Rockbox Technical Forums

Installation / Removal => Manual Installation => Cowon - Installation/Removal => Topic started by: aaronk121 on February 11, 2007, 04:44:25 AM

Title: problem
Post by: aaronk121 on February 11, 2007, 04:44:25 AM
I'll tell you what i did.

I installed the firmware. this worked fine. Then i downloaded the Iaudio.zip from the webpage and unzipped it into my root folder. I'm sure it was the root folder, by the way. However, the only thing that comes out is a folder that says 'rockbox' with a file inside that is called "rockbox.iaudio." Leaving the file in the folder just leads to "-1" errors so i took the file out and stuck it in the root. Now it boots fine, but apparently the installation is incomplete because there is no .rockbox directory. But there was absolutely no .rockbox directory when i unzipped into the root. can someone help me? yes, i read both the rockbox manual and the iaudio manual...
Title: Re: problem
Post by: Febs on February 11, 2007, 10:38:04 AM
1.  Please follow our posting guidelines.  In particular, we require the use of descriptive thread titles, and our posting guidelines specifically prohibit the thread title "problem."

2.  You extracted incorrectly.  Try again.  There is no "rockbox" folder in the build file.  There is a ".rockbox" folder and a file called "rockbox.iaudio" and both of these should end up getting extracted to the proper place if you just extract the entire contents of the .zip file to the root of your player.  So, for example, if your player is drive F:, then extract the entire contents of the .zip file to F:\ and everything will end up where it needs to be.
Title: Re: problem
Post by: LinusN on February 11, 2007, 01:50:15 PM

I installed the firmware. this worked fine. Then i downloaded the Iaudio.zip from the webpage and unzipped it into my root folder. I'm sure it was the root folder, by the way. However, the only thing that comes out is a folder that says 'rockbox' with a file inside that is called "rockbox.iaudio."

Sounds like you are using a Macintosh. Make sure that you unzip it correctly, including the .rockbox folder. The .rockbox folder is hidden by OS X, and the silly unzip tool doesn't allow you to unzip without creating an extra folder.
Title: Re: problem
Post by: aaronk121 on February 13, 2007, 03:02:00 AM
ah, in understand. but how do i unzip properly? the default program doesn't even seem to let you choose your destination folder, and i've been experimenting with macOS unzipping freeware with no luck
Title: Re: problem
Post by: aaronk121 on February 13, 2007, 03:13:07 AM
i just used expander, and it also creates a seperate folder called "rockbox folder" automatically.
Title: Re: problem
Post by: LinusN on February 13, 2007, 06:17:37 AM
I used to have a Mac, and this particular "feature" annoyed the hell out of me.

Have a look here:

http://forums.rockbox.org/index.php?topic=143.0

Or here:

http://forums.rockbox.org/index.php?topic=2342.0