Rockbox Technical Forums

Support and General Use => Hardware => Topic started by: coolaboola on October 27, 2017, 12:05:35 PM

Title: Sansa Clip Zip with Rockbox and MediaMonkey .... All kinds of broken!
Post by: coolaboola on October 27, 2017, 12:05:35 PM
I have a Sansa Clip Zip on which I have installed Rockbox and MediaMonkey.  I had retired it for a long time because I started having problems with the display (the display wouldn't switch on). 

I have since upgraded to the SanDisk Sport Plus. I really don't like the Sports Plus, mainly because I can't install Rockbox and the native UI is a pain in the posterior.

So I am trying to resurrect my Clip Zip. And I did get it working with Rockbox and syncing with MediaMonkey and the display working. YAY! Except I had one small annoying bug: when I plugged the Clip Zip into my computer I got an error message saying that there is no disc, please enter a disc. This would go away if I clicked 'Cancel' twice. But I really would prefer if it was not there.

To try to fix it I tried uninstalling and reinstalling Rockbox.  That really didn't work! In fact the display issue reappeared and I haven't been able to get the display working again. I've since tried various permutations and combinations of the following:

Formatting the Clip Zip (from Windows)
Reinstalling the Clip Zip firmware (clpzV010121.bin)
Reinstalling the previous version of the Clip Zip firmware (clpza.bin)
Updating the firmware using the Sansa Updater (the Updater doesn't recognise the device)
Uninstalling Rockbox with the Rockbox Utility
Reinstalling Rockbox with the Rockbox Utility
Soft resetting the Clip Zip (holding the Power button for more than 30 seconds)
Resetting by holding the Power and Menu buttons simultaneously
Plugging the Clip Zip into the PC while holding the Select button (the centre button)
Removing the device profile from MediaMonkey

Help! How can I restore the Clip Zip to its factory settings so I can reinstall Rockbox and sync it with MediaMonkey again?
Title: Re: Sansa Clip Zip with Rockbox and MediaMonkey .... All kinds of broken!
Post by: Bilgus on October 27, 2017, 12:25:48 PM
To me sounds like failing internal drive or at the very least corrupted If you don't have access to a linux pc the chances of success are lower you can even use a raspi but you can try on windows if you like http://forums.rockbox.org/index.php/topic,52014.0.html

Do be aware there is a chance of bricking your device using linux the chance is slightly lower but still a chance nonetheless

If you are successful the images provided have the multiboot bootloader and I would highly suggest running your device from sdcard http://forums.rockbox.org/index.php/topic,51844.0.html

you won't need the bootloader as it will already be installed just the proper firmware (MultiBoot_FW_ClipZip [latest date]_rockbox-full.zip)
https://www.mediafire.com/folder/bt7aow95pwlo8/MultiBoot_Bootloaders

If you do have a linux pc it'll take an hour or two but I can help you on IRC when I get a chance
Title: Re: Sansa Clip Zip with Rockbox and MediaMonkey .... All kinds of broken!
Post by: coolaboola on October 29, 2017, 04:29:17 AM
Bilgus, thanks very much for your detailed reply. I don't have access to a Linux PC but I'll read up on the other solutions you suggested. Thanks too for the IRC help offer, much appreciated! And I may take you up on your offer if I decide to dive in and have a go at the solution.   :)
Title: Re: Sansa Clip Zip with Rockbox and MediaMonkey .... All kinds of broken!
Post by: coolaboola on October 30, 2017, 04:31:59 PM
Hello again,

Before I embark on the potentially-bricking fix proposed, I'm wondering if it's the right way to go.  A bit more info:

- When I plug in my Clip Zip my (Windows) computer recognises it as a Sansa Clip Zip. In fact the Sansa interface window opens - but the Firmware Updater option doesn't recognise the player.
- My Clip Zip is working except for the display. I installed the Rockbox voice files and have been able to navigate using the voice files only. Only problem is it now seems to be booting into the original firmware so I no longer have access to the voice files.
- I've recently noticed that in very low light conditions (pretty much complete darkness) I can see the faintest impression of the 'Transferring ...' screen when I plug it into my PC.

Is there anything I can do (other than the recovery image solution that might brick my Clip Zip and other than the fixes I've already tried) that could fix the display?
Title: Re: Sansa Clip Zip with Rockbox and MediaMonkey .... All kinds of broken!
Post by: Bilgus on October 30, 2017, 08:42:14 PM
The display sounds like a hardware issue to me If you can only boot into the OF you might try and put the bin file directly in the root and disconnect the usb (safely) see http://forums.rockbox.org/index.php/topic,51844.0.html to grab a copy of the multiboot bootloader since you cant see the screen give it an extra long time (10 mins) before you try and press the power button again
Title: Re: Sansa Clip Zip with Rockbox and MediaMonkey .... All kinds of broken!
Post by: coolaboola on October 31, 2017, 02:25:30 PM
Thanks Bilgus. I'll give that a try.