Rockbox Technical Forums

Installation / Removal => Manual Installation => Archos - Installation/Removal/Flashing => Topic started by: stevec5000 on October 11, 2008, 01:25:30 AM

Title: Ver. 3 Don't Do Anything On Recorder 20.
Post by: stevec5000 on October 11, 2008, 01:25:30 AM
I tried installing ver. 3 on the jukebox recorder 20 but it doesn't seem to work.  When I run the installation utility it finds the unit and goes through all the steps and seems to be done at the end but I can't tell for sure.  Shouldn't there be some indication that it's finished and installed correctly?
Then, when I unplug the USB cable and start it up there is no difference and it's till running the same Archos software.
Does Rockbox really do anything?  If so, how do you get it to work after installing it?  Thanks.
Title: Re: Ver. 3 Don't Do Anything On Recorder 20.
Post by: pixelma on October 11, 2008, 04:48:34 AM
I take it that this is the first time you try to install Rockbox on your Recorder20? Unfortunately my Archos is already set up a bit differently and even if I would test installing with the Rockbox Utility, the result is probably different. (I also have a different player.)

Could you check whether there is a  ".rockbox" directory (if you are on a Mac this can be hidden) and a recently changed "ajbrec.ajz" file in the root of your player (the drive your Archos appears when connected to USB)?

Another idea - and just to be sure: is your player a "Recorder 20" with monochrome screen and without radio? I'm not sure but it could be that the Utility is unable to distinguish between the "Recorder (V1)", the "FM-Recorder" and the "V2-Recorder", the latter two look differently than the first. Is the device correctly detected as stated on the "selected device" line, including mount point/drive letter?


P.S.: Your "hoax" thread almost made me want to scratch the reply...
Title: Re: Ver. 3 Don't Do Anything On Recorder 20.
Post by: stevec5000 on October 11, 2008, 08:39:42 AM
The player is definitely a "Recorder 20" with monochrome screen and without radio.  I know they look different, anyone can see that.
Everything went just like the manual says during installation,
Yes it put the .rockbox" directory on the hard drive and the ajbrec.ajz file in the root of the player during installation but they don't do anything. 
That's why I'm asking how to get the  Rockbox firmware to run after installing it.  Any ideas?
Title: Re: Ver. 3 Don't Do Anything On Recorder 20.
Post by: Llorean on October 11, 2008, 08:54:48 AM
Was your recorder purchased new or used?
Title: Re: Ver. 3 Don't Do Anything On Recorder 20.
Post by: stevec5000 on October 11, 2008, 09:16:10 AM
Used of course.  Come on, it's 6 years old!  It was $15 at Goodwill.
Isn't there anyone on this forum who can provide any useful help or have they all had to move out of their mother's basement and get a real job?
Title: Re: Ver. 3 Don't Do Anything On Recorder 20.
Post by: Llorean on October 11, 2008, 09:17:48 AM
How am I supposed to know you didn't own it for 6 years, and just finally find and try Rockbox?

Seriously, watch your tone or people (like me) are going to decide you're just trying to troll. You and I both know I can't read your mind, so there's no possible way I could know you'd bought it recently.

Do you know if Rockbox has ever previously been installed on the player, or what official firmware version it is currently running?
Title: Re: Ver. 3 Don't Do Anything On Recorder 20.
Post by: dreamlayers on October 11, 2008, 09:35:15 AM
I remember the original jukebox (not recorder) had some bug causing the firmware file in the root directory to not be recognized sometimes.  It was as if certain directory entries weren't checked.  I remember putting in other files there as filler to get it recognized.  I can't remember if I put them in before or after putting in the firmware.