Rockbox Technical Forums

Support and General Use => Plugins/Viewers => Topic started by: zombieplasticclock on March 29, 2007, 10:18:42 AM

Title: A bit of curiosity about Rockdoom...
Post by: zombieplasticclock on March 29, 2007, 10:18:42 AM
I have no problems with rockdoom, but there's some questions I wanted to ask...
1) How come Rockdoom doesn't have music? Isn't it just like sound effects?
2) Are there any plans to add the patch that allows strafing (I suck at compiling, so I'm waiting for this to happen.
3) Are there any major plans to upgrade Rockdoom? it's already great, but I'd love to see upcoming improvements.

aight, those are my questions.
Title: Re: A bit of curiosity about Rockdoom...
Post by: ColdSphinx on March 29, 2007, 10:27:42 AM
what player do you have?
on the most players there are not enought keys to strafe and turn left/right, so if hou set right/left to strafe, then you can't look in an other direction and that is worse than don't have strafe.
Title: Re: A bit of curiosity about Rockdoom...
Post by: zombieplasticclock on March 29, 2007, 10:54:13 AM
Oh, I'm sorry, probably should've said that...
I have an ipodvideo 30g. For strafing, I ment the flyspray patch that lets me strafe with the scrollwheel. I don't know how to patch (nor do I intend to), so the question was asking if there were any plans to add the aforementioned patch
Title: Re: A bit of curiosity about Rockdoom...
Post by: ColdSphinx on March 29, 2007, 12:00:24 PM
If you like to use the patches on flyspray you have to compile the build yourself.

Informations and HOWTOS (http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/view/Main/DocsIndex#For_Developers) or look in the "Getting Started and Compiling"-Forum.
Title: Re: A bit of curiosity about Rockdoom...
Post by: zombieplasticclock on March 29, 2007, 12:48:43 PM
I printed out that page. I read that page, and didn't understand (however, since my ipod's needs to be reformatted IE returned to factory settings, I might try again tonight.)

ANYWAY, this is off topic of what my poll is. Thanks for the help anyway.
Title: Re: A bit of curiosity about Rockdoom...
Post by: nls on March 29, 2007, 02:50:49 PM
1) because the music is midi and it is not trivial to support (we don't have a stand alone midi player that works well on all players yet)

2) and 3) No one around here really make plans for this kind of stuff and most of the Doom plugin work has been done by kkurbjun, and he isn't around regularly.
Title: Re: A bit of curiosity about Rockdoom...
Post by: kkurbjun on March 29, 2007, 06:49:09 PM
Yep, have not had much time to work on doom and all lately now that I've graduated and am working full time.  I think music is possible on the gigabeat and maybe some of the dual core targets with the current state of rockdoom and the midiplayer, but the rest of the players just don't have the speed.  I wanted to commit the patch in flyspray, but the author never fixed the things I asked for, and I don't have an ipod to test against.
Title: Re: A bit of curiosity about Rockdoom...
Post by: zombieplasticclock on March 29, 2007, 08:07:00 PM
Huh, Didn't thing music affected speed. Well, If you are planning on making a change in Doom, kkurbjun, You can use my Ipod as a guina pig.
by the way, thanks very much for your work in rockdoom. It's the greatest time waster of all time.

And with my questions answered, I'm gonna request a BUMP,

Unless, of course, you peeps have more to say  ;D
Title: Re: A bit of curiosity about Rockdoom...
Post by: AlexP on March 30, 2007, 02:40:00 AM

Huh, Didn't thing music affected speed.


It takes CPU time to both play music and run doom, it doesn't happen by magic :)  If either the music bit or the doom bit take more than 'half' the CPU, you won't be able to run both together at full speed.


I'm gonna request a BUMP


Please don't, it is against forum rules.
Title: Re: A bit of curiosity about Rockdoom...
Post by: zombieplasticclock on March 30, 2007, 08:07:41 AM
Ahh, sorry. I used to use the Clock Crew forums, and you say the B word if you want the forum to end. It's an old habit. sorry

About the Midi, Have you tried compessing the midis or somthing? I have little understanding on how Midi's work, and even less on coding, But if you lower the filesize, it should work, yeah?
Well, again, If you need a guina pig to test new features in rockdoom, I'm willing to risk my ipod.
Title: Re: A bit of curiosity about Rockdoom...
Post by: bluebrother on March 30, 2007, 08:16:12 AM
Midi only stores information about the notes to play. You need a patchset to actually play the music itself, which means you need to "create" (from that patchset) every single tone. That can be more demanding than simply pushing some audio stream to the hardware ...
Title: Re: A bit of curiosity about Rockdoom...
Post by: AlexP on March 30, 2007, 09:11:02 AM

About the Midi, Have you tried compessing the midis or somthing? I have little understanding on how Midi's work, and even less on coding, But if you lower the filesize, it should work, yeah?
Well, again, If you need a guina pig to test new features in rockdoom, I'm willing to risk my ipod.


Even if that were possible with MIDI (bluebrother has explained how midi works), it would take more CPU time as before it could be played back, the CPU would have to decompress it in realtime.  That is (partly) why MP3 (for example) is 'harder' to play back than WAV, and why compressed video (e.g. DivX) is 'harder' to play back than uncompressed.  Smaller on disk does not equal easier to playback.