Rockbox Development > New Ports

Sandisk Sansa Connect

(1/9) > >>

Lysander:
Hello. I'll be receiveing one of these units in a couple of days, and i would like to thinker with it a bit to see if Rockbox could be ported to this device, or atleast extend its functionality.

I've been reading the Connect wiki (http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/view/Main/SansaConnect), and what sparked my interest is the fact that the files are transfered to the device unencrypted, and that the only signed image is the platform, - or am i missing something here?

My idea was to find a way of encrypting/decrypting those .e files, and start thinkering with the vmlinux image, to see what could be done with it. Being a standard 2.6 kernel with some patches should give some room for experimenting. I haven't been able to find much info on the bootloader (rrload). I'm an electronic engenieering studient, and i have some experience with embedded developement though not with hardware hacking  :) Still, it seems like a fun proyect to work on.

So, my question is - has anyone got beyond what's explained in the wiki page (which is quite a bit)? Any pointers, particularly on dealing with the bootloader? Thanks

GodEater:
That wiki page is pretty much up to date - no-one's made any more significant progress than that to my knowledge.

Lysander:
Well, the Connect should arrive some day next week. I'll play with the Sansa loading utility to see if i can find a way to decrypt those image files in the meantime

Lysander:
Making some progress over a (messy) decompilation of zsi_fw.exe. So far i can tell that the encrypted/decrypted status is determined solely by the '.e' extension and is implemented by a cypher function which i'm still working on.