Support and General Use > Theming and Appearance Customization

[320x240x24] Redux theme for the iPod Video

(1/4) > >>

jdotfite:
Hey guys, I recently stumbled upon the possible iPod video storage upgrades and then found rockbox.  I quickly picked up an iPod, upgraded the storage and installed rockbox  I am really enjoying rockbox and wanted to contribute something.  I studied everyone's great themes all last week and am now ready to present my own theme.  I am calling it "redux".  I hope you guys like it! http://themes.rockbox.org/index.php?themeid=2162&target=ipodvideo

jdotfite:
I would have really liked to use an anti-aliased Helvetica font for the time in the left hand corner, but for the life of me, I couldn't get figure out cygwin enough to use convttf.  I ended up using droidsans since SAINT released a pack of all the sizes.  Is there a compiled version of convttf for windows or would anyone be willing to do the helvetica fonts for the community?

cholero:
Hello jdotifite,
first of all, thanks for your great theme. It is one the themes that look A-Z stylish.
Maybe you've noticed that your theme is also listed for Cowon D2 Players. Maybe you could add touchscreen areas for the D2 owners, that would be great (or i could do it for you and send it to you, so you would release the update). And an FM screen would be cool too.

Maybe I will look at the convttf if i find the time, but i think it is difficult to get a good result  :(. Anyway, is it allowed, to use the converted Helvetica fonts?

Regards, cholero

cholero:
I've played around a little with covttf. It gives out easily a quite good result:

The main problem are the numbers. It is annoying if you use a font for time display where the numbers are not equally wide. It is not with your Droidsans and I couldn't make it the same width with Helvetica and convttf. I would stay with Droidsans or did you try ubuntu? Ubunt has a constant width.