Rockbox Technical Forums

Support and General Use => Audio Playback, Database and Playlists => Topic started by: rockboxuser01 on February 26, 2010, 05:21:34 AM

Title: Strange playlist behaviour with 3.5?
Post by: rockboxuser01 on February 26, 2010, 05:21:34 AM
Since upgrading to Rockbox 3.5 on my Sansa e200 v1, I've noticed some issues with playlists (which I can't seem to be able to reproduce on a consistent basis unfortunately).

I have 'Warn When Erasing Dynamic Playlists' set to Yes but sometimes, if I'm playing a track (usually FLAC if that makes any difference) and I select another one from the File browser, the new track will start playing straight away without any warning as to whether I want to erase the dynamic playlist.

Also, if I'm playing a track and I select another track and go to Play Next, Rockbox will sometimes ask me if I want to erase the dynamic playlist but sometimes it won't - again, I can't seem to reproduce this consistently though.

I never had this problem before 3.5 and was wondering if this was a new bug that could be looked into or a new behaviour/setting I've missed perhaps?
Title: Re: Strange playlist behaviour with 3.5?
Post by: JdGordon on February 26, 2010, 05:19:56 PM
how are you creating the first playlist?
the warn when erase message should only show up if you actually modify the first playlist at all (i.e add tracks, move tracks around). it isnt expected to show up if you just  play a track in the browser and then start a different track
Title: Re: Strange playlist behaviour with 3.5?
Post by: rockboxuser01 on February 26, 2010, 06:22:06 PM
Well I usually browsing to a directory in the File browser and playing the first track in that directory, which queues up all the other tracks in that directory so I guess that would be a dynamic playlist? Although sometimes I'll be playing a track and then queue a directory up either by using Play Next or Insert Last, depending on what else is in the playlist. (I don't really think about the terminology while I'm using it!)

I don't remember that being the behaviour in 3.4 (and all older versions) - I'm sure the 'Warn when erasing...' message would show up when I started a different track? I think that was the reason I turned it on in the first place - so I didn't start a different track by accident...
Title: Re: Strange playlist behaviour with 3.5?
Post by: JdGordon on February 26, 2010, 07:03:25 PM
"Well I usually browsing to a directory in the File browser and playing the first track in that directory" - you wont get the warning when you start a new track.
"be playing a track and then queue a directory up either by using Play Next or Insert Last" - you will get the warning

thats the way its always been
Title: Re: Strange playlist behaviour with 3.5?
Post by: rockboxuser01 on February 27, 2010, 04:46:17 AM
OK, my misunderstanding then. Thanks for the clarification anyway!