Rockbox Technical Forums

Support and General Use => User Interface and Voice => Topic started by: pmennen on May 13, 2012, 05:00:46 PM

Title: Why can't I get voice to work?
Post by: pmennen on May 13, 2012, 05:00:46 PM
I have the latest rockbox firmware installed in my Sansa Clip Zip.
I have checked dozens of times to make sure the 1059667 byte file "english.voice" is in my .rockbox/langs folder. I have verified that the voice menus are enabled from the settings menu. I've tried selecting "english" as well as "english-us" as my language, and fiddled around with all the settings many times, yet I have never heard a single word come thru the headphones. Is there something else I could be missing?

Thanks.
~Paul
Title: Re: Why can't I get voice to work?
Post by: jiriholz on May 21, 2012, 07:46:20 AM
Hello, I have the same problem. I s there a sollution? 
I have the latest rockbox firmware installed in my Sansa Clip Zip.
I have checked dozens of times to make sure the 1059667 byte file "english.voice" is in my .rockbox/langs folder. I have verified that the voice menus are enabled from the settings menu. I've tried selecting "english" as well as "english-us" as my language, and fiddled around with all the settings many times, yet I have never heard a single word come thru the headphones. Is there something else I could be missing?

Thanks.
~Paul

Title: Re: Why can't I get voice to work?
Post by: bluebrother on May 21, 2012, 03:02:30 PM
I have checked dozens of times to make sure the 1059667 byte file "english.voice" is in my .rockbox/langs folder.

How have you installed the voice? Are you sure you installed the correct voice file? Especially, are you sure if you installed the voice file for the correct player?

Hello, I have the same problem. I s there a sollution? 

Why on earth to you quote the complete previous post without adding anthing to it? Stop this, we don't need fullpost or top-posting.
Title: Re: Why can't I get voice to work?
Post by: jiriholz on May 21, 2012, 03:13:56 PM
I have downloaded English voice for sansaclipzip and the firmware for sansaclipzip. I copied it to /.rockbox/langs
Title: Re: Why can't I get voice to work?
Post by: pmennen on May 21, 2012, 07:39:19 PM
How have you installed the voice? Are you sure you installed the correct voice file? Especially, are you sure if you installed the voice file for the correct player?

Installed? Not sure what you mean. I simply copied the file to the lang folder. I haven't found any instructions that indicate that there is anything else to do! And I'm positive I downloaded the voice file for my player as I checked this many times.

Ok, reset ... I just notice a new version of the voice file was uploaded this morning. When I copied the new file to my player voice worked immediately. They must have had a bad copy up there before. All's well :)

... and BTW I think you were overly harsh to criticize top posting. Yes bottom posting is more popular, and I used it here, but only because the quote was very short. If I want to include a long quote, or more than one level I put the quote on the bottom. In that case it's much easier to find the newest stuff if you put it at the top IMO). You are right though in that too often people are lazy and quote the whole message, when quoting only on line or portion of the message would be better.

~Paul
Title: Re: Why can't I get voice to work?
Post by: jiriholz on May 22, 2012, 03:41:50 AM
I tested version 29cfd29 and downloaded todays  English voice.
English voice works with Sansaclipzip. I will test generated voice using rockbox utility

Post Merge: May 23, 2012, 02:46:40 AM
Hello, I tested generated voice with rockbox utility, but it does not speak. It is a Czech language for sansaclipzip. Rockbox works, but voice does not speak. Downloaded English voice from extra page works well.