Rockbox Technical Forums

Installation / Removal => Manual Installation => Toshiba - Installation/Removal => Topic started by: shaqall on March 22, 2007, 01:21:35 PM

Title: no system on hdd
Post by: shaqall on March 22, 2007, 01:21:35 PM
hi and greetings from poland. I have formatted my F20 with windows tool not original provided by toshiba ( yeah i know im stupid ) since then it is not working when i swich on it shows screen "no system found on hdd 0000020"
But i heard great news that rockbox can help me. I followed this instruction TWiki  > Main  > GigabeatFXPort twice but i still have the same error on the screen. Any sugestions how to install rockbox? i heard that people with the same problem fixed it by installing rockbox but why not me help!
Title: Re: no system on hdd
Post by: Soader03 on March 22, 2007, 04:00:03 PM
They fixed that with rockbox AND the original system. You need the original system to see rockbox works.
Title: Re: no system on hdd
Post by: Llorean on March 22, 2007, 04:03:48 PM
Actually, if you extract the GBSYSTEM.zip on the GigabeatFXPort wiki page, you'll get a folder tree. Inside that may be a few levels of GBSYSTEM folders (2-3 depending on how you extract). Take the last GBSYSTEM folder and copy it to your Toshiba.

Then install Rockbox as per the instructions, pretending like that GBSYSTEM folder is the real one (there will be a FWIMG folder inside it, if you got the right GBSYSTEM level, though it'll possibly be hidden.)

Then your Gigabeat should work.
Title: Re: no system on hdd
Post by: Nate! on March 22, 2007, 05:59:20 PM
LLorean, I fixed that zip.

shaqall: you should be able to just extract the zip to the root of your formatted Gigabeat.  The zip can be found at the bottom of the  GigabeatPort (http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/view/Main/GigabeatFXPort) page.

Then explicitly follow the install instructions found here:  GigabeatPort Install Instr (http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/view/Main/GigabeatFXPort#Installation_Instructions) or here:  Online Manual (http://download.rockbox.org/manual/rockbox-gigabeatf/rockbox-build.html)
Title: Re: no system on hdd
Post by: shaqall on March 23, 2007, 02:51:33 AM
thank you for fast answers. I will try it when i come back from work and i will write here short report :)
Title: Re: no system on hdd
Post by: shaqall on March 23, 2007, 05:09:03 PM
hi i did everything as Llorean and nate said and nothing ;/ i running out of hope i tought that rockbox save my gigabeat but i still in the same point. please give any ideas how to fix it
Title: Re: no system on hdd
Post by: Nate! on March 23, 2007, 06:32:04 PM
You'll have to let us know what is exactly on your Gigabeat at the moment.  What files are in your GBSYSTEM directory?
Do you have a .rockbox folder?
Is there a .rockbox.gigabeat file inside the .rockbox folder?
What other files and folders do you see in the root of your GB?
What have you done explicitly.

If we know what you've done, we can tell you what step you may have missed.
Title: Re: no system on hdd
Post by: Phalangees on March 23, 2007, 10:06:18 PM
Hopefully it's not a hardware problem were something inside actually physically broke. If that's what it is, your gigabeat is toast.  >:(
Title: Re: no system on hdd
Post by: shaqall on March 24, 2007, 09:54:00 AM
my f20 is ok becouse it is working as na hard drive i can copy files and do everything but as i said in first post i formatted it with windows tool so it is clean at the moment. when i connect it to pc gigabeat watech show me that gigabeat is connected to the pc so everything witch gigabeat is ok. but i cant install there rockbox.

 I formatted it again so it was clean and i  did all things wrote in the instruction but gigabeat still booting firmware from thosiba and stops in 1/10 way and show error nr 0000020 " no system found on hdd" so how to put there rockbox?
Title: Re: no system on hdd
Post by: Nate! on March 24, 2007, 10:32:49 AM
It still sounds like you don't have the GBSYSTEM files necessary to boot, nor the bootloader that loads Rockbox.
If you downloaded the GBSYSTEM.zip file and extracted it to your clean formatted Gigabeat, you should have a directory structure like this:
Quote
K:\) being the root of your Gigabeat.  It may be a different letter on your PC.

K:\
 Â  * K:\readme.txt
 Â  * K:\GBSYSTEM\
 Â     * K:\GBSYSTEM\FONTS\
 Â        * K:\GBSYSTEM\FONTS\FNTJA.DAT -> This and the next 3 are files.
 Â        * K:\GBSYSTEM\FONTS\FNTZH.DAT
 Â        * K:\GBSYSTEM\FONTS\FNTZT24.DAT
 Â        * K:\GBSYSTEM\FONTS\FNTZT.DAT
 Â     * K:\GBSYSTEM\FWIMG\
 Â        * K:\GBSYSTEM\FWIMG\FWIMG00.DAT -> This and the next 2 are files.
 Â        * K:\GBSYSTEM\FWIMG\FWIMG01.DAT
 Â        * K:\GBSYSTEM\FWIMG\FWIMG02.DAT

If you don't have an FWIMG01.DAT then you need to download it from here: FWIMG01.DAT (http://download.rockbox.org/bootloader/gigabeat/FWIMG01.dat)

Place that file in the K:\GBSYSTEM\FWIMG\ folder.

You need to do this before installing Rockbox.

Once the above is completed, then follow the Rockbox install instructions found at the links posted previously.
Title: Re: no system on hdd
Post by: shaqall on March 26, 2007, 08:32:41 AM
i did as you said and nothing or mayby something becouse now when i switch on my F20 i see new error messege "system error"only and number 00000020.

ps. my dictionary structure is the same as you presented
Title: Re: no system on hdd
Post by: Nate! on March 26, 2007, 12:03:02 PM
Did you put the FWIMG01.DAT file into the K:\GBSYSTEM\FWIMG directory?  Have you extracted a daily build to the root of your Gigabeat?  Rockbox will not load with just the GBSYSTEM directory and the FWIMG01.DAT file.

So you should see:

K:\GBSYSTEM
K:\.rockbox
K:\bootsplash.raw
K:\gigabeat.conf
Title: Re: no system on hdd
Post by: shaqall on March 26, 2007, 03:43:47 PM

Did you put the FWIMG01.DAT file into the K:\GBSYSTEM\FWIMG directory?  Have you extracted a daily build to the root of your Gigabeat?  Rockbox will not load with just the GBSYSTEM directory and the FWIMG01.DAT file.

So you should see:

K:\GBSYSTEM
K:\.rockbox
K:\bootsplash.raw
K:\gigabeat.conf


yes i see that i dont have gigabeat.conf ? where i can find that file?
i search on this page and i didnit find it. could you send me this on email wbielinski@gmail.com many thanks
Title: Re: no system on hdd
Post by: Phalangees on March 26, 2007, 05:46:04 PM
... I don't have a gigabeat.conf either so I don't think that is the problem. maybe that's one of the original firmware files.
Title: Re: no system on hdd
Post by: Llorean on March 26, 2007, 05:57:32 PM
The only files absolutely necessary, on a cleanly formatted drive, are the contents of the GBSYSTEM.ZIP on the GigabeatFXPort page, and the FWIMG01.DAT that is the Rockbox bootloader, at least in all other peoples' cases.

If it's not working, that means your player either requires something that other players have not, or those files are not in the right places.
Title: Re: no system on hdd
Post by: Phalangees on March 27, 2007, 07:58:08 AM
He said that he had formatted his hard drive. I wonder if he accidently changed from FAT?

Llorean is right though if you have those files in the correct spot there should be no problem.
Title: Re: no system on hdd
Post by: shaqall on March 27, 2007, 08:34:12 AM
no there is FAT32
Title: Re: no system on hdd
Post by: Phalangees on March 27, 2007, 05:49:39 PM
close enough.  ;)   I think i'm just gonna stop talking on these forums.
Title: Re: no system on hdd
Post by: shaqall on March 29, 2007, 03:38:28 AM
http://chomikuj.pl/Chomik.aspx?id=shaqall here is my dictionary structure on gigabeat.
Title: Re: no system on hdd
Post by: toffe on March 29, 2007, 12:02:17 PM
If you format with windows, there is something missing on the hard drive so it can boot

I had this problem before and the only way was to reload an image from a working gigabeat.

You can try to reformat with the gigabeat format utility or perhaps make an update but I think it will still don't work

I can send you an image of a working gigabeat that you can load on it if you want
Title: Re: no system on hdd
Post by: shaqall on March 30, 2007, 03:32:28 AM
I've  tried to format with gigabeat tool but it is'n working as you said. Please be so kind and save my gigabeat :) my email is wbielinski@gmail.com i am able try everything  
Title: Re: no system on hdd
Post by: shaqall on April 03, 2007, 03:36:56 PM
thx to toffe i repair my gigabeat but i have still one froblem when i'm trying to switch off my F20 i recived an error number C00F74E4 anyone know how to figure it out?
Title: Re: no system on hdd
Post by: toffe on April 03, 2007, 08:03:19 PM
I think that the error is because the image I send you doens't correspond to the firmware in memory.
I think you should update your gigabeat with the original update from toshiba and after reinstall roockbox or perhaps replace the files in the gbsystem with the ones you have on you computer.
Title: Re: no system on hdd
Post by: hsyed26 on April 19, 2007, 04:30:47 PM
dear toffe,

could you please send me a copy of the original firmware files? i require the original gbsystem files since i accidentally formatted my toshiba's original firmware and i don't have copy of the files that would let me boot either rockbox or the original firmware.

my email address is : hsyed26@gmail.com

thanks,

hsyed26
Title: Re: no system on hdd
Post by: ewigkase on January 13, 2009, 02:13:56 AM
im having the same problem anyone out there that can help me?
thanks
Title: Re: no system on hdd
Post by: Chronon on January 13, 2009, 05:58:17 AM
Did you try the recovery method in the wiki?
Title: Re: no system on hdd
Post by: toffe on January 13, 2009, 08:58:45 PM
You can download the firmware version 3 from toshiba :
http://www.tacp.toshiba.com/tacpassets-images/firmware/GBFVER03.zip
You should be able to extract the firmware from the files with 7zip, or just try to install it
Title: Re: no system on hdd
Post by: ewigkase on January 14, 2009, 01:37:47 PM
already tried using firmware 3 update does not seem to work.  but the problem is i need to be able to load the gigabeat to get the update. maybe if I got a copy of a already updated gbsystem folder and replace the current one it might work?
Title: Re: no system on hdd
Post by: Metal-Ridley on January 19, 2009, 01:01:15 AM
Hello everyone.

I happen to have a Gigabeat F20 which had the same No System Found In HDD problem. It happened after I installed RockBox on my Gigabeat. Apparently, while I was trying to delete some stuff on my MP3, RockBox deleted more than just some audio files. So I pretty much followed what people have been saying here:

-I went on the wiki and downloaded the GBSYSTEM.zip and copied it on my Gigabeat;
-I downloaded the FWIMG01.DAT file and pasted it in the FWIM folder;
-I downloaded the latest update for F20's on Toshiba's support website

It almost fully worked, except that now I get the C00F74E4 SYSTEM ERROR message. The biggest problem isn't only the error code, but the fact that whenever I try to plug my F20 in on my computer, it doesn't do anything; it's like if it didn't realized it was hooked up to the computer. What should I do about this? Is there anything to do?

I read on another topic that someone got the same C00F74E4 problem; he/she dismantled the F40(in that person's case), unplugged the hard-drive and apparently it worked. I think I might try this out, but being a rookie at all of this, I'm kinda scared I might ef' things up even more.

Any help?
Title: Re: no system on hdd
Post by: Chronon on January 19, 2009, 01:18:26 AM
Rockbox doesn't delete anything without being told to. 

Disassembling the case is not difficult.  There's a guide that you can find from the wiki that does a good job of showing and describing the required steps.
Title: Re: no system on hdd
Post by: Metal-Ridley on January 19, 2009, 10:34:07 PM
I found the how-to in GigabeatFXPort, on the wiki, and I could save my Gigabeat with RockBox, now it's booting. Thanks for the info, Chronon!