Rockbox Technical Forums

Installation / Removal => Rockbox Utility => Topic started by: fatwarry on July 27, 2011, 01:43:33 PM

Title: Problems updating Fuze V1
Post by: fatwarry on July 27, 2011, 01:43:33 PM
I'm trying to update to v3.9 using the utility program.

I tried updating via "Install Rockbox" on the Installation tab. This downloads the files but the extract step fails after about 15% with the messages "creating output file failed" and "extraction failed!"

Then I tried to do a complete installation. This asks for the OF. I pointed it to the one I used when I last did an update about a year ago. It tells me the file isn't valid -
"[ERR]  Original firmware unknown, please try an other version. Tested Fuzev1 versions are : 1.01.11, 1.01.15, 1.01.22, 1.02.26, 1.02.28, 1.02.31" and "could not load pathname". So I downloaded the latest one. It objects to that one too with the same messages.

I've repeated the entire process using the latest version of the utility but get the same results

I've also noticed that once the update has failed Windows Explorer no longer "sees" my Fuze

Can anybody help?
Title: Re: Problems updating Fuze V1
Post by: saratoga on July 27, 2011, 01:50:34 PM
It sounds like your player isn't being recognized by Windows.  Can you actually add files to it manually?  Might also be a good idea to check the disk for errors.
Title: Re: Problems updating Fuze V1
Post by: fatwarry on July 27, 2011, 02:19:08 PM
Before I try to update Windows recognises the player and all its files are there in Explorer. It's only after a failed update the it's no longer recognised.

Funnily enough I noticed when I started up my Fuze that the flash screen says "V3.9" also my theme has changed. The files all appear to be there but the DB needs refreshing. Guess I'll give it a try and see what happens.

Does it make sense that the utility says it's failed but has actually worked? Could it have done some sort of partial update that's  going to leave me in a real mess? Time will tell I guess

Post Merge: July 28, 2011, 08:44:55 AM
More info on this.........

My Fuze is behaving normally and appears to be running 3.9. But out of curiosity I ran Windows' disk error checker. It found no problems. I can also write audio files to the Fuze. I successfully installed the latest Fonts package via the utility. I successfully installed a new theme via the utility.

As I mentioned the splash screen shows V3.9 when I start the Fuze. However, the "Info" tab on the utility says I'm running V3.6. So I again tried to install 3.9. This time I elected to backup first. The backup failed and again Windows stopped seeing the device. Disconnecting from USB and reconnecting enables Windows to see it again. Incidentally there's 1.6GB of space on the Fuze.
Title: Re: Problems updating Fuze V1
Post by: fatwarry on August 03, 2011, 07:51:41 AM
Nobody interested in this then?
Title: Re: Problems updating Fuze V1
Post by: bluebrother on August 03, 2011, 02:24:59 PM
I tried updating via "Install Rockbox" on the Installation tab. This downloads the files but the extract step fails after about 15% with the messages "creating output file failed" and "extraction failed!"

Can you reproduce this? If yes, please post the output of the Help / Troubleshooting / System Trace dialog.

Quote
"[ERR]  Original firmware unknown, please try an other version. Tested Fuzev1 versions are : 1.01.11, 1.01.15, 1.01.22, 1.02.26, 1.02.28, 1.02.31" and "could not load pathname". So I downloaded the latest one. It objects to that one too with the same messages.

Well, then you haven't provided one of the known firmware versions. Please recheck the version number. The System Trace also might be helpful in that case.
Title: Re: Problems updating Fuze V1
Post by: fatwarry on August 04, 2011, 05:31:41 AM
Yes, I can reproduce it. I don't know where to get the "Help / Troubleshooting / System Trace dialog" from; please advise how I do this. In the meantime here's the log file in case it helps

Post Merge: August 04, 2011, 05:35:15 AM
OK, I found the trace. It's attached
Title: Re: Problems updating Fuze V1
Post by: bluebrother on August 04, 2011, 03:25:45 PM
This is interesting: the trace shows enough disk space but after some file the free disk space is down to 0 bytes. Since the shown free space is more than enough to install Rockbox I assume you have problems with the filesystem. Please run chkdsk /f H: from a cmd window.
Title: Re: Problems updating Fuze V1
Post by: fatwarry on August 05, 2011, 12:38:45 PM
Well, chkdsk seemed to work OK though I'm not sure about the final line. Please see attached screenshot and let me know if it sheds any light on my problem.

Thanks
Title: Re: Problems updating Fuze V1
Post by: bluebrother on August 05, 2011, 12:49:05 PM
You have filesystem errors -- there are that are allocated (thus unusable) but not referenced anywhere (from the FAT). That means the free space according to calculationg the file differs from the free space that is actually available. You should let chkdsk fix those errors -- after converting the lost chains to files you can inspect them and delete them if you don't need them anymore, which basically frees up the space your player is currently missing.
Title: Re: Problems updating Fuze V1
Post by: fatwarry on August 05, 2011, 01:05:31 PM
OK, I ran chkdsk again and let it convert lost chains - see attached screenshot - but how do I know which files to delete? As far as I can see the only files that contain data are in my .backup and .rockbox folders and they come to less than 100MB between them. Does that mean chkdsk has done the job and I can try to install 3.9?

Thanks

Sorry, forgot the attachment initially

Post Merge: August 06, 2011, 10:48:12 AM
I've read up on Chkdsk and done some more digging.

If I run chkdsk with the /f parameter it finds no errors. However, the utility still fails at the extraction step just as before.

If I run chkdsk with the /r parameter it fails with the message "an unexpected error occurred". So, I assume I have some bad sectors on my Fuze that results in it not having enough useable space to do an update.

I have some more thoughts/questions...............
- Is it worth uninstalling Rockbox via the utility and trying a complete new install? I'm assuming that as there's enough useable space for the current install uninstalling might give me enough space for a clean install to work.

- Can I manually install 3.9 over the top of whatever is running at the moment (the splash screen on startup says 3.9; the utuility says 3.6)? If so can I use my PC's hard drive for the unpacking and simply drag the appropriate file to the .rockbox folder on the Fuze to effect an upgrade?

- Should I manually uninstall and reinstall?

- Should I uninstall Rockbox and revert to the OF?

- Should I do nothing? It seems to work at the moment and all my music is on a separate card that is working fine

Any thought or suggestions would be gratefully received
Title: Re: Problems updating Fuze V1
Post by: fatwarry on August 12, 2011, 01:53:34 PM
Can anybody help me with my last post?

Thanks
Title: Re: Problems updating Fuze V1
Post by: yapper on August 12, 2011, 04:49:47 PM
how do I know which files to delete?
According to http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc975099.aspx
Quote
FAT Chkdsk has found chains of clusters that do not belong to any file. These chains can be converted to files in which case they will appear as FILExxxx.CHK in FOUND.xxx, or they can be released to free space.
Title: Re: Problems updating Fuze V1
Post by: fatwarry on August 13, 2011, 04:32:54 AM
Thanks for the reply. I have no files that fit that description and I thought chkdsk had recovered the space. The problem I now have - as I stated in my last post - is that If I run chkdsk with the /f parameter it finds no errors. However, the Rockbox utility still fails at the extraction step just as before. I've pasted in the rest of the post below to save anybody having to try to find it.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I run chkdsk with the /r parameter it fails with the message "an unexpected error occurred". So, I assume I have some bad sectors on my Fuze that results in it not having enough useable space to do an update.

I have some more thoughts/questions...............
- Is it worth uninstalling Rockbox via the utility and trying a complete new install? I'm assuming that as there's enough useable space for the current install uninstalling might give me enough space for a clean install to work.

- Can I manually install 3.9 over the top of whatever is running at the moment (the splash screen on startup says 3.9; the utuility says 3.6)? If so can I use my PC's hard drive for the unpacking and simply drag the appropriate file to the .rockbox folder on the Fuze to effect an upgrade?

- Should I manually uninstall and reinstall?

- Should I uninstall Rockbox and revert to the OF?

- Should I do nothing? It seems to work at the moment and all my music is on a separate card that is working fine
Title: Re: Problems updating Fuze V1
Post by: yapper on August 13, 2011, 10:59:09 AM
Here is a suggested sequence (assuming you prefer to not leave it as it is):
Title: Re: Problems updating Fuze V1
Post by: fatwarry on August 14, 2011, 05:36:44 AM
Fell at the 1st hurdle I'm afraid. Windows can't copy the .rockbox folder to my PC as it can't find a file in the source folder (doomf). Presumably this is also indicative of a corrupt file system. Can you suggest an alternative method - maybe I can delete the Doom folder and try again as I don't use it?

Interestingly Windows Explorer says I've got 1.61GB of free space on the Fuze. I have successfully filled that space with music and the Sansa firmware has successfully updated it to its database. So presumably, the corruption is within the .rockbox folder rather than it simply being duff memory
Title: Re: Problems updating Fuze V1
Post by: yapper on August 14, 2011, 08:44:23 AM
Yes I suspect the corruption is in your .rockbox folder. Delete the Doom folder and try again.
Title: Re: Problems updating Fuze V1
Post by: fatwarry on August 14, 2011, 01:03:33 PM
Well, I got there in the end. Windows kept failing to copy the .rockbox folder as it couldn't find various files so in the end I deleted it - I was resigned to revert to the OF if necessary.

Having deleted it chkdsk found no errors with the /f parameter but continued to abort with an unexpected error if I used the /r param. Nevertheless I went ahead with the install and it worked fine. I'm now happily running 3.9.

Thanks for your help
Title: Re: Problems updating Fuze V1
Post by: coacharnold on October 08, 2011, 11:14:34 AM
Hey .... just ran into the EXACT SAME problem  ..... did fsch -y on linux .... seems to have fixed things .....

THank you

t