Rockbox Technical Forums

Installation / Removal => Manual Installation => Archos - Installation/Removal/Flashing => Topic started by: mcf57 on August 16, 2008, 07:14:24 PM

Title: running autodetection tool for Archos Jukebox 20
Post by: mcf57 on August 16, 2008, 07:14:24 PM
I am trying to determine if my Archos Jukebox 20 Player/recorder is compatible with Rockbox. It was suggested that I run the auto-detection utility.

I tried running the autodetection utility and it didn't find anything. Does that mean I definitely don't have a compatible player or could I possibly have a setting incorrect. I simply picked the drive letter my Archos shows up as (Drive I: in this case) and then I selected 'autodetect'. Is that it?

I did notice there are several in the list that could be mine. Mine doesn't have an FM radio so I was able to eliminate 2 of them.  I'm thinking it could be one of the following:


I'm assuming the '6/10/15/20' is referring to drive size, right? If so, are these flash drive models or hard drive based models. If the later, then I guess I can eliminate them too cause my Jukebox is definitely a hard drive based model.

One other thing. My Jukebox 20 has an LCD type screen. Not real fancy so I'm thinking it may not be upgradeable because of this too.
Any thoughts?
Title: Re: running autodetection tool for Archos Jukebox 20
Post by: bluebrother on August 17, 2008, 03:38:37 AM
I tried running the autodetection utility and it didn't find anything. Does that mean I definitely don't have a compatible player or could I possibly have a setting incorrect. I simply picked the drive letter my Archos shows up as (Drive I: in this case) and then I selected 'autodetect'. Is that it?
You don't have to select the drive letter -- autodetection will discard you selection anyway.

Quote
I'm assuming the '6/10/15/20' is referring to drive size, right? If so, are these flash drive models or hard drive based models.
Yes. The Archos Jukebox was never available with flash memory (it hit the marked before flash drives became common). You might want to check the images at  http://build.rockbox.org/ too.

Quote
One other thing. My Jukebox 20 has an LCD type screen. Not real fancy so I'm thinking it may not be upgradeable because of this too.
Not exactly sure what you mean by LCD type, but this doesn't tell anything.
Title: Re: running autodetection tool for Archos Jukebox 20
Post by: aspartam on August 17, 2008, 01:51:57 PM
Quote
Jukebox Recorder 6/10/15/20 (with 8MiB memory)

I disbelieve that you have got this recorder, because the 8MB Ram is a homemade modification that was never manufactured by Archos.
Title: Re: running autodetection tool for Archos Jukebox 20
Post by: mcf57 on August 17, 2008, 06:01:54 PM
OK, if any, I have pretty much narrowed it down to the Archos Recorder v1. However, the website picture has the unit blue and mine is grey based. Does this matter?  All I know is that its pretty old and NOT the Recorder v2.

The only other indication of what model it may be is on the back where it has JBR20101. Is this a model number of some sort? I do also know that when it loads, it appears to be loading OS version 1.28 as it says this on the screen. Any other way of trying to figure it out? I would be tempted to run the auto install utility on my unit, but I don't want to accidently brick it and make it TOTALLY useless.

Title: Re: running autodetection tool for Archos Jukebox 20
Post by: aspartam on August 18, 2008, 04:39:47 AM
The JBR v1 was manufactured in two colors (blue & black rubber protectors) And it doesn't matter what color you have.
The OS version 1.28 is the latest one by Archos I think and it doens'n matter either.

Install the Rockbox manually if the automatical installation doesn't work.
You just have to copy the the ".rockbox" folder and the "ajbrec.ajz" file directly into I:\ and that's it.

PS: JBR20101 ist the "Jukebox Recorder 20"
Title: Re: running autodetection tool for Archos Jukebox 20
Post by: mcf57 on August 19, 2008, 10:43:49 AM
OK, great. So if it works, it will load the Rockbox interface. If it doesn't work, it just won't load them and load it as normal, right?

If for some reason it hangs up after copying the ".rockbox" and "ajbrec.ajz" files as suggested, can I simply remove them? Or do I maybe need to first make backup copies of some files first & these backup copies will be loaded back on to put it back to its orginal state if there is a problem?
Title: Re: running autodetection tool for Archos Jukebox 20
Post by: LambdaCalculus on August 19, 2008, 11:01:32 AM
Make a copy of the original "ajbrec.ajz" file before installing Rockbox, just in case you need to return to the original firmware.