Installation / Removal > Rockbox Utility

No partition found error - looking for some further troubleshooting suggestions

(1/1)

cleche14:
Hello guys,

I'm currently trying to get Rockbox installed on an unmodified iPod Classic 7th gen 160gb.

Currently when I go to install Rockbox (from a fresh restore / format in iTunes) by using the RockboxUtility application, I encounter an error where after the step of putting my iPod in DFU mode, my screen says "Can't load rockbox.ipod: file not found". To bypass this, I am simply able to run the installer again, which causes my iPod to load past the Rockbox splashscreen, but then says: "No partition found. Insert USB cable and fix it."

I have also tried doing a fresh format with iTunes, and then installing only the Rockbox firmware first, and then the bootloader, which results in the same partition error.

Now, to be honest, I have very little knowledge of how partitions work, especially in the context of installing new firmware. If I were to take a guess, I would think that Rockbox is trying to locate a partition to be able to have the firmware be loaded from. I am not sure if I should possibly have a separate partition created than the firmware that my Apple firmware is loaded onto, though it seems that by default the installation process does not require users to have to create a separate partition. If someone could perhaps explain to me how the partition structure of a successful configuration for Rockbox on an iPod 7th gen would be, then that would be appreciated. (e.g. another thing I wasn't exactly sure about is if the rockbox bootloader should exist on a separate, much smaller partition. Understanding the partitioning aspect of how Rockbox works would be helpful for my ability to troubleshoot it).

Anyhow, I will be spending time this week to troubleshoot this further. I have read the manual's installation instructions, and have decided that I will try to do a manual installation process with Linux.