Rockbox Technical Forums

Support and General Use => User Interface and Voice => Topic started by: goffa on April 02, 2006, 11:45:16 PM

Title: one button queuing
Post by: goffa on April 02, 2006, 11:45:16 PM
I'd like to see this feature implemented in rockbox
 http://www.rockbox.org/tracker/task/2142

The logic:

First of all, i'd like to start off by saying that i love rockbox. I think its a great player, etc.

Very seldom do i create a specific playlist.  A dynamic playlist queues all of my music, and i use shuffle to play music. Don't jump on me, but it is inconvenient to turn shuffle on/off, its hidden pretty deep in the menus.

Also, its inconvenient to hit a button to see your file browser, then choose playlist, then queue, then pick how you want to queue your file. That's 4 extra button presses for me that should be just one.

I haven't tried this patch (i'm about to do it now). Hope it works.

Long story short, i'll donate another (in addition to the previous $50) $50 to the project if this gets implemented.

thanks everyone and keep up the good work.
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: LinusN on April 03, 2006, 02:05:41 AM
Don't jump on me, but it is inconvenient to turn shuffle on/off, its hidden pretty deep in the menus.
Shuffle is in the quick menu. One keypress away.

Quote
Also, its inconvenient to hit a button to see your file browser, then choose playlist, then queue, then pick how you want to queue your file. That's 4 extra button presses for me that should be just one.
I can count to 2 "extra" presses there. You will always need to go to the browser (1 click) and you will always have to press the magic Queue button (1 click).

You could always try the Party mode.
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: goffa on April 04, 2006, 07:37:04 PM
I don't think i wrote my last post clear enough.

What is happening is when i select a track to be played from the file browser, it overwrites my playlist and queues the current directory.

If i could pick a track out of the file browser, have it play the file, then resume the current playlist I'd be very happy.

I can see how people would like it the way it is, so i propose a toggle.

The way it is now is frustrating now that depressing the middle button plays a track. It is very easy to bump the middle button on my iaudio x5, and bumping it twice is not uncommon. I am then forced to reload my original playlist after the listening current song. I could be wrong, but i seriously doubt i'm the only one who would prefer this behavior. Every other player i've used seems to do this. The main reason i'm using rockbox is for the support for different codecs. So going back to original firmware isn't an option.

I do like the plugin system as well.

Oh, and the $50 offer still stands.  I'm happy to support the development of this project.
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: spongeboy on April 05, 2006, 02:12:06 AM
As far as the accidental bumping of navi goes, have you tried party mode?
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: ego on April 05, 2006, 02:53:04 AM

If i could pick a track out of the file browser, have it play the file, then resume the current playlist I'd be very happy.


just so we're clear, you mean besides the current queue/insert functions?
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: Llorean on April 05, 2006, 03:04:18 AM
He wants a one-button queue-next function.
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: goffa on April 05, 2006, 07:44:01 AM
yeah... one button play next, or if the track would just play and not erase the current playlist so i don't have to reload a playlist. I could work with it either way.

party mode queues the file last. Also, it prevents you from loading another playlist. That ends up being more inconvenient than reloading my playlist.

Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: ego on April 05, 2006, 09:22:20 AM
i believe there is a patch to set what sort of funtion both the navi and the '>>' button have in browser, but i don't know anything about its status ATM.
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: goffa on April 05, 2006, 05:52:53 PM
I think that's what i posted in my first post. as far as i know, they stopped messing with it about a year ago. I have reports that that doesn't work on the newer builds.
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: ego on April 05, 2006, 06:55:11 PM
oh yeah. sorry for not paying attention  :-X
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: goffa on April 06, 2006, 08:00:53 AM
np.. i just hope a developer sees/likes/implements my idea
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: goffa on April 10, 2006, 11:26:49 AM
whee... quick menu implemented for x5l.. this helps a lot. Toggling shuffle gives you a different random track to play next.

Still hoping for one button queuing. Then i won't have to reload playlists all the time.

Still, thanks for the major update this morning.
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: goffa on April 17, 2006, 08:35:14 AM
Been doing some thinking, maybe my idea could be a replacement/addition to party mode.

I guess the only difference is that party mode doesn't allow you to load a playlist while in party mode.

But, if one was able to change the default action for the right nav in file browser, it wouldn't matter.
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: unL33T on May 15, 2006, 07:41:19 PM
I would also like this one button queuing feature.

I just put my whole library in a shuffled playlist but occasionally I get the urge to hear a certain song.  I would like to be able to just select the song, have it play, and then my playlist resume without having to go through all the menus (can be difficult while driving).
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: Febs on May 16, 2006, 11:29:02 AM
I just put my whole library in a shuffled playlist but occasionally I get the urge to hear a certain song.  I would like to be able to just select the song, have it play, and then my playlist resume without having to go through all the menus (can be difficult while driving).
But going through the file browser while driving is easy?!   ;)

Actually, I too think that the right button queue would be a useful addition, considering that the right button is redundant in the file browser anyway (at least, it is on the three Rockbox platforms that I own).
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: Llorean on May 16, 2006, 11:31:42 AM
I do think splitting Navi and Right so that they have different functions would be nice, yes.

But I do think it's a bad idea to be looking at the screen period while driving, which is generally necessary to go through the filetree even before you're to the point where you're ready to queue something. And if you say "But I can memorize the filetree" then the context menu shouldn't be too tough either. :-P
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: rubberglove on May 25, 2006, 10:58:03 PM
i guess i could resurrect my one-button-to-insert patch - i have been mucho busy the past....er.... 6 months.
i kindof miss have that functionality also.

i'll try and take a new look at it sometime soon...
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: goffa on May 26, 2006, 12:29:36 PM
sweet... i thought the idea had died due to lack of interest.

That patch would be heaven for me.
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: goffa on May 26, 2006, 05:11:55 PM
ew... 13 posts.. have to get off of that number :)
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: goffa on July 21, 2006, 01:41:03 PM
just wonder if you had a chance to look at this yet rubberglove ... feature freeze is lifted :)
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: Mmmm on July 21, 2006, 05:21:59 PM
I've been using rubbergloves patch for years...its in the build in my sig..
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: goffa on July 24, 2006, 07:40:34 AM
hmm... i'll have to try your build when my h140 comes back from the repair center.  I must be patching wrong, or don't know which file to patch. I can't seem to get it to work on my x5.
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: Mmmm on July 24, 2006, 03:48:10 PM
hmm... i'll have to try your build when my h140 comes back from the repair center.  I must be patching wrong, or don't know which file to patch. I can't seem to get it to work on my x5.
I've been maintaining it alongside the rest of the build so the patch is probably out of date by now... but since the playlist catalogue my build won't cvs anymore (haven't had time to fix it yet) which is to do with rubbergloves patch I think.
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: goffa on July 25, 2006, 08:15:02 AM
Well, playlist catalog isn't a big deal for me.  I'll deffinately be trying your build when i get my h140 back.

The default navi behavior is really the only thing that bothers me about rockbox.  I hate reloading my playlist and i don't like having to go through a long series of keystrokes just to avoid reloading the playlist if i want to select a track myself.  (In fact, i think its the same amount of strokes to load a playlist as it is to avoid reloading one).

Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: Febs on July 25, 2006, 08:17:53 AM
goffa, what do you mean by "avoiding reloading a playlist."  If you're just try to play a single song while a different playlist is playing, use the "queue" functions. 
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: goffa on July 25, 2006, 09:57:23 AM
Keystrokes to reload playlist:
navi, back, back, back, (to get to root.m3u), right to select
Total=5

keystrokes to use queue function:
short navi, long navi, right, select down to get to desired action, right to select
Total = 5

This is what i'm referring to febs. It is no quicker to use queuing functions.

And this is why i don't like the default behavior. I still plan on trying mmmm's build on the h140 when it comes in. It should shut me up (on the 140 anyway, until i figure out how to patch the x5)
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: Febs on July 25, 2006, 10:20:08 AM
I see what you mean now.   I guess the only advantage of using queue in that situation would be that you would not lose your place in the playlist.
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: Llorean on July 25, 2006, 03:32:54 PM
I still like the idea of having "Select" (or NAVI) be the button that kills and restarts the playlist, and having Right be a one-button Queue or Insert (the only configurable behaviour I'm in favour of for a button is allowing someone to choose between the Queue or Insert nature of it. Whether it does so Next, Last, or the normal method will be determined by which menu-one they used last, doing just the basic Insert/Queue if they haven't used on in this playlist).
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: ego on July 25, 2006, 04:28:22 PM
if there's not, there should be a way to add folders too. say, tapping right on folder browses inside it, but holding right on a folder does the selected action
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: Llorean on July 25, 2006, 10:06:51 PM
Yeah, right now holding Right hesitates, then enters a bunch of levels until it hits a playable object and plays it. I'd rather have it be an insert-like action rather than a button-repetition style action.
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: goffa on July 26, 2006, 10:10:18 AM
I really like those ideas.  I'd still switch play and navi (habit thing for me, i like hitting navi to get back to the wps).

But having 2 different actions would greatly improve rockbox. I also like ego's idea of a long hold for a dir.

To me that would be just as good, if not better than having a menu. The player would do exactly what i want it to do.
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: whatboutbob on July 26, 2006, 10:42:37 AM
/me supports this.

I've been hoping for one button queue/insert for a long time...and right click just seems to make sense...
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: goffa on July 28, 2006, 01:06:59 PM
he he he.. now we just need someone to code/submit this. Someone smarter than me :)
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: Rincewind on July 29, 2006, 06:56:24 AM
I really like these ideas.

I might program this if nobody is faster than me. If I do it then you should be able to configure what you really want. Unlike Llorean I'm a fan of customization for buttons  8)

But don't expect anything soon, I don't have much time to program atm.
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: CoyoteBenji on July 30, 2006, 08:21:42 AM
I am new to rockbox but I installed it yesterday and I found it awesome ;-) Many thanks for your job  :D !

I have done a "straight forward" short patch on my ihp120 to test the idea as suggested here : http://www.rockbox.org/tracker/task/5240/edit (http://www.rockbox.org/tracker/task/5240/edit)

- in WPS screen, rec button display current playlist viewer
- in file browser, rec button add element to playlist
- in file browser, left button exit browser mode even if we are in root (/)   (that is more intutive in my opinion than using play button)

It works well but I don't know if theses idea are portable to others players?
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: Rincewind on July 31, 2006, 10:38:39 AM
Welcome to Rockbox!

I am new to rockbox but I installed it yesterday and I found it awesome ;-) Many thanks for your job  :D !

I have done a "straight forward" short patch on my ihp120 to test the idea as suggested here : http://www.rockbox.org/tracker/task/5240/edit (http://www.rockbox.org/tracker/task/5240/edit)

- in WPS screen, rec button display current playlist viewer
- in file browser, rec button add element to playlist
- in file browser, left button exit browser mode even if we are in root (/)   (that is more intutive in my opinion than using play button)

It works well but I don't know if theses idea are portable to others players?

the first and the third idea of yours exist already as patches in the patch tracker somewhere.
I wrote a patch where you can configure actions for the rec button (but the action is the same in wps and browser, so this is incompatible with your third) http://www.rockbox.org/tracker/task/5555
left exit to wps is discussed in great lengths in the H120 Forum (http://forums.rockbox.org/index.php?topic=1218.0)

Ideas that use the record button are only portable to iriver H3xx series, ipods and iaudios have fewer buttons (don't know about archos)

you should seperate every idea in a single patch btw.
Add your patches to the patch tracker and see what feedback you get!

The main developers haven't agreed if and how these ideas should be included in the official build yet. A discussion for  the Record button can be found here: http://forums.rockbox.org/index.php?topic=5435.0
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: Febs on July 31, 2006, 11:57:19 AM
The main developers haven't agreed if and how these ideas should be included in the official build yet.
With respect to the "left to WPS" idea, I have never seen anything but adamant opposition from the core developers.
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: Rincewind on August 02, 2006, 11:02:35 AM
The main developers haven't agreed if and how these ideas should be included in the official build yet.
With respect to the "left to WPS" idea, I have never seen anything but adamant opposition from the core developers.
I only meant the usage of the record button.

I don't like "left to wps" either.
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: Wintershade on August 03, 2006, 05:51:18 AM
Sending my humble vote to the one button queuing idea.
My iAudio X5 had this on it's original firmware and I liked it a lot, but it wasn't a good enough reason to use OF rather than RB  ;)
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: Mmmm on August 03, 2006, 01:35:41 PM
As I said...I've been keeping rubbergloves patch running and I've just updated my build so here's the patch that has come out of it all...should do the trick. go to mode->playlist options->click insert options to change the click function.....Fantastic patch! :)

Or my build is in my sig if you can't compile. (only for H120/H140 though i'm afraid)

[attachment deleted by admin, too old]
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: goffa on August 03, 2006, 05:21:19 PM
Just got my player back from iriver yesterday, I'm going to try your build tonight.  Then work on patching the x5l. Hopefully all goes well on that.
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: goffa on August 03, 2006, 11:55:58 PM
Well, I tried your build on my h140. I have to say i like it, but i'm wondering if you or someone can modify the patch to get  the selected file to play immediately instead of inserting the file next?

Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: evilnick on August 04, 2006, 12:13:42 AM
Not sure how easy this'd be to do but to try to please everyone, there should be an option for One Click Insert/Queue somewhere in the settings menu with the available values:
Off
Insert
Insert Next
Insert Shuffled
Insert Last
Queue
Queue Next
etc. [i.e. show all the options under the Long-click->Playlist screen]
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: Mmmm on August 04, 2006, 12:22:05 PM
Well, I tried your build on my h140. I have to say i like it, but i'm wondering if you or someone can modify the patch to get  the selected file to play immediately instead of inserting the file next?
Can't you just skip to the next track?

Not sure how easy this'd be to do but to try to please everyone, there should be an option for One Click Insert/Queue somewhere in the settings menu with the available values:
Off
Insert
Insert Next
Insert Shuffled
Insert Last
Queue
Queue Next
etc. [i.e. show all the options under the Long-click->Playlist screen]

Isn't that what this patch does?
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: goffa on August 04, 2006, 12:58:31 PM
You can skip to the next track.  That is more convenient than current behavior. BUT it would be nice to not even have to do that.

I think both should be left in, because i can see scenarios and reasons for keeping both.

The way i see it, more convenient playlist handling is, the better rockbox will be. To me that is the most important aspect of an audio player. (well, other than being able to play files :)

I'd actually like to see the patch implemented into cvs too, but that's a fight i'll probably lose.
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: goffa on August 09, 2006, 10:56:08 AM
after playing with the patched build i've come to the conclusion that i'd like to have that same menu available for right nav. Then i could accomplish the behavior i want. which after some thought is:

right nav to queue/play a track, nav to return to wps, play to enqueue current  dir and play. 

I can switch play and navi by changing 2 variables in tree.h before i compile, so i would be able to accomplish what i want if i had the 2nd menu.

I realize not everyone wants this behavior, so this is where the menu customizations come in. 

Now i just have to rtf wiki so i can learn how to apply rubbergloves patch on my own.
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: Mmmm on August 27, 2006, 06:41:37 AM
Here's another update to rubbergloves patch:

Tracker link (http://www.rockbox.org/tracker/task/2653)

[attachment deleted by admin, too old]
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: goffa on November 10, 2006, 07:26:44 PM
mmmm, have you tried the patch on a recent build?

I tried patching my x5.. it failed on the tree.c file.

So i went in manualy and pasted in this section  where i thought it belonged, just above   case ACTION_STD_CANCEL (minus the plus signs of course):

+            case  /* button insert modification */
+                /* nothing to do if no files to display */
+                if ( numentries == 0 )
+                    break;
+
+                int i;
+
+                if (id3db)
+                    i = tagtree_enter(&tc);
+                else  
+               {
+                    if (currdir[1])
+                        snprintf(buf, sizeof buf, "%s/%s",
+                        currdir, dircache[tc.selected_item].name);
+                    else
+                        snprintf(buf, sizeof buf, "/%s",
+                                 dircache[tc.selected_item].name);
+                    i=onplay_one_click(buf, dircache[tc.selected_item].attr, curr_context,&tc);
+                }
+
+                switch (i)
+                {
+                    case 1: reload_dir = true; break;
+                    case 2: start_wps = true; break;
+                    case 3: exit_func = true; break;
+                    default: break;
+                }
+
+                restore = true;
+                break;


It compiled, the option shows up, but when i change the option, it doesn't seem to do anything. Like if i select queue, it still does the default action.

I'm not a programmer by any stretch, so i don't really know where to fix the code or if there's more i need to do to get this working. any help you could give would be appreciated.
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: Mmmm on November 11, 2006, 07:05:44 AM
Well, it could be a couple of things.


Anyway, I did what you described, reset my settings and it worked fine. There is a new patch on the tracker if you want to do it the easy way ;)

EDIT: I've just noticed you're using an X5.... which explains everything! The button keymaps are not done for the x5 for this patch so it won't work (did it work before or is this your first try?)
If you fancy trying a bit of simple coding have a look at the keymap part of the patch and do a similar thing to the X5 keymap file. Then you can post the patch on the tracker with X5 support!
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: goffa on November 11, 2006, 03:21:20 PM
Yeah... this was my first attempt.

I just used your build on my h140, i'd try it there, but its going back to the factory for rma. When it gets back i'll give it a go on there.

I'm going to try out your patch, because i know it'd take me infinitely longer to figure it out myself. :)

And yeah. it was a typo i made in the forums. I pasted the code, highlighted part, and must have accidentally hit the space bar.

Anyway, thanks for your help.

EDIT: i put my first patch ever up. I didn't bother with the remote.
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: Mmmm on November 12, 2006, 11:57:36 AM
Well done Goffa, looks good ;)
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: goffa on November 12, 2006, 03:08:27 PM
thanks, now do you have a link to  your classalt theme? i've grown attached to it on my h140 would like to get it going on the x5
Title: Re: one button queuing
Post by: Mmmm on November 13, 2006, 04:50:50 AM
Coo...I didn't realise anybody else actually used that!
It's in my sig....But I haven't fixed the codec order yet so when you are playing ogg it says flac etc...