Rockbox Technical Forums

Support and General Use => User Interface and Voice => Topic started by: boxmonkey on March 13, 2007, 06:29:30 PM

Title: Settings | General Settings | Database MISSING
Post by: boxmonkey on March 13, 2007, 06:29:30 PM
Help!
I installed Rockbox 2.5 on my recently acquired Archos JBR, and I read the manual and the wiki. They both say I need to initialize the database. I have turned on the ID3 Database view, but there is no Database menu entry under General Settings. :(

Any ideas? I have tried turning the unit off and on several times to no avail...
Title: Re: Settings | General Settings | Database MISSING
Post by: RotAtoR on March 13, 2007, 06:47:52 PM
2.5 was released long before the current database ever existed. If you want to use the database you'll need to use a more recent build. You may want to look at the manual for version 2.4 which I believe is the closest for your version since I don't think a manual was released for 2.5. A lot has changed since 2.5 was released in September of 2005.

http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/pub/Main/RockboxManual/rockbox-manual-2.4.pdf
Title: Re: Settings | General Settings | Database MISSING
Post by: boxmonkey on March 14, 2007, 10:51:56 AM
I am extremely confused. 2.5 is the most recent version I could find under "releases" (http://www.rockbox.org/download/)
Where can I find a more recent version?
Title: Re: Settings | General Settings | Database MISSING
Post by: Febs on March 14, 2007, 10:53:39 AM
There is no more recent release version.  There are daily builds and current builds, but 2.5 was the last official release.
Title: Re: Settings | General Settings | Database MISSING
Post by: boxmonkey on March 14, 2007, 10:57:36 AM
So is it correct that 2.5 is too old to have the database functionality? ID3 database is an option under file view so I don't understand how it could not actually be there... I will look at the 2.4 manual.

If I need to use a current build, how do I decide which one to use? How stable are these?
Title: Re: Settings | General Settings | Database MISSING
Post by: Febs on March 14, 2007, 11:01:07 AM
On the Archos, they are quite stable.  As for which to use, I always use the most current, unless there is a specific, recently-introduced problem or bug with the current build--and I'm not aware of any of those right now.
Title: Re: Settings | General Settings | Database MISSING
Post by: TheOnlyRick on April 27, 2016, 06:35:06 PM
Hi - I've never understood the problem with posting a reply on an old thread, (as long as it's still relevant).  So with that in mind...

I have the same issue as the OP.  JB Recorder, 20GB - I don't have Database (or Themes) in my menu screen.

I'm running the most recent version, according to the installer, 3.13.

Were these menu items removed at some point?

Thanks,  Richard
Title: Re: Settings | General Settings | Database MISSING
Post by: TheOnlyRick on May 02, 2016, 02:43:48 PM
Anyone with any knowledge why I'm missing Database and Themes?

Thanks,  R.
Title: Re: Settings | General Settings | Database MISSING
Post by: saratoga on May 02, 2016, 03:07:29 PM
Are you sure you're running 3.13?  What version does rockbox itself report under the system menu?
Title: Re: Settings | General Settings | Database MISSING
Post by: TheOnlyRick on May 02, 2016, 06:58:57 PM
Oh.

There's an outside chance I'm being an idiot...

Many, many years ago I installed RockBox on my Archos (an early adopter from the Yahoo forums, I think?).  Recently I found it and thought I might bring it back to life, but it was full of old music.  So I went into Windows Explorer and deleted ALL the files in that drive.  I then re-filled it with music, switched it on, and got a message saying RockBox wasn't installed.  I then swore an *awful* lot, and got on this website to see how to re-install it.

I thought I could just downloaded the installer, run it, and I that it installed everything.  (Certainly it got some stuff working.)

But it seems it's not entirely updated cos when I switch on the Archos, I get a sort-of RockBox splash screen saying version 2.5.

So, I'm gonna stop wasting your time and I'll check the forums again and see what I need to do, if starting from scratch.

If you happen to know the upgrade from 2.5 to 3.13 is a particularly tricky/awkard/undocumented process, could you give me some pointers, please?  (If it's run-of-the-mill, I'll toughen up and sort it myself!)

Thanks, Richard

Title: Re: Settings | General Settings | Database MISSING
Post by: TheOnlyRick on May 10, 2016, 05:47:43 PM
Ahhhh.... Either I'm being thicker than whale omelette, or the manual is missing one very important step...

After updating, manually or with the installer, you have to navigate to the ajbrec.ajz and run it.  I did that, and then my player was on the latest version.

Cheers,  Richard
Title: Re: Settings | General Settings | Database MISSING
Post by: TheOnlyRick on May 10, 2016, 05:53:34 PM
Humph.

It doesn't keep the latest version (3.13?) in memory.  Each time after switching off it reverts to 2.5.

This isn't the end of the world, but if anyone can tell me what to do to permanently commit the latest version, then please share! (Given the manual didn't mention running the ajbrec file, I doubt it will mention what I need to know, but I will of course check.)

Thanks,  Richard
Title: Re: Settings | General Settings | Database MISSING
Post by: saratoga on May 10, 2016, 06:26:41 PM
I believe some of the very old Archos players had a way to load the rockbox version into ROM rather than from the hard disk:

http://www.rockbox.org/wiki/RomBox

Did you do that when you originally installed 2.5?

Title: Re: Settings | General Settings | Database MISSING
Post by: TheOnlyRick on May 11, 2016, 09:50:53 AM
Hmmmm... I don't think that was how I did it.

It does kinda gently ring a bell, but when I was browsing the file structure on my Archos and and I thought, "Ooooh!  I'll try clicking in on ajbrec.ajz."  that rang a much louder bell.

I'll see if going through the RomBox documentation makes more sense with the Archos in front of me.

Cheers,  R.
Title: Re: Settings | General Settings | Database MISSING
Post by: TAC109 on May 11, 2016, 04:27:13 PM
I believe the database facility was removed at some stage from the Archos build to stop the program exceeding its maximum allowable size. So updating to 3.13 is probably not going to help.

Anyway, I included a noddy's guide to flashing the Archos on the post about my old RockBox 2.5.1 build which you can find here:- http://forums.rockbox.org/index.php/topic,3075.0.html (http://forums.rockbox.org/index.php/topic,3075.0.html)
Title: Re: Settings | General Settings | Database MISSING
Post by: TheOnlyRick on May 12, 2016, 12:18:10 PM
Thanks TAC109.

When I run the 3.13 version of the ajbrec.ajz file, it does show the database.  So that's good.

Presumably I can go through the steps with the 3.13 files, and flash with those?

R.
Title: Re: Settings | General Settings | Database MISSING
Post by: saratoga on May 12, 2016, 01:13:17 PM
I don't think the database was removed, but flashing to rom is not possible on at least some archons players with modern rockbox versions.  I would just uninstall the rom version and reinstall to the hard disk.