Rockbox Technical Forums

Installation / Removal => Rockbox Utility => Topic started by: Terra1961 on January 21, 2017, 07:57:16 AM

Title: ATA error: -2147483636
Post by: Terra1961 on January 21, 2017, 07:57:16 AM
Have a iPod Classic V6 or 7, with the 160GB disk, that was now changed with an 480GB SSD.
After update to Rockbox ( Beta Version ) I get the following message.

Rockbox boot loader
Version: 29d4119-160707
Battery status ok: 3755 mV
ATA error: -2147483636

Hold MENU+SELECT to reboot
then SELECT+PLAY for disk mode


Did somone has an idea to fix them, as I want to change to Rockbox

regards,

Michael 
Title: Re: ATA error: -2147483636
Post by: wodz on January 23, 2017, 07:32:27 AM
The message comes from bootloader so actual rockbox version has nothing to do. Basically the disk is not recognized.
Title: Re: ATA error: -2147483636
Post by: Terra1961 on January 23, 2017, 02:37:10 PM
Thanks for Information.

Anything what I can do now.
Title: Re: ATA error: -2147483636
Post by: Terra1961 on February 08, 2017, 03:53:35 PM
Hi there,

any one has an Information what I can do now.

Thanks for help.

regards,

Michael
Title: Re: ATA error: -2147483636
Post by: Terra1961 on February 17, 2017, 12:50:11 PM
Anyone an idea, please.

regards,

Michael
Title: Re: ATA error: -2147483636
Post by: prof_wolfff on February 17, 2017, 04:19:43 PM
As a general rule, if the HDD works on OF then probably it will work on RB, if the HDD is not detected by OF then probably it won't work on RB.

AFAIK the RB HDD driver is heavily based on OF driver, and it seems to work very well using original hard disks.

Problems with HDD could be:
- broken HDD
- HW issues, i.e. incorrect power voltage (~3.3V), power consumption too high (it is 1000mA IIRC)
- ATA features mismatch, i.e. unsupported DMA modes, physical sector size (?)...
- other configuration issues, i.e. the HDD needs some extra commands

Anyway, i would recommend to use HDD models that are already tested by other users.

If your HDD is not recognized by OF the probably there is nothing you can do at this moment. I will try to use the errorcode to get more info about your specific issue.