Rockbox Technical Forums

Rockbox General => Rockbox General Discussion => Topic started by: Soader03 on September 18, 2006, 08:31:22 PM

Title: Rockbox in the gigabeat
Post by: Soader03 on September 18, 2006, 08:31:22 PM
Hello everyone, I'm new here but markun know I am (the mygigabeat.com forum). I don't want to post in the previous forum because it's really bad...

I would know some things...

1. Will Rockbox in the gigabeat will be able to read the .avi files?
2. Will Rockbox in the gigabeat will be free?
3. Will rockbox in the gigabeat  will be in colors? ('Cuz I saw the simulator and... you know... it's really not like the origin firmware...)
4. Will Rockbox will have some games? (Like Rock Doom)
5. Will Rockbox will have a screen-saver?
6. Will Rockbox will be able to close the screen? (Like the origin firmware)
7. The first Rockbox tests are workable in the gigabeat? (I'm very impatient to see it in mine!!!)

Thanks a lot
Title: Re: Rockbox in the gigabeat
Post by: scorche on September 18, 2006, 09:19:28 PM
This post should be in a thread about the gigabeat in the "New Ports" forum.

That said, Rockbox for the gigabeat will have everything that rockbox has.  In other words:
1 - Not yet.
2 - Yes, and its source will be distributed as well.
3 - Yes.
4 - Yes.
5 - No.
6 - Not sure quite what you mean by this.
7 - Markun will have to answer this, as I am not as familiar with the current state as he is.
Title: Re: Rockbox in the gigabeat
Post by: Soader03 on September 19, 2006, 07:55:35 AM
Oh god thanks!!!!

Rectification: #6. Will Rockbox will be alble to close the screen? You know in settings -> sreen setting -> backlight off time you have 5 sec. (OFF) 10,20 (DIMMER), and always ON
Title: Re: Rockbox in the gigabeat
Post by: Febs on September 19, 2006, 08:07:33 AM
Yes, Rockbox has a function that will turn off the backlight after a defined period of time.
Title: Re: Rockbox in the gigabeat
Post by: Soader03 on October 04, 2006, 05:52:09 PM
Another one....

Will can I do a partition ofmy hardrive and run the original firmware on the first one and rockbox on the second one? I know it's very technical ;)
Title: Re: Rockbox in the gigabeat
Post by: saratoga on October 04, 2006, 06:25:53 PM

Another one....

Will can I do a partition ofmy hardrive and run the original firmware on the first one and rockbox on the second one? I know it's very technical ;)


Some rockbox targets support dual booting.  I think you'll have to ask the developers if they're planning on supporting it for the Gigabeat.
Title: Re: Rockbox in the gigabeat
Post by: jbird80 on October 06, 2006, 11:40:02 AM
little off topic but I'm not sure where this should go

Has anyone actualy put the Rockbox on a gigabeat?
I'm assuming that the SAT file format is not going to be in Roxbox?
I'm also assuming that you will be able to drag and drop you music files to the gigabeat?

I'm a linux user and the current Toshibas firmware is starting to piss me off!!!
Title: Re: Rockbox in the gigabeat
Post by: Soader03 on October 06, 2006, 04:11:48 PM
Yeah me too, I have more than 1000 songs in MP3.SAT ... But I don't care if I have to resynchronize my songs

But rockbox for the gigabeat is not ready
Title: Re: Rockbox in the gigabeat
Post by: Soader03 on December 24, 2006, 03:29:56 PM
So, now, we have sound in the F series, MPEG player and some games.... I downloaded the fonts, the zip with all in it and now, I just need the bootloader for installation... So, where to find it?

**EDIT** Ok, I found it, and it works fine!!!
Title: Re: Rockbox in the gigabeat
Post by: hotwire on December 24, 2006, 10:01:15 PM
As of right now, rockbox on the gigabeat is functioning as a temporary fork from the main gigabeat code base.  Not all of the people working on the gigabeat port had write access to the main rockbox cvs (i believe attempts to get said permissions are in progress).  Since sound is working, I believe the next step may be to remerge the gigabeat specific code with the main rockbox code base.

Sound on the Gigabeat F and X Series players has been functioning only for a little over 24 hours as of this post.  There is still a relatively long list of known port specific bugs, eg Database (formerly TagCache), no support for the LED Buttons on the F Series, and limited support for the cradle where applicable.  But, we do have sound, and it does run.  Links to what may be best defined as the first gigabeat port alpha release of rockbox may be found in the gigabeat irc log.
Title: Re: Rockbox in the gigabeat
Post by: Soader03 on December 25, 2006, 12:30:50 AM
You look like very nice in this software ;) So, I downloaded the Elephant Dream video and it works very well, I tested aa couple of things: I didn't see any bugs... I have a couple of videos are encoded in .mpg or mpeg and I tried to rename it like that: Alexisonfire - Accidents.mpg to Alexisonfire - Accidents.m2v and I droped it in the HDD. When I try to play it, it plays but there are some weird colors and shapes and I can just see the up of the video. I would know if there is a solution about my problem.

Thanks for answering!
Title: Re: Rockbox in the gigabeat
Post by: linuxstb on December 25, 2006, 05:11:23 AM
".mpg" is normally a "program stream" consisting of both video and audio.

".m2v" is just a raw video stream.

So you can't just rename, you have to extract (demux) the video from the .mpg file.  One Windows app that comes to mind for that is "pvastrumento", but I'm sure most video editing/processing software can do it.

Under Linux, I would just use mplayer:

Code: [Select]

mplayer -dumpvideo -dumpfile myvideo.m2v myvideo.mpg
Title: Re: Rockbox in the gigabeat
Post by: Soader03 on December 25, 2006, 01:48:08 PM
Ok, and how can I extract just the video??? With what program...

I found a bug: The batery indicator says that it's always fully charged of always at 100%. When I stop the player and boot with originl firmware, the indicator says the it's to 25%. So, a bug is found!
Title: Re: Rockbox in the gigabeat
Post by: Llorean on December 25, 2006, 02:10:52 PM
Before you claim it's a bug, are you sure it's a feature that's supposed to work yet?
Title: Re: Rockbox in the gigabeat
Post by: Soader03 on December 25, 2006, 03:10:32 PM
Dunno...
Title: Re: Rockbox in the gigabeat
Post by: linuxstb on December 25, 2006, 03:51:30 PM

Ok, and how can I extract just the video??? With what program...


Try reading my post again.
Title: Re: Rockbox in the gigabeat
Post by: Soader03 on December 25, 2006, 08:56:16 PM
Ok, I downloaded PVAStrumento an mplayer but both don't work... mplayer doesn't start and PVAStrumento starts but it doesn't finish its work... Do I do something wrong???
Title: Re: Rockbox in the gigabeat
Post by: xlarge on December 26, 2006, 03:04:45 AM

Ok, I downloaded PVAStrumento an mplayer but both don't work... mplayer doesn't start and PVAStrumento starts but it doesn't finish its work... Do I do something wrong???


Probably.
Add more information than that if you want a proper answer or more help.
Title: Re: Rockbox in the gigabeat
Post by: Soader03 on December 26, 2006, 03:54:50 AM
Ok, I downloaded another thing! (VLC media player (cool stuff!)) So, tried to do the same thing as the wiki says about the mpeg player (command promp...) but I don't know where is saved the m2v completed file. Or maybe it doesn't work and it is just bullshit...
Title: Re: Rockbox in the gigabeat
Post by: xlarge on December 26, 2006, 04:46:07 AM

Ok, I downloaded another thing! (VLC media player (cool stuff!)) So, tried to do the same thing as the wiki says about the mpeg player (command promp...) but I don't know where is saved the m2v completed file. Or maybe it doesn't work and it is just bullshit...


Please explain exactly what you are doing? (I mean exactly; all commands, every mouse click...)
If you do the same thing the wiki says about vlc the output file ends up in the same directory you currently are in, ie where you execute the vlc.exe.
Title: Re: Rockbox in the gigabeat
Post by: Soader03 on December 26, 2006, 11:46:14 AM
OK

(Sorry, some directories are in french...)

1. Double click on VLC Media Player.exe
2. Click on file... Open file (advenced)
3. Open... Browse -> Alexisonfire - This Could Be Anywhere In The World.mpg
4. Advenced Option -> hook the case, then Options
It should be like that http://img127.imageshack.us/img127/535/sanstitreoj2.jpg
5. Another windows open. Click on "Video Codec", then select "mp2v"
6. Popy/paste the line vlc --sout=#transcode{vcodec=mp2v,vb=600,width=,height=}:es{access-video=file,mux-video=es,dst-video=.m2v} in Flux:
7. Don't forget to put the height and width (320*240)
8. Then press ok
It should be like that http://img127.imageshack.us/img127/7259/sanstitre2wa9.jpg
9. Another ok...
10. Then, the video starts
11. Checking for the m2v file...
12. Nothing...
Title: Re: Rockbox in the gigabeat
Post by: xlarge on December 26, 2006, 01:21:07 PM
Hmm i'd suggest you do it the way it's written in the wiki instead of what you are doing.

Open a command line prompt and go to the VLC installation directory (default is C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\ ). Run the following command line:

vlc yourfilm.mpg --sout=#transcode{vcodec=mp2v,vb=600,width=320,height=240}:es{access-video=file,mux-video=es,dst-video=yourfilm.m2v}

Where you substitute "yourfilm" (present at two places... ) with whatever your file is called.
Please mind that in your screenshots the file you are trying to transcode have spaces in it's name...
Title: Re: Rockbox in the gigabeat
Post by: Soader03 on December 26, 2006, 01:31:34 PM
Before, I tried the command line promp but the line is too long so it won't do its job. I found the way to "convert" but I don't remember what I did ;D I'll try to do a "tutorial"
Title: Re: Rockbox in the gigabeat
Post by: Llorean on December 26, 2006, 01:33:32 PM
There's very little point in building a tutorial, as this isn't going to be the final method once audio is supported anyway.
Title: Re: Rockbox in the gigabeat
Post by: hotwire on December 26, 2006, 04:57:15 PM

I found a bug: The batery indicator says that it's always fully charged of always at 100%. When I stop the player and boot with originl firmware, the indicator says the it's to 25%. So, a bug is found!



There is still a relatively long list of known port specific bugs.
Title: Re: Rockbox in the gigabeat
Post by: Soader03 on December 27, 2006, 01:10:04 AM
Yes I refound what I've to do...

In VLC, do:
1. File -> open file (advanced)
2. Browse your file and then checkmark at the bottom and then options
3. Then, you have this window -> http://img409.imageshack.us/img409/1416/preciousfileek6.jpg

Set the settings of the pictures and click ok, then another ok.

In the line "Fichier (File)", and then "Parcourir (Browse)" write -> yourfilename.m2v Don't forget to put "Raw" at the bottom!

For me, it works...

Enjoy!
Title: Re: Rockbox in the gigabeat
Post by: mlind on December 27, 2006, 06:19:47 AM
Is this thread labeled according to its subject of discussion?
Title: Re: Rockbox in the gigabeat
Post by: devonian69 on December 27, 2006, 01:19:48 PM
Is there somewhere I can read and download all of the files I need to install Rockbox on my Gigabeat? - I understand it only plays audio.

Another bad question... Can I install Rockbox from a Windows environment?

Thank you!

- Found it - I was apparently blind or illiterate