting to a video+audio file. Therefore, a different container is necessary to house the audio+ vudeo

My NOT WORKING modded script contains...

Code: [Select]
@echo off

set WIDTH=320
set HEIGHT=240
 
"C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe" %1 --sout=#transcode{vcodec=mp2v,vb=600,width=%WIDTH%,height=%HEIGHT%,acodec=mp3,ab=128,samplerate=44100}:std{access-video=file,mux=ps,url=%1.mpg}

... as suggested by user "gnu" above.
However, this simply outputs an audio file, no video.  :(
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: AndrewTheArt on January 14, 2007, 04:41:38 PM
SUCCESS!!!! Using gnu's awesome program (http://forums.rockbox.org/index.php?topic=8150), I was able to find the correct settings to go from mp4 to vid+audio mpg.

Code: [Select]
@echo off

"C:\Progra~1\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe" %1 --sout=#transcode{vcodec=mp2v,vb=320,height=240,fps=25,acodec=mp3,ab=180,samplerate=44100}:std{access-video=file,mux=ps,url=%1.mpg}

Simply type that in a batch file to go from .mp4 to .mpg. This particular code is optimized for an iPod video.
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: gnu on January 15, 2007, 10:19:15 AM
How many fps do you get when you play the video on your ipod?
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: AndrewTheArt on January 15, 2007, 11:59:19 AM
Horrible amount. I selected "Show FPS" but the slow FPS were screwing up the display of the number. My GUESS though is like 10-15 or less, probably much much less.
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: gnu on January 16, 2007, 01:11:41 PM
Have you got a nano? I've one and I have ~9-10 fps...
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: AndrewTheArt on January 16, 2007, 08:51:46 PM
I'm using an iPod video (but as you very well know, in terms of video power, essentially it's like a Nano, because the ipods video coprocessor is not used by RockBox currently).

So I don't even know if there would be a different in FPS, unless the Video had some RAM advantage.
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: Llorean on January 16, 2007, 08:56:28 PM
FPS is actually mostly determined by video size. So clearly a fullscreen video for the 320x240 screen of the iPod Video is going to be a LOT slower than the 176x132 (really 176x128 is what the video will be) screen on the Nano.

Plus it depends on whether you're using the coprocessor patch or not.
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: soap on January 16, 2007, 09:24:25 PM
FPS is actually mostly determined by video size.
 AND bitrate.  So if you are getting a marginal FPS (22 when you want 24 or 25) lower the bitrate!
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: AndrewTheArt on January 16, 2007, 10:12:46 PM
That's useful to know. I still wish I could install that patch.  It would make me very happy indeed. Too hard ot recompile tho  :D
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: krx on January 18, 2007, 11:52:44 AM
OK I fixed it, you need this in your batch file:

"c:\programs\vlc.exe" %1  --sout=#transcode{vcodec=mp2v,vb=600,width=176,height=128,acodec=mp3,ab=128,samplerate=44100}:std{access-video=file,mux=ps,url=%1.mpg}

You'll need to adjust the path to your VLC, the height and the width!

i used it and here what i saw in the Messages window of VLC

access_output_file error:
stream_out_standard error:
stream_out_transcode error: cannot create chain
main error:
main error: cannot start stream output instance, aborting

what does it mean?? ..
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: Febs on January 18, 2007, 11:56:58 AM
Did you use that command line in a batch file or on its own?  It is meant to be used in a batch file.  If you're using it as a stand-alone command, you'll need to replace the "%1" with the name of your file.
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: krx on January 18, 2007, 12:56:51 PM
ok, its workin now

but another problem appeared - video in the result file is damaged. looks like it strained from one corner to another.
any ideas? ..
Title: Re: why no audio?
Post by: GodEater on January 23, 2007, 03:35:21 AM
ok, its workin now

but another problem appeared - video in the result file is damaged. looks like it strained from one corner to another.
any ideas? ..

Which target are you trying to play this back on?