Rockbox Technical Forums

Rockbox General => Rockbox General Discussion => Topic started by: roelieboelie on January 30, 2007, 09:29:35 AM

Title: Rockbox won't boot: result-5 in bootloader
Post by: roelieboelie on January 30, 2007, 09:29:35 AM
hey all,

Alright, I really have a BIG problem...I can't start Rockbox anymore.

Ok, what's going on...Just see this screen below:

(http://www.linkkabel.nl/result-5.jpg)

That's all what I can say...Also the orginial Iriver firmware isn't starting anymore if i push the REC button + PLAY button.

It just happens last evening, i was listening music and suddenly the music stops and the player froze. I push the reset button and got that screen (see picture). I can only push the again reset button to disappear that screen. The stop button or an other button doesn't work in this screen.

The only positive thing about it is that i still can connect my player to the PC with the bootloader usb function. So I thought, put the newest daily build on my player, but no results....

What means result:-5?

I think that my harddisk isn't broken because i did CHKDSK /F in Windows and windows didn't found any faults...

Please, could somebody help me? I'm using Rockbox now for more then a year and it's the best firmware ever!! Oh my god, i don't hope that my player died.
Title: Re: Rockbox won't boot: result-5 in bootloader
Post by: Llorean on January 30, 2007, 09:32:19 AM
Try copying over a different copy of Rockbox. This error usually means that rockbox.iriver got corrupted while copying.
Title: Re: Rockbox won't boot: result-5 in bootloader
Post by: roelieboelie on January 30, 2007, 09:47:19 AM
Thnx for your fast answer!

But it doesn't work  :'(

I also format the drive (fat32 ofcourse) but i still get the result: -5....

Are there other options to fix this?  :-\
Title: Re: Rockbox won't boot: result-5 in bootloader
Post by: Llorean on January 30, 2007, 09:49:54 AM
Did you re-download Rockbox, and re-extract the .zip?

Also, which player, exactly, do you have?
Title: Re: Rockbox won't boot: result-5 in bootloader
Post by: roelieboelie on January 30, 2007, 09:56:00 AM

Did you re-download Rockbox, and re-extract the .zip?

Also, which player, exactly, do you have?


Yes I re-download the daily build and re-extracted, I also tried some older builds (2007-01-02 and some other).  

But no result.

My player is a Iriver H140.
Title: Re: Rockbox won't boot: result-5 in bootloader
Post by: Llorean on January 30, 2007, 10:01:10 AM
Are you sure that there's not an extra rockbox.iriver file on your player? Make sure that you don't have one in the /.rockbox/ folder. If you have a corrupt one there, but a good one in the root, it still won't work.
Title: Re: Rockbox won't boot: result-5 in bootloader
Post by: Slasher on January 30, 2007, 10:13:32 AM
That error code -5 means that firmware checksum does not match and bootloader refuses to start it. It sounds like the internal connection between the usb bridge and player has broken and data corrupts while reading from hdd while still being ok when read from a pc. You could try to open up the player and re-seat the hdd, or trying to figure out a loosened connection between the usb bridge and the motherboard.
Title: Re: Rockbox won't boot: result-5 in bootloader
Post by: roelieboelie on January 30, 2007, 10:52:21 AM
@Llorean:
Yes 100% Sure.

@Slasher:
I opened the player, could you post a picture or say where i have to look exactly? Where is the usb bridge? (is it the connection by the usb connector?).

Title: Re: Rockbox won't boot: result-5 in bootloader
Post by: scorche on January 31, 2007, 07:48:57 AM
Are you sure you are copying over the build made for your device?
Title: Re: Rockbox won't boot: result-5 in bootloader
Post by: Llorean on January 31, 2007, 07:58:29 AM
If my memory is correct, where it says "Model Name:" in that screenshot, it's actually taken from the .iriver file, so h120 is appropriate for the h140.

I thought of that, I just asked it in a different way. :)
Title: Re: Rockbox won't boot: result-5 in bootloader
Post by: scorche on January 31, 2007, 08:04:00 AM
That is what I get for skimming the thread ;)
Title: Re: Rockbox won't boot: result-5 in bootloader
Post by: Llorean on January 31, 2007, 08:07:32 AM
Well, I could be wrong.
Title: Re: Rockbox won't boot: result-5 in bootloader
Post by: delorean90 on February 01, 2007, 04:55:41 PM
i have had a siilar problem before, you could try reinstalling the bootloader, that fixed my problem, sorry if i am mistaken
Title: Re: Rockbox won't boot: result-5 in bootloader
Post by: roelieboelie on February 07, 2007, 04:17:19 PM

i have had a siilar problem before, you could try reinstalling the bootloader, that fixed my problem, sorry if i am mistaken


Yes, I think that's the solution...Only one problem...I can't start the orginial firmware so I can't flash the modified firmware. I think that's the only way to flash the bootloader, or is there an other trick?
Title: Re: Rockbox won't boot: result-5 in bootloader
Post by: Mr Adam on November 10, 2009, 04:20:55 AM
Hi there,
I've got the exact same problem as this(result: -5), except, now after re-formatting and running check disc(no errors found) the result is now -1.

Just wondering if you managed to fix yours and if so how you did it.

Thanks
Title: Re: Rockbox won't boot: result-5 in bootloader
Post by: Multiplex on November 10, 2009, 05:18:19 AM
If you are lucky all you need to do is download a recent build and unzip it to the now clean drive using the bootloader USB mode.

If you have an old boot loader you may have to copy the rockbox.iriver file from the .rockbox directory(folder) to the root of the drive.
Title: Re: Rockbox won't boot: result-5 in bootloader
Post by: Mr Adam on January 11, 2010, 04:43:31 AM
Thanks for the suggestion multiplex. I tried what you mentioned and still the same result -5 problem.

Anything else you can recommend to try?


Title: Re: Rockbox won't boot: result-5 in bootloader
Post by: Multiplex on January 11, 2010, 09:26:23 AM
I'm confused.
Back in November you said that it was now error -1 after a reformat, now you are saying "same result -5"

Did it work for a while then go wrong again - or have yo only just tried it.

Just to be sure what is your player and what version bootloader do you have?
Title: Re: Rockbox won't boot: result-5 in bootloader
Post by: Mr Adam on January 11, 2010, 09:19:05 PM
Sorry for the confusion.
Yes, you're right, after a reformat it did say result-1, however the problem was still the same, it still froze while trying to boot up.
I found something in the rockbox manual about result-1 with steps on how to repair this. I followed this and it returned to result-5.

The player is a iHP-120 and the bootloader is version 6, unless there's another way of identifying it(?).

Thanks for your response and any help would be appreciated.
Title: Re: Rockbox won't boot: result-5 in bootloader
Post by: Multiplex on January 12, 2010, 08:58:26 AM
That's odd.

You have the latest bootloader so you can ignore my comment about having to move the rockbox.iriver file.

While this Wiki page says iPod bootloder error codes http://www.rockbox.org/wiki/IpodBootloaderErrorCodes I'm pretty sure they're all the same (don't have time to check the source right now but I looked back in November).

Getting -1 after a reformat makes sense as -1 means the rockbox.iriver file was not found .

Getting -5 is very bad - it basically means that the rockbox.iriver file has become corrupted somewhere between the download server and the iRiver HDD. I can only suggest you download rockbox again, make sure that whatever you are using to unpack the ZIP file is checking the CRC in the ZIP file, then once you've copied the build to the iRiver do a file compare with the file on your PC.

If that is all OK and you still get the error then I'm stumped - sorry.
Title: Re: Rockbox won't boot: result-5 in bootloader
Post by: AlexP on January 12, 2010, 04:37:49 PM
You are sure that you are using a H120 build and not a H100 one?
Title: Re: Rockbox won't boot: result-5 in bootloader
Post by: Mr Adam on January 13, 2010, 05:49:38 AM
Hi Alex P, thanks for the reply.
Excuse my lack of knowledge with this but how do I identify which build I'm using?
Everything was working fine for 18 months prior to this going wrong so is it possible this could have something to do with it even after it working ok for that long?
Thanks for your help.
Title: Re: Rockbox won't boot: result-5 in bootloader
Post by: AlexP on January 13, 2010, 05:53:21 AM
There are two builds available, one for the H100/H110 and the other for the H120/H140 - if you have a H120 you need to make sure you are using this build:

http://build.rockbox.org/data/rockbox-iriverh120.zip

You probably are, but it is best just to check - download the above link, unzip it to the player and see :)
Title: Re: Rockbox won't boot: result-5 in bootloader
Post by: Multiplex on January 13, 2010, 07:43:10 AM
You are sure that you are using a H120 build and not a H100 one?
It's worth checking - I'd assumed that the bootloader check for the right target in the file header would have dealt with that one (error -3) - there are different bootloaders for the H10/115 and the 120/140.
Title: Re: Rockbox won't boot: result-5 in bootloader
Post by: AlexP on January 13, 2010, 08:04:45 AM
Yeah, it probably isn't this, but you never know.
Title: Re: Rockbox won't boot: result-5 in bootloader
Post by: Mr Adam on January 14, 2010, 07:16:35 AM
Hi guys,
I've tried everything you both suggested without success  :(
Thanks for your help though.
The only other thing I thought of trying is replacing the hard drive. Would this allow me to start again?

Title: Re: Rockbox won't boot: result-5 in bootloader
Post by: Multiplex on January 14, 2010, 07:26:31 AM
Not exactly start again - the bootloader is in Flash so if you try another HDD you just have to make sure it is properly formatted then unpack Rockbox to it. Take care as many of the drives that will fit the iRiver are iPod formatted (strange partitions, etc)

Have you tried checking the disk for errors?

Does the original firmware work OK?
Title: Re: Rockbox won't boot: result-5 in bootloader
Post by: Mr Adam on January 14, 2010, 07:36:36 AM
Yeh, I've ran a disk check a couple of times now, and nothing has come up.
The original firmware doesn't work either. It freezes whilst trying to boot with the display reading :Starting original firmware".

Any other suggestions? I love to get this working again but it's not looking good.
Title: Re: Rockbox won't boot: result-5 in bootloader
Post by: Multiplex on January 14, 2010, 05:37:27 PM
This is very odd!

The original firmware comes from (or runs in - I'm not sure) Flash - it doesn't need loading from the HDD. My thought process was to ask you to try playing some files with the OF to see if the there was an issue with the CPU talking to the HDD. I think that the OF can start up to some recognisable display without any HDD connected so it not running at all is odd.

Not being able to run the OF means you have exactly the same issue as the original poster - not just the -1/-5 errors.

The good news is that the original poster posted about fitting a higher capacity battery to an iRiver after this posting - let's hope it was the same player. The bad news is that I don't see any comment explaining how the player was fixed.
Title: Re: Rockbox won't boot: result-5 in bootloader
Post by: crisiscentre on February 20, 2011, 11:53:50 AM
I ran into the very same error code a week ago and managed to solve the problem. I am posting the steps I took to deal with it in case somebody else encounters the same thing.

What happened :
Rockbox was running fine on my iRiver H120 for months since I upgraded to 3.3. It suddenly locked up midway within a song (which only a reset with a pin would fix). This happened  a couple of times in a row. Finally, after one such reset, it totally refused to start, giving the dreaded "result: -5" error message despite repeated reset/restart attempts. The original firmware would not boot either.

Steps I took :

Just to make things clear : I originally had the problem using the correct H120 firmware (v3.3) which had been running properly for months. While trying to fix that, I upgraded to the wrong firmware (v.3.7 for H100) which compounded the problem. After changing back to the right firmware (v.3.7) my H120 worked again. So one of the steps I performed must have fixed the original firmware.

The only reasons I can think of for why my H120 went bonkers in the first place is that something must have gotten corrupted with the data in the HDD, which impacted the rockbox.iriver file or my hard drive is going (it is 6-7 years old after all). However, chkdsk /f came back clean so there was no file system corruption. The hard drive diagnostics with HD tune came back clean too. So I don't fully understand what went wrong. Still, one of those steps must have done the trick...+