Support and General Use > Audio Playback, Database and Playlists

play all songs randomly

(1/3) > >>

parafux:
Hi,

i am quite new in Rockbox and honestly dont know how to play more songs than only from one album or one artist.
I have an ipod with 512 GB and 6000 songs on it. I want to play them all randomly.
All files are located in a directory structure like
A
- Artist A
  - Album A
  - Album B
- Artist B
B
- Artist B
  - Album A
I dont know how to create this playlist, that i need, easily.
All intuitive things i tried did not work, and the docu does not help a lot for me.

hope anyone can help easily.

best regards
p.

bluebrother:
May I suggest checking the fine manual? https://download.rockbox.org/daily/manual/rockbox-ipod6g/rockbox-buildch4.html#x7-650004.4

parafux:
Hi and thanks for the advice, but that is exactly the problem, i dont know how to create a playlist, i dont see any menu item, the only to create one opens up a large keyboard, with no option to create the playlist finally.
And also i dont know to add all my files recursively through all subfolders to that playlist, randomly.

Hope there is a way simply to play all songs that are located in a directory recursivly with all subfolders randomly.

cela:
Not sure if its right for you, but in the past I've found this plugin useful.
https://www.rockbox.org/wiki/PluginRandomFolderAdvanceConfig

Serenity:
The conceit with Rockbox is that it always plays a playlist. Select a song to play, and Rockbox will create a playlist that contains everything in that subfolder and play it. Choose a song from a different album, Rockbox will toss out the current playlist and create a new one with the new album.