Rockbox Technical Forums

Support and General Use => Plugins/Viewers => Topic started by: dar02 on November 17, 2018, 08:36:49 AM

Title: Duke Nukem 3d - Sansa Fuze - SDL problem
Post by: dar02 on November 17, 2018, 08:36:49 AM
Hi
I am trying to run Duke3D on my Sansa Fuze.
I am using last dev build (03718bd-181115).
When I am trying to run the game, after loading GRP and CON files I am getting "BUILDSDL: Failed to set 220x176 video mode!"
220x176 is the native Sansa Fuze LCD screen resolution.
How to fix this problem?
Title: Re: Duke Nukem 3d - Sansa Fuze - SDL problem
Post by: __builtin on November 17, 2018, 09:26:23 PM
Is there any more to that error message?
Title: Re: Duke Nukem 3d - Sansa Fuze - SDL problem
Post by: dar02 on November 18, 2018, 03:08:03 AM
No, after this error message it quits.
The error message appear only for about 1 or 0.5 second.

I attach pictures.
Title: Re: Duke Nukem 3d - Sansa Fuze - SDL problem
Post by: dar02 on November 18, 2018, 03:09:21 AM
And just before error message:
Title: Re: Duke Nukem 3d - Sansa Fuze - SDL problem
Post by: __builtin on November 18, 2018, 11:50:18 AM
Hmm, I think I might know the cause. The Atomic GRP is pretty big. Could you give the shareware demo a try?

EDIT: Also, does it say it's caching the GRP completely or partially?
Title: Re: Duke Nukem 3d - Sansa Fuze - SDL problem
Post by: dar02 on November 18, 2018, 01:35:52 PM
The same problem using 1.3d shareware.

It says "Not caching large GRP (10777KB)"
Title: Re: Duke Nukem 3d - Sansa Fuze - SDL problem
Post by: __builtin on November 19, 2018, 04:43:36 PM
I can't verify it currently, but I'm still suspecting a memory issue. I'll look into this further when I have some time.
Title: Re: Duke Nukem 3d - Sansa Fuze - SDL problem
Post by: __builtin on November 24, 2018, 07:54:25 PM
It indeed looks to be a memory issue, at least in the simulator (Fuze has 8 MB). I'll try and find some way to scrounge up some more memory, but it won't be easy.

EDIT: ...more like nearly impossible. Duke uses 11 MB on ipod6g without caching.
Title: Re: Duke Nukem 3d - Sansa Fuze - SDL problem
Post by: Julian27 on July 12, 2019, 06:13:04 AM
Hi
I am trying to run Duke3D on my Sansa Fuze.
I am using last dev build (03718bd-181115).
When I am trying to run the game, after loading GRP TellTheBell (https://www.tellthebell.xyz/) and CON files I am getting "BUILDSDL: Failed to set 220x176 video mode!"
220x176 is the native Sansa Fuze LCD screen resolution.
How to fix this problem?

I have same error. how to fix this???
Title: Re: Duke Nukem 3d - Sansa Fuze - SDL problem
Post by: __builtin on July 12, 2019, 10:56:34 AM
The game simply uses too much memory to run on the Fuze, which has only 8MB of RAM. I'll have to disable it for all targets with insufficient memory.
Title: Re: Duke Nukem 3d - Sansa Fuze - SDL problem
Post by: Prisoner416 on August 22, 2019, 10:59:45 AM
The game simply uses too much memory to run on the Fuze, which has only 8MB of RAM. I'll have to disable it for all targets with insufficient memory.

The same issue obviously applies to Quake. Doom is highly unstable.