Rockbox Technical Forums

Support and General Use => Audio Playback, Database and Playlists => Topic started by: Nipsky on January 31, 2008, 05:54:17 PM

Title: Occasionally skip of track #3 in playlist
Post by: Nipsky on January 31, 2008, 05:54:17 PM
Hey guys,

I've got a strange problem with the recent(080131, but this seemed to apply to the builds of the days before, too) build of Rockbox on my Sansa e280.
If I chose an album to play, the player occasionally skips the third track in the list. If I take a look a the current playlist, everything is fine, but the player behaves, as it wouldn't be in there, even if jump manually via the next/previous song buttons in the current song view. The only way to make rockboy play this song is, eventually, to directly select it in the playlist view...
This happens with several albums, and like I said before, only affects track #3 of an album... the tags of the concerning albums/songs are ok, by the way...
Title: Skipping 3rd song of all albums
Post by: crescentfresh on February 01, 2008, 12:54:27 PM
This is a pretty strange problem that I noticed a few days ago.  No matter what album or playlist I pull up, it keeps skipping directly from track 2 to track 4 when shuffle is turned off.  I thought it was possibly part of the battery-saving test builds I've been running, but I just installed today's daily build (ipod photo r16195), and it's still happening.  It doesn't appear to be as consistent on this build, but on numerous different albums I've started up, it just skips over the 3rd song on the play list from where it's started.  Is anyone else experiencing this?
Title: Re: Skipping 3rd song of all albums
Post by: MarcGuay on February 01, 2008, 01:28:09 PM
Not I, but this guy:

http://forums.rockbox.org/index.php?topic=15248.0

It's mergalicious.
Title: Re: Occasionally skip of track #3 in playlist
Post by: Febs on February 01, 2008, 02:02:57 PM
Threads merged.
Title: Re: Occasionally skip of track #3 in playlist
Post by: crescentfresh on February 05, 2008, 02:49:15 PM

Threads merged.


So now we can be ignored in one place instead of two, is that it???  ;)

I'm still having the issue with today's daily build, but have discovered a bit more about it.  When I select the first song of an album, it pulls it up properly, but the track is being listed as track 2.  It then goes properly to the next track, but lists it as track 3.  After the second track, it seems to self-correct itself, skipping over the real track 3 completely, and going to track 4, as well as displaying that it is track 4.

If I pull track 1 up and it's displaying it as track 2, I can hit the back button to restart the track, and it starts displaying it as track 1 properly at this point, and the problem goes away.  It's a simple work-around, but kind of a nuisance at the same time.  Is there anymore information i could provide to help get to the bottom of this???
Title: Re: Occasionally skip of track #3 in playlist
Post by: Chronon on February 05, 2008, 03:13:28 PM
I can confirm that this is happening on my e280 as well using r16179M-080127 at the moment.  (It's one of the device-disable builds built by Soap.)
Title: Re: Occasionally skip of track #3 in playlist
Post by: MarcGuay on February 05, 2008, 03:20:59 PM
e280 w/ r16150 (also a device disable test build)

Problem not reproducible.

Flyspray anyone?
Title: Re: Occasionally skip of track #3 in playlist
Post by: Chronon on February 05, 2008, 03:47:03 PM
I can't personally compare with an SVN build until I get home later.  This behavior appears pretty robust with this particular build on my e280.  I will check this against SVN after I get home later.
Title: Re: Occasionally skip of track #3 in playlist
Post by: pixelma on February 05, 2008, 04:05:25 PM
Flyspray anyone?

There was already a bug report (for 5th generation Ipod though I think it at least affects all portalplayer targets). I added things I found happening for me there and maybe people here can comment on it too... ;)
 http://www.rockbox.org/tracker/task/8520
Title: Re: Occasionally skip of track #3 in playlist
Post by: Chronon on February 05, 2008, 04:17:12 PM
Thanks pixelma!  I think I'm seeing a correlation between the presence of album art and these glitches.  I added a post to the Flyspray task.

edit:
My early observation turned out to be wrong.  I do not know what determines whether or not a given directory will exhibit problems.
Title: Re: Occasionally skip of track #3 in playlist
Post by: Chronon on February 05, 2008, 07:23:07 PM
It's always worthwhile testing the current build to see if a change has fixed what you're seeing.  

Do you also see the other behaviors that crescentfresh described?  You might chime in on the Flyspray task since it's good to have a track record of which builds exhibit a given set of behaviors.

=====

This behavior is evident with current SVN (r16230).  Interestingly, I just tested the current Device-Disable build by Soap (SansaE200-v15975-DDv14-BBv1) and was not able to reproduce this behavior.  I'll add this to the Flyspray task also.
Title: Re: Occasionally skip of track #3 in playlist
Post by: deadkenny on February 08, 2008, 04:53:25 AM
Hi,

Just to say I tried a build from yesterday (r16239-080207) on my iRiver 6gb H10 and noticed what appears to be the same problem. I found tracks 3 and 10 got skipped, although the display was showing the correct count of tracks, just the wrong track names in places (e.g. it was saying track 9 was track 10, then played track 11 after the real track 9).

I don't know if it might have been affected by frequent pause/resuming, as I'm listening at work and often get interruptions.


I posted about it here: http://www.misticriver.net/forums/rockbox-h10-series/45096-h10-rockbox-progress-discussion-thread-52.html#post588046

Edit: Just to add, this isn't occasional for me. It's almost every album I play. And the same occurs whether I use the database or file system to play.

Plus I just played an album from the start without pausing/resuming and it still did it. Had an album of 4 tracks. It played track 1, then track 2 but called it track 3 and then plays track 4. i.e. skipping track 3.
Title: Re: Occasionally skip of track #3 in playlist
Post by: Chronon on February 19, 2008, 12:05:55 PM
I have had this problem persistently as well.  But I am not seeing any problems with r16299.  Track 1 is listed correctly and no skipping of the 3rd track on any of the directories that were formerly giving problems.  Will try with current SVN and report back.

*Oops, I don't have my cable for my e280 with me so I can't do this until the end of the day.

** scratch that.  I don't know what happened earlier -- still seeing this problem.
Title: Re: Occasionally skip of track #3 in playlist
Post by: Strife89 on February 20, 2008, 05:21:20 PM
The problem is also affecting Sansa c200 builds (currently I'm using revision 16314, February 15).
Title: Re: Occasionally skip of track #3 in playlist
Post by: crescentfresh on February 24, 2008, 11:13:31 AM
This problem appears to be resolved.  According to flyspry, the fix was implemented in build r16392.  Today's daily build is working great for me on my 60 gig ipod photo.  According to flyspray, it is no longer occurring on the Sansa e260 either.
Title: Re: Occasionally skip of track #3 in playlist
Post by: crescentfresh on March 02, 2008, 07:30:31 PM
Anyone experiencing a similar problem as this still???  Here's two different scenarios that I experienced today:

1. On a 20 track album, either after track 11 or 12 (sorry, can't remember which at the moment), it skips back to track 1 of the album.

2. On a 12 track album, after track 6 finished, it went directly to track 11.

Scenario 1 has happened two or three times to me during playback.  Scenario 2 happened during playback for the first time today.  I can't duplicate either scenario just by nexting through the tracks, but it's very consistent if I just let it play through, and it gets to the respective tracks I mention above.

I am currently using version r16452-080229 on an ipod photo 60 gig.
Title: Re: Occasionally skip of track #3 in playlist
Post by: pixelma on March 02, 2008, 07:43:56 PM
I did have the skips you describe before but *do not* experience them anymore after the fix in revision 16459... (which is why you should test with a current build before  - now as I type we are at revision 16493) ;)
Title: Re: Occasionally skip of track #3 in playlist
Post by: deadkenny on March 19, 2008, 04:59:13 AM
last build I installed was r16601 and that fixed it for me.
Title: Re: Occasionally skip of track #3 in playlist
Post by: zajacattack on March 22, 2008, 03:42:27 PM
I just had this happen yesterday. I was playing an album in the file browser (the files have the track in the beginning of their names). It completely skipped track 03. I was using r16735. I will see if I can re-create this with today's build.

EDIT: Weird, I haven't been able to re-create it with r16749.

EDIT 2: It appears to be on and off for me with r16749. So, something must've been introduced that made this bug re-appear.
Title: Re: Occasionally skip of track #3 in playlist
Post by: deadkenny on March 25, 2008, 01:27:37 PM
Hmm, I'm still on build r16601 and I've just had it repeat the same track. i.e. it went tracks 1 to 6, then did 6 again. I skipped to track 7 and it continued to the end of the album okay.

Maybe unrelated to this bug, I don't know. I'll try a later build if stable enough.
Title: Re: Occasionally skip of track #3 in playlist
Post by: MarcGuay on March 25, 2008, 02:14:59 PM
I finally had this happen to me last night.  Track 8 in an album playlist was played twice in a row, and then everything after that was fine.  r16784.  Is there an open flyspray task for this bug?  I found a few that seemed related but wasn't sure...

Edit: By "this" I mean what was described in the previous post, not what the title describes.  It seems like the second one playback bug is squashed another one pops up in it's place.
Title: Re: Occasionally skip of track #3 in playlist
Post by: danny_pav on March 26, 2008, 07:47:59 AM
i had this problem until i got a newer build
Title: Re: Occasionally skip of track #3 in playlist
Post by: NicolasP on April 03, 2008, 04:52:16 PM
This issue should be gone for good with r16955 :)