Support and General Use > Hardware

Pictures of the Surfans F20 with a firmware version 2.7

(1/1)

Trzyzet:
Hello everyone,
My iPod video, rockboxed since 2013 died 3 weeks ago and as a replacement I bought a Surfans Player.
The version which arrived has a USB type C socket and is running 2.7 firmware. I'm a really bad coder but I'm much better with electronics so immediately when I received the device I opened it and made some pictures.

The DAC is a ES9018K2M, that's quite a good one.
https://www.esstech.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/04/ES9018K2M-Datasheet-v3.6.pdf

Amplifier IC is a HT97220. If the parameters from datasheet are real, the amp is pretty solid.
https://www.heroic.com.cn/public/uploads/file/20191114/1573714668189952.pdf

Stereo switch is the WSP6580Q.
http://www.wecorp.com.cn/UploadFile/201612120130099809.pdf

PMIC is an AXP192, just a most standard PMIC for all the chinesium out there.
https://m5stack.oss-cn-shenzhen.aliyuncs.com/resource/docs/datasheet/core/AXP192_datasheet_en.pdf

Encoder (the spinning wheel) is an ALPS SRGP400200
https://pdf1.alldatasheet.com/datasheet-pdf/view/329243/ALPS/SRGP400200.html

NAND used in this particular player is the Winbond 25N01GVZEIG.

Bluetooth assembly is based on the Qualcomm CSR8811, has a full linux support.
I have no idea what is 1421 next to the USB.
I also was able to completely unpack the 2.7 firmware with all the themes, fonts, configs etc.

dconrad:
Interesting! I had no idea they actually changed the DAC, Stereo switch, and it looks like found a compatible HP amp? And I didn't know they had put USB-C on this.

The fancy DAC and USB-C actually do sound pretty nice. Looks like they're trying to go "up-market" with it. Though the amazon listing I see does still show the original DAC. Did the listing you bought it from specify the changes?