Rockbox Technical Forums

Installation / Removal => Manual Installation => Toshiba - Installation/Removal => Topic started by: Ishkabob on January 13, 2007, 09:20:45 PM

Title: stuck in loading
Post by: Ishkabob on January 13, 2007, 09:20:45 PM
hello
I have just downloaded the new bootloader and firmware, and now rockbox is stuck in the loading screen with the options to restore original firmware, enable rescue mode, etc. It says rockbox is loaded, but then it just stays there. many thanks for help
Title: Re: stuck in loading
Post by: sloth on January 13, 2007, 09:52:13 PM
Hmm.  Please make absolutely certain that rockbox.gigabeat is current.  Any old one would behave exactly like this.

All, what are the FRAME and TTB values displayed by the bootloader?

Thanks!
Title: Re: stuck in loading
Post by: rosco_pc on January 14, 2007, 09:32:24 AM
Frame: 31FD6800
TTB: 31FFC000
Title: Re: stuck in loading
Post by: Ishkabob on January 14, 2007, 10:23:23 AM
weird it works now, but thanks
Title: Re: stuck in loading
Post by: sloth on January 14, 2007, 10:43:52 AM
Well, that's good!

Did you install a new build?
Title: Re: stuck in loading
Post by: Ishkabob on January 14, 2007, 06:54:18 PM
yup yup thanks
Title: Re: stuck in loading
Post by: dude_phoenix on January 15, 2007, 06:34:12 AM
HELP ME! (sorry for bad english)

1. i have old build of rockbox (2007 01 10)
2. i load new bootloader --- http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/viewfile/Main/GigabeatFXPort?rev=1;filename=FWIMG01.DAT
put it on gigabeat.
3. switch off\on battery
4. press POWER
5. rockbox don't load. nothing...only blue screen
6. i can't swithc off and my PC can't see gigabeat as harddrive now
7. then i switch off\on battery
8. and now when i press POWER gigabeat load on several seconds and shutdown.
9. but when it load, i can see only blue screen and my PC can't see gigabeat as harddrive and i can't fix all?

WHAT I MUST DO? HELP ME! PLZ!

/russia
Title: Re: stuck in loading
Post by: rosco_pc on January 15, 2007, 07:34:41 AM
Try holding the 'volume +' button while booting. This will restore original firmware (at least if you renamed it to FWIMG01.DAT.ORIG)
You should see a message on that the firmware is being restored and that you should power cycle (turn the battery switch off/on) to start with the original firmware. Sould you not see anything on screen you can hear the writing to the HDD and you just power cycling after some time after it stops.

(I've done this several times before the LCD settings got fixed it can confirm that it works)
Title: Re: stuck in loading
Post by: sloth on January 15, 2007, 08:00:39 AM
You can also drop into rescue mode by holding down the menu button while booting.
Title: Re: stuck in loading
Post by: dude_phoenix on January 16, 2007, 03:41:59 PM

Try holding the 'volume +' button while booting. This will restore original firmware (at least if you renamed it to FWIMG01.DAT.ORIG)
is it not work. but i found a way!

thx ricardo.kawano:

Quote

I don`t know more about the rockbox project, but I think that your
problem is with firmware and not hard disk.

But you can try it:
1- Open back side of gigabeat, disconnect the HD from the internal plug;

2- Plug usb cable on Gigabeat, turn it On pressing Power and Menu
buttons. The Windows can recognize the device (or not, depending of
your problem).

3- With the gigabeat powered-on and recognized by Windows, carefully
plug the HD on his connector, and now Windows can recognize the HD. If
success, you can format it and try install other firmware.

The HD really like`s a PCMCIA card, and Toshiba have released PCMCIA
cards very, very similar to Gigabeat HD`s, but with a think different
connector : \


now i put only new build and new bootloader. and all cool!