Rockbox Development > Feature Ideas

more advanced sleep timer

(1/5) > >>

tdb:
Hi

I have been using rockbox for many years almost daily and am very pleased with it. Use it mainly for listening to podcasts and audiobooks and appreciate the tons of features and settings (especially the bookmarking features).

I also use the sleeptimer function often as an aid to go to sleep with a podcast or audiobook. I usually need 15 minutes to go to sleep and that works fine most of the times, but it can happen that a podcast or audiobook wakes me up within that time frame due to some louder recorded sound/voice or sudden change of voice / speaker etc.
For that reason there are only a few podcasts I have chosen to 'talk me into sleep' and keep the sound level low but even then, it sometimes happens I wake up again before sleeptimer shuts down the device. 

A solution for this 'problem' might be to add a fade out feature for sleeptimer that takes a couple of minutes (preferably something that can be set by the user)
In practice that could mean I would change the length of the sleeptimer from 15 minutes to 20 or 25 minutes and starts very gradually to fade out after 10 minutes and it takes 10-15 minutes to reach volume 0 and shuts down.

That would make the sleeptimer an even more useful tool as a sleeping aid. I am pretty sure lots of folks are already using it as a sleeping aid, but a feature like this takes it to another level imo.
Maybe there is already something like this possible but I couldn't find it. The fade on stop option is too short and not specific for the sleep timer so that doesn't really help. 

Bilgus:
Here is a lua script that should do what you want, feel free to tweak it to your hearts desire

set your sleep timer and start your songs
copy into a file called Slow_fade.lua or something like that and run it from the file browser
choose a timeout and it will reduce the volume over the span you selected
when it hits the minimum volume playback will stop