Rockbox Technical Forums

Support and General Use => Hardware => Topic started by: SAMO on December 20, 2004, 10:08:15 PM

Title: Studio 20 Hard Drive
Post by: SAMO on December 20, 2004, 10:08:15 PM
Can I replace the hard drive in the Studio 20, if so which is the best hard drive to get? Is there a maximum capacity? Or any specific name brands? Would I just follow the instructions for ajb 6000? Any help would be appreciated.

Thank You
Title: Re: Studio 20 Hard Drive
Post by: LinusN on December 21, 2004, 02:13:12 AM
Answers to your questions:

1) Yes, and the thumb rule is to buy the slowest one you can find, since it is likely to consume the least power

2) The maximum capacity supported by the Archos is 128GB

3) Any drive will do, but stay away from Hitachi DK23CA and DK23DA

4) Yes
Title: Re: Studio 20 Hard Drive
Post by: SAMO on December 21, 2004, 04:00:20 PM
Thank you for answering my questions. Is there a specific hard drive that you could recommend? I have been searching it's seems like there are so many choices. I have seen a western digital 120 gb hard drive with 7,200 RPM, would that be a good choice? Since there is a 128 gb maximum, does that mean I should try to find a 130 gb hard drive? I know that when you actually format the drives they are less than stated on the box. I have looked and I haven't found a 130 gb hard drive. I need a IDE hard drive, right?

Thank you again for your help.
Title: Re: Studio 20 Hard Drive
Post by: Bagder on December 21, 2004, 04:45:24 PM
Ehum.

The biggest 2.5" disk currently being sold is 100GB.
Title: Re: Studio 20 Hard Drive
Post by: SAMO on December 21, 2004, 06:54:33 PM
thank you for informing me of that, I was unaware that I need a 2.5" hard drive.