Rockbox Technical Forums

Support and General Use => Recording => Topic started by: rickeyjt on June 23, 2006, 01:06:54 PM

Title: timestamps
Post by: rickeyjt on June 23, 2006, 01:06:54 PM
Ok, last post for a little while.

I notice recordings getting a timestamp of today's date when recording.  Iriver said that could not be done because there was no clock function on the chipset.  Well somehow you are doing it but only the day stamp is correct.  The time of day stamp is incorrect.  Is this possible to calibrate?  Although just having the correct day date is a blessing.
Title: Re: timestamps
Post by: adam917 on June 23, 2006, 04:54:15 PM
Ok, last post for a little while.

I notice recordings getting a timestamp of today's date when recording.  Iriver said that could not be done because there was no clock function on the chipset.  Well somehow you are doing it but only the day stamp is correct.  The time of day stamp is incorrect.  Is this possible to calibrate?  Although just having the correct day date is a blessing.
Probably just have to set the clock.
Title: Re: timestamps
Post by: Febs on June 23, 2006, 05:40:00 PM
H100 series has no real time clock.
Title: Re: timestamps
Post by: rickeyjt on June 23, 2006, 06:04:53 PM
Where do you set the clock on the unit?  Don't find it in the general settings setup.
Title: Re: timestamps
Post by: Mr. Brownstone on June 23, 2006, 07:25:47 PM
H100 series has no real time clock.
Title: Re: timestamps
Post by: adam917 on June 23, 2006, 09:26:58 PM
Ok, last post for a little while.

I notice recordings getting a timestamp of today's date when recording.  Iriver said that could not be done because there was no clock function on the chipset.  Well somehow you are doing it but only the day stamp is correct.  The time of day stamp is incorrect.  Is this possible to calibrate?  Although just having the correct day date is a blessing.
My my H140, it shows 'rec_0001' as the file name.
Title: Re: timestamps
Post by: rickeyjt on June 23, 2006, 09:53:36 PM
Hmm, it's picing up a date stamp from somewhere.  The system was always 1/1/2000 or something.
Title: Re: timestamps
Post by: Llorean on June 23, 2006, 09:58:50 PM
I remember someone talking about the idea of having the recording date-stamp use the date the build was created on, but I really don't know if that's used or if it was just an idea someone tossed out at one point. Might check that.
Title: Re: timestamps
Post by: adam917 on June 24, 2006, 01:04:52 AM
Hmm, it's picing up a date stamp from somewhere.  The system was always 1/1/2000 or something.
Probably 2002-01-01 00:00:00 (iRiver default folders, like /RECORD, have this modification time). (Well, if you recording in Rockbox, maybe it is 2000 or 2001-01-01.)
Title: Re: timestamps
Post by: rickeyjt on June 25, 2006, 10:39:19 AM
idea of having the recording date-stamp use the date the build was created on

This is apparently the case.  With build 060623 the file dates are 6/23/2006 2:35 AM. :-(

Maybe someone could write in a way to see the build date on the recording screen and allow you to change it there, along with the time.  Use the joystick to go down to a date line and set the time for your recording.  Where would be a good place to post this suggestion?
Title: Re: timestamps
Post by: Multiplex on June 25, 2006, 12:04:28 PM
I exhibited my ignorance a while ago by suggesting that the internal value "runtime" could be used to generate incrementing recording numbers.  (that's no good as it is the battery runtime, it gets re-set by charging).

But while digging through that idea I'm pretty sure that I discovered that on a platform with no RTC Rockbox uses the timestamp of the build when files are created - this correlates with rickeyjt's observation.
Title: Re: timestamps
Post by: Llorean on June 25, 2006, 05:21:06 PM
Allowing non-RTC users to set the current Date in the Recording Menu or Screen would probably be a good idea. I'm not sure the time is necessary (takes longer to set it, and besides the files are numbered sequentially so you'll know "This was the 5th recording I did on X day" anyway, but there's no real reason to leave it out either). Someone here might want to either put up a feature request, or suggest it in the "Recording Enhancements Pack" thread.
Title: Re: timestamps
Post by: adam917 on June 28, 2006, 02:46:21 PM
I exhibited my ignorance a while ago by suggesting that the internal value "runtime" could be used to generate incrementing recording numbers.  (that's no good as it is the battery runtime, it gets re-set by charging).

But while digging through that idea I'm pretty sure that I discovered that on a platform with no RTC Rockbox uses the timestamp of the build when files are created - this correlates with rickeyjt's observation.
Mine didn't reset upon charging. It shows over 29 hours elapsed. Perhaps it's because I always charge with the power off?
Title: Re: timestamps
Post by: Llorean on June 28, 2006, 02:47:33 PM
Yup, it can only reset on charging if it actually knows that it's been charging. That requires the power be on. ;)
Title: Re: timestamps
Post by: adam917 on June 28, 2006, 09:19:41 PM
Yup, it can only reset on charging if it actually knows that it's been charging. That requires the power be on. ;)
Can it be manually reset?
Title: Re: timestamps
Post by: Llorean on June 28, 2006, 09:20:21 PM
The easiest way is to plug in the charger while it's turned on. Did you need something more complicated?
Title: Re: timestamps
Post by: adam917 on June 29, 2006, 02:50:56 AM
The easiest way is to plug in the charger while it's turned on. Did you need something more complicated?
No.
Title: Re: timestamps
Post by: Multiplex on June 29, 2006, 07:26:03 AM
Quote
Perhaps it's because I always charge with the power off?
Yup, that's why I fell into the trap of thinking that the value was total system elapsed time (and a product I've worked on had exactly that).

I suppose it would be possible to write a patch to prevent it resetting on charge. I don't know what the value gets used for but the fact that power-off charging for the H1x0 has the same effect without noticable problems suggests (but only 'suggests') that this might be useful.
Title: Re: timestamps
Post by: Rincewind on June 29, 2006, 08:51:32 AM
Yup, it can only reset on charging if it actually knows that it's been charging. That requires the power be on. ;)
Can it be manually reset?

in the View Runtime screen, just press select.
Title: Re: timestamps
Post by: adam917 on June 29, 2006, 09:50:30 AM
Quote
Perhaps it's because I always charge with the power off?
Yup, that's why I fell into the trap of thinking that the value was total system elapsed time (and a product I've worked on had exactly that).

I suppose it would be possible to write a patch to prevent it resetting on charge. I don't know what the value gets used for but the fact that power-off charging for the H1x0 has the same effect without noticable problems suggests (but only 'suggests') that this might be useful.
Total runtime since installation was what I thought it was too, until I noticed that it reset when the charger/external power source was plugged in and power was on.
Title: Re: timestamps
Post by: ummagumma on July 18, 2006, 09:56:27 AM

 ahh, good thread...I was trying to find the menu for setting the time on my H120 :D :D


 at least the recordings are labelled sequentially
Title: Re: timestamps
Post by: adam917 on July 19, 2006, 04:41:14 PM

 ahh, good thread...I was trying to find the menu for setting the time on my H120 :D :D


 at least the recordings are labelled sequentially
Yes, and why not just write (or make a text file on the unit!) a list of the file names and their record start dates & times? Then you could use the filer name & length to determine end time.