Rockbox Technical Forums

Installation / Removal => Manual Installation => Toshiba - Installation/Removal => Topic started by: piglett on April 02, 2010, 01:22:49 PM

Title: Unable to re-Install Rockbox
Post by: piglett on April 02, 2010, 01:22:49 PM
Due to the system being unable to build the database after I updated to a current build I decided to remove & completely reinstall rockbox.

I used the utility to remove rockbox & when I restarted the machine booted up with the original Gigabeat software.

I then went back & again using the Rockbox utility I did a complete install including the bootloader.

On restarting the machine it still boots in to Gigabeat and not rockbox.

I have now manually removed the rockbox files, removed the rockbox bootloader & renamed the original gigabeat bootloader back to it's original name (FWIMG01.DAT)

restarted the machine & stopped it and manually installed everything using the instructions I originally printed out in 2007

My Gigabeat will not boot in to rockbox & i'm not sure where to go from here. I've tried to check the manual using links on here (thinking that maybe my manual is out of date) but the links to the toshiba manuals don't work.


Title: Re: Unable to re-Install Rockbox
Post by: Chronon on April 12, 2010, 03:02:10 AM
Did you do the bit where you cycle the power switch after installing?

Quote
2.2.3  Finishing the install

After installing you need to power-cycle the player by doing the following steps. Failure to do so may result in problems.

    * Safely eject / unmount your player and unplug the USB cable.
    * Unplug any power adapter.
    * Hold the Power button to turn off the player.
    * Slide the battery switch located on the bottom of the player from ‘on’ to ‘off’.
    * Slide the battery switch back from ‘off’ to ‘on’.
Title: Re: Unable to re-Install Rockbox
Post by: cryincoyote on February 14, 2011, 11:04:37 AM
I have same exact problem with my F10.  Did a reinstall of Rockbox, powered down and back up-- but still loads up the Gigabeat bootloader, not Rockbox.  Used RB Utility for install, complete.  What else can I do?
Title: Re: Unable to re-Install Rockbox
Post by: Llorean on February 14, 2011, 11:49:30 AM
It's not simply powering down and back up. It's flipping the battery switch after you've powered down. Did you do this extra step?
Title: Re: Unable to re-Install Rockbox
Post by: cryincoyote on February 14, 2011, 02:27:32 PM
Yes, I did the last step of on, off and on with the battery switch. 
Title: Re: Unable to re-Install Rockbox
Post by: Llorean on February 14, 2011, 06:54:08 PM
Try the manual install of the bootloader, as described in the manual.
Title: Re: Unable to re-Install Rockbox
Post by: cryincoyote on February 14, 2011, 08:00:36 PM
So I go into the GBsystem folder, subfolder FWIMG -- files currently there are
FWIMG00.DAT
FWIMG01.DAT
FWIMG01.DAT.ORIG
FWIMG02.DAT

Then delete file FWIMG01.DAT and replace it with FWIMG01.DAT that I downloaded from the Rockbox site. Drag and drop. This all Correct?   I do have original GB software CD and ver 3.0 upgrade, if needed.

see you are in Houston-- Sugar Land here..
Title: Re: Unable to re-Install Rockbox
Post by: Llorean on February 14, 2011, 08:12:56 PM
Are FWIMG01.DAT (the one currently on the player) and FWIMG01.DAT.ORIG identical files?
Title: Re: Unable to re-Install Rockbox
Post by: cryincoyote on February 14, 2011, 08:17:54 PM
the current FWIMG01.DAT file in the gbsystem folder is 1.14mb in size, as is the FWIMG01.DAT.ORIG. (exact same size)   The downloaded FWIMG01.DAT bootloader is only 52kb, ???  big difference.
Title: Re: Unable to re-Install Rockbox
Post by: Llorean on February 14, 2011, 08:24:09 PM
Yes, the downloaded one should be much smaller. This suggests that the bootloader isn't currently installed. For whatever reason, RBUtil hasn't been overwriting fwimg01.dat with our one.

So yes, your steps appear to be right.
Title: Re: Unable to re-Install Rockbox
Post by: cryincoyote on February 14, 2011, 08:48:00 PM
That was the ticket. Thanks.... Now I just need to drag my non .sat music files from my desktop back into the Music and My Music folders, right?   How do I get the video plugin on the GB?
Title: Re: Unable to re-Install Rockbox
Post by: Llorean on February 14, 2011, 09:46:52 PM
The video plugin is already there. Check out the manual for how to use it.

And yes, just drag and drop them, treating it like a portable hard drive.
Title: Re: Unable to re-Install Rockbox
Post by: bluebrother on February 15, 2011, 02:58:52 AM
the current FWIMG01.DAT file in the gbsystem folder is 1.14mb in size, as is the FWIMG01.DAT.ORIG. (exact same size)   The downloaded FWIMG01.DAT bootloader is only 52kb, ???  big difference.

This sounds like Rockbox Utility didn't reinstall the bootloader simply because there is already an original firmware file (i.e. FWIMG01.DAT.ORIG) around. Seems like this doesn't get removed on uninstall (need to check the code though). Did Rockbox Utility report anything? Can you please post the output of the About / Troubleshoot / System Trace after a failed reinstall (if you haven't used it since that you can use the "save previous" button).