Rockbox Technical Forums

Support and General Use => User Interface and Voice => Topic started by: Atheistic Freedom on March 01, 2007, 11:20:36 PM

Title: Why take up space if all you have to do is press the "Play" button?
Post by: Atheistic Freedom on March 01, 2007, 11:20:36 PM
In the new Rockbox menu, about third down is an option to "Resume Playback/Now Playing."

Why would that be there, if all that is needed is to press the Play/Pause (iPod) button to go right to the WPS that is playing the song atm?
Title: Re: Why take up space if all you have to do is press the "Play" button?
Post by: Llorean on March 01, 2007, 11:42:33 PM
Why did people want Left-to-WPS ever?

Showing it there can also make it easier for a new blind user to navigate, as well many people don't realize that Play will resume playback after it's stopped.
Title: Re: Why take up space if all you have to do is press the "Play" button?
Post by: Nate! on March 01, 2007, 11:46:13 PM
That's funny.  :-[  I've been using Rockbox since Dec '06 and still thought you had to press left out of the menu structure to get back to the WPS.  Then pressing play would resume playback.  I love this software, you find new things about it every single day!

Sometimes you just have to sit back and laugh at yourself. ;D
Title: Re: Why take up space if all you have to do is press the "Play" button?
Post by: Atheistic Freedom on March 01, 2007, 11:52:36 PM

Why did people want Left-to-WPS ever?

Showing it there can also make it easier for a new blind user to navigate, as well many people don't realize that Play will resume playback after it's stopped.


I do agree that one is really messed up, but perhaps on this topic it would be a thing you can take out, and instead write on it in the manual?
Title: Re: Why take up space if all you have to do is press the "Play" button?
Post by: Llorean on March 01, 2007, 11:54:57 PM
I think having it there is beneficial. There is a menu entry for each of the possible startup screens.

What actual harm does it do?

I think part of the idea is that every possible screen is accessible by starting from the Root menu, without needing specific key shortcuts. This will also prove more beneficial if we encounter targets with even less buttons.
Title: Re: Why take up space if all you have to do is press the "Play" button?
Post by: Atheistic Freedom on March 02, 2007, 12:31:53 AM
Understandable; I figured your last point would be mentioned as well.
Title: Re: Why take up space if all you have to do is press the "Play" button?
Post by: Mad Cow on March 02, 2007, 03:06:39 PM
Also remember that some players don't have a dedicated play button (Gigabeat)
Title: Re: Why take up space if all you have to do is press the "Play" button?
Post by: Llorean on March 02, 2007, 03:13:30 PM
They have a button that serves the "Resume" function that the play button does on other targets though, which is what he means by a 'Play' button anyway: The button that does the same thing as that menu entry.
Title: Re: Why take up space if all you have to do is press the "Play" button?
Post by: Mad Cow on March 02, 2007, 03:32:01 PM
That's true. but I guess that extra menu entry is good for new users that don't know the keymaps very well.