Rockbox Technical Forums

Rockbox General => Rockbox General Discussion => Topic started by: astro2 on August 13, 2008, 03:54:18 AM

Title: new rockbox user
Post by: astro2 on August 13, 2008, 03:54:18 AM
just followed a guide to install this on youtube so i can play gameboy games on it

questions

1. why are the games so slow?? is the cpu/memory that bad?
2. with this can i bypass itunes and directly copy music over?
3. do i update to new firmware or codecs to play newer media files? as a first time user i've noticed that it can play mpeg files but some other files aren't recognised,

4. if i'm in image mode how the heck do i exit back into menu mode without holding play and 'shutting down'?
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: nls on August 13, 2008, 04:12:54 AM
0. Welcome!  :)

1. yes
2. yes
3. You have all the media support that is available in rockbox already installed if you installed a recent build, new format support is not added on a regular basis.
4. Check out te manual, see the link called "manual" linked on the left side of every page on rockbox.org
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: LambdaCalculus on August 13, 2008, 05:41:45 AM
just followed a guide to install this on youtube so i can play gameboy games on it

Next time, use the manual to install, not some random YouTube video.
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: soap on August 13, 2008, 06:26:02 AM
just followed a guide to install this on youtube so i can play gameboy games on it

questions

1. why are the games so slow?? is the cpu/memory that bad?
You have questions, we have expectations:
1. - At least tell us what device you have installed the Rockbox software on.  An iPod Video is much slower playing many games than an iPod Nano.
Quote
2. with this can i bypass itunes and directly copy music over?
2. - Here you imply you have an iPod.  The question though is something you could have learned had you read the manual, or even done a basic search of the forums.  Both are activities you agreed to do before asking questions when you signed up for the forums.
Quote
3. do i update to new firmware or codecs to play newer media files? as a first time user i've noticed that it can play mpeg files but some other files aren't recognised,
3. - Once again I'm left to assume you are referring to http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/view/Main/PluginMpegplayer.  Again you are expected to perform a minimal amount of research (this topic is also covered in the manual) before posting here. 
Quote
4. if i'm in image mode how the heck do i exit back into menu mode without holding play and 'shutting down'?
4. - Search the forums and manual before posting questions here again, please.
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: astro2 on August 13, 2008, 07:45:17 AM
just followed a guide to install this on youtube so i can play gameboy games on it

Next time, use the manual to install, not some random YouTube video.

dude i didn't even know about the program before today dude, its impossible to do what you just aaid i.e "use the manual to install, not some random youtube video"

because i recently installed some hacked ipod games, i wanted something more interesting i.e emulators, as the ipod games are crap, i saw mario bros on youtube so i tried the mod, i never knew about its full potential so you can see my dillemma

as for the moderator below:

1. i thought i already stated it was an ipod video, if not then i must've forgot, no biggy, people make mistakes (its a ipod video 80gb)

2. yeah yeah read the rules, i'm sure every new person has gotten some moderator or admin shove the rules and policy in their faces on most sites (except for the nicer admins who welcome people instead), and i knew it would happen to me

i have read it, i have done some searching, but in the end i'm only human, and taking advange of technology, if i was going to filter a bunch of crap i knew nothing about, I would be like channeling through info like a dictionary, it was alot easier to just  blatantly ask it, and the forum could be kept alive with other similar questions.

the search feature is not easily used on this site, it pops up with threads bunched up with small texts, it would give ANYONE a headache.

p.s thanks to the person who answer my questions you rock  ;D ;D
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: bluebrother on August 13, 2008, 12:14:29 PM
dude i didn't even know about the program before today dude, its impossible to do what you just aaid i.e "use the manual to install, not some random youtube video"
well, you found these forums, right? Do they have a "Documentation" section on the left?

Quote
2. yeah yeah read the rules, i'm sure every new person has gotten some moderator or admin shove the rules and policy in their faces on most sites
It's not "yeah yeah", it's "yes" :D. But seriously, the rules are enforced on these forums. You'd better read them first, and for most people it's offending if you simply ignore the rules they have set up (and published!). This is nothing special here -- and you really expect people you offended to help you?

Quote
it was alot easier to just  blatantly ask it, and the forum could be kept alive with other similar questions.
These are technical forums. The forums could be drowned easily with other similar questions. Period.

Quote
the search feature is not easily used on this site, it pops up with threads bunched up with small texts, it would give ANYONE a headache.
Try google.
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: MarcGuay on August 13, 2008, 12:36:43 PM
the search feature is not easily used on this site, it pops up with threads bunched up with small texts, it would give ANYONE a headache.

Using the search box in the left column while on the forums pages will search them using google instead of the Simple Machines engine.
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: astro2 on August 15, 2008, 08:46:51 AM
hey, since your online and a 'expert' XD (MarcGuay)

can you tell me if this program is worth it?

i mean do i lose the ability to boost the volume on songs that are too quiet on the mp3 players (downside of mp3 players)  i.e ipod video?

also are there bugs? was playing with themes then suddenly the screen went all weird

if i don't like it later on, can i remove it?

i originally put it on due to a youtube vid that said i can play emulated games, the CPU is super slow making it pointless to have the rockbox

Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: GodEater on August 15, 2008, 10:10:53 AM
Whether it's "worth it" or not is an entirely subjective question, and of course you're asking very biased people. We wouldn't be here if we didn't think so. However, no-one's out to make you use it - if you don't like - you don't have to. The manual includes full instructions on how to uninstall it again.

In fact, the answer to most of your questions is to be found in the manual.

Yes there are bugs - if people report them to us, we even try to fix them.
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: matt0001 on August 16, 2008, 09:33:28 PM
Wow, I've been looking through the forum in anticipation of installing Rockbox, but the condescending attitude of the moderators here is really turning me off. Can't you all just answer questions? Or direct people to where they can find information without acting like it's a serious imposition.

Instead of "2. - Here you imply you have an iPod.  The question though is something you could have learned had you read the manual, or even done a basic search of the forums.  Both are activities you agreed to do before asking questions when you signed up for the forums," why not just say "Our manual has the answers to most of you questions. You can find it here."

I mean, really, why do you have to be a bunch of Dick Nixons when answering questions?
I know this is a volunteer project. I know time is limited. I know sometimes people ask really asinine questions. (I am a reference librarian at a public library, believe me I totally know how asinine people can get.) But you're doing yourselves a disservice by being so rude. I'll probably go ahead and install Rockbox anyway, but I won't be recommending it to anyone else solely because of the way treat your forum members.
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: Llorean on August 16, 2008, 10:40:44 PM
Which would you prefer:

1) Help where we expect people to actually abide by the agreement they gave us when they signed up for the forum.

2) No help at all.

I'm sorry if we expect people to actually be telling us the truth, but we do, and that's the way it is. It *is* a volunteer operation and frankly I don't see you stepping up and volunteering to provide support in our stead. Instead you're telling us how to do it from the sidelines.

Basically put up or shut up. If you think it can be done better you can step in and start providing answers. Anyone can. As mentioned previously it's a volunteer op. And as has been mentioned above, most of the people who get told off simply get told to look in the manual. You mentioned we should tell them where to find the information, but seem to find we're not specific enough. Since the answers ARE in the manual, you could then look them up and provide a more specific answer.

How's that sound? You get to right the wrongs you seem so intent to point out?
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: cool_walking_ on August 16, 2008, 10:48:49 PM
I'll probably go ahead and install Rockbox anyway, but I won't be recommending it to anyone else solely because of the way treat your forum members.

That seems pretty stupid to me.  You're not getting back at anyone by keeping Rockbox to yourself.  Instead, you're depriving your friend of an awesome piece of software because you are easily offended.
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: bluebrother on August 17, 2008, 03:44:27 AM
Instead of "2. - Here you imply you have an iPod.  The question though is something you could have learned had you read the manual, or even done a basic search of the forums.  Both are activities you agreed to do before asking questions when you signed up for the forums," why not just say "Our manual has the answers to most of you questions. You can find it here."
So you're basically telling we should provide less help by putting less specific answers? This sounds absolutely contraproductive to me, and I'm absolutely sure (if we do) people will complain us being too unspecific.  :o
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: astro2 on August 20, 2008, 02:25:04 AM
Whether it's "worth it" or not is an entirely subjective question, and of course you're asking very biased people. We wouldn't be here if we didn't think so. However, no-one's out to make you use it - if you don't like - you don't have to. The manual includes full instructions on how to uninstall it again.

In fact, the answer to most of your questions is to be found in the manual.

Yes there are bugs - if people report them to us, we even try to fix them.

true i can just look in the manual but this topic is open so why not just keep asking, upon that why keep directing people to the manual, if so why have a forum?

yes its true answers given would be biased, but if its good i'm sure you could've given some positive points you yourself liked

finally I find it a little pointless to point out useless stuff and type irrelevant words on the forum that some people do, when that time used to make a point or complain could've been used to help, I mean its just as bad as creating a topic, have people view it, and have "0" peeps answer the questions

btw rockbox must be a super new project as I played with the background and the screen screwed up.
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: LinusN on August 20, 2008, 03:09:26 AM
btw rockbox must be a super new project as I played with the background and the screen screwed up.
In some respects it is. The themes and the graphic WPS customization features are fairly recent, and are being worked on. Also, Rockbox is not very fault tolerant in all cases.

This is why we need users to file bug reports for such problems, so we can fix them.
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: cool_walking_ on August 20, 2008, 03:26:29 AM
yes its true answers given would be biased, but if its good i'm sure you could've given some positive points you yourself liked
See http://rockbox.org/wiki/WhyRockbox (when rockbox.org comes back up).

Quote
finally I find it a little pointless to point out useless stuff and type irrelevant words on the forum that some people do, when that time used to make a point or complain could've been used to help
It's the old "teach a man to fish" adage.  Teach people to read the documentation so they don't keep asking already-answered questions.
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: Llorean on August 20, 2008, 06:04:46 AM
why have a forum?
For the people who've read the documentation and have a question it doesn't answer.

The forum has guidelines and it even mentions this fact. You agree to read them during registration. We, being the naive folk that we are, not only expect you to have been truthful about this, but will hold you to this agreement. Not to worry though, we're happy to let you back out of the agreement at any time and only ask that you return what we gave you in exchange for it. We're very easygoing in that respect.
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: astro2 on August 21, 2008, 08:48:21 AM
well good luck, i'd help but i don't know how to program  ;D
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: astro2 on September 19, 2008, 09:44:13 PM
thanks for the reply, your too kind, we need more cool admins like you ;D

also i just wanted to ask if there can be an option for quick access to play music, or AT LEAST have it as the first option on the rockbox screen

because i'm not a fan of ipods, but ipod videos are ultra cheap with high hdd because of the release of the itouch so i got one for my car

iT use to be quick shutdown and quick start when using the ipod

but now i find myself having to wait for ages to boot up, THEN i go to the files option THEN open a sepecific folder for the song i want, it becomes a hassle in the car

not to mention to conserve energy i use to hold play/pause to shut down, but if i do it for rockbox it just closes down the current screens FINALLY it takes its time to shutdown

any ideas?

btw another crap thing is when i DO go to the files option my "SONGS" folder is at the bottom, anyway to make it default so its at the top?

p.s i did find rockbox annoying at first but i think you guys are onto something good
pps i hate reading the manual ;D ;D

Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: Zardoz on September 20, 2008, 01:37:47 AM
Quote
also i just wanted to ask if there can be an option for quick access to play music, or AT LEAST have it as the first option on the rockbox screen

There is a setting in rockbox to make the playback screen come up first. Go to settings
>General settings>System>Start Screen>Resume Playback

Quote
because i'm not a fan of ipods, but ipod videos are ultra cheap with high hdd because of the release of the itouch so i got one for my car
iT use to be quick shutdown and quick start when using the ipod. but now i find myself having to wait for ages to boot up, THEN i go to the files option THEN open a sepecific folder for the song i want, it becomes a hassle in the car

not to mention to conserve energy i use to hold play/pause to shut down, but if i do it for rockbox it just closes down the current screens FINALLY it takes its time to shutdown

any ideas?

btw another crap thing is when i DO go to the files option my "SONGS" folder is at the bottom, anyway to make it default so its at the top?

p.s i did find rockbox annoying at first but i think you guys are onto something good
pps i hate reading the manual ;D ;D



I recommend you use and abuse Rockbox but if
Quote
iT use to be quick shutdown and quick start when using the ipod
and you have mostly mp3 or AAC, then use the original bits of the ipod!!??? no need for Rockbox! It's an OPTION foooo not an OBLIGATION!

Quote
btw another crap thing is when i DO go to the files option my "SONGS" folder is at the bottom, anyway to make it default so its at the top?


maybe rename it ++Songs so it's at the top

Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: AlexP on September 20, 2008, 04:27:17 AM
I recommend you use and abuse Rockbox but if
Quote
iT use to be quick shutdown and quick start when using the ipod
and you have mostly mp3 or AAC, then use the original bits of the ipod!!??? no need for Rockbox! It's an OPTION foooo not an OBLIGATION!

Because of all the other advantages?  Gapless, replaygain, equalizer, no need to use itunes, .....

Rockbox is much more than 'just' some additional codecs.
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: Zardoz on September 20, 2008, 03:36:44 PM
All those too  8)
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: astro2 on September 21, 2008, 03:59:35 AM
my ipod just died i think, i hope rockbox wasn't the culprit


UPDATE: Ok i tried middle button and play/pause button to hard reset nothing happened even tried menu AND middle button (i'm sure that isn't a actual option but i was desperate)

so i thought thats it, the ipods dead so screw it i'll just gamble and hope for a miracle.

I pressed ALL THE BUTTONS, some how it reset it self, but now rockbox is gone and its back to normal ipod settings (which is weird but at least my tracklists are still there)

anyone know what happened? any IT geniuses with a answer?? ??? ???
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: bluebrother on September 21, 2008, 04:41:53 AM
UPDATE: Ok i tried middle button and play/pause button to hard reset nothing happened even tried menu AND middle button (i'm sure that isn't a actual option but i was desperate)
Reset is Menu + Select, not Play + Select (the latter is for entering emergency disc mode after a reset).
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: astro2 on September 21, 2008, 05:52:58 AM
um thanks, heh i feel silly but still it doesn't explain why i had a black screen and it wouldn't even turn on

and now rockbox is gone

although i kinda miss my old ipod format, i'm also curious to why rockbox fades out and fades in when pausing when playing music, can you change this in the options menu?
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: bluebrother on September 21, 2008, 08:04:23 AM
although i kinda miss my old ipod format, i'm also curious to why rockbox fades out and fades in when pausing when playing music, can you change this in the options menu?
Please check the manual. Or look for "fade on stop / pause" in the settings. But please do your homework before asking (hey, you agreed on checking the documentation before asking when signing up to these forums ...)
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: Febs on September 21, 2008, 06:50:43 PM
and now rockbox is gone

Try resetting the iPod using the proper key combination (Menu + Select).  What happens?
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: astro2 on September 21, 2008, 10:05:49 PM
although i kinda miss my old ipod format, i'm also curious to why rockbox fades out and fades in when pausing when playing music, can you change this in the options menu?
Please check the manual. Or look for "fade on stop / pause" in the settings. But please do your homework before asking (hey, you agreed on checking the documentation before asking when signing up to these forums ...)

whatever man, I was just adding my 2 cents, unless you felt insulted on how i was wondering why there was a black screen, it wouldn't turn on, no sounds, no loading/booting sounds, virtual dead, then when hard resetted it started up but with no rockbox

I had a feeling there might be an option to fade in/ fade out of pausing songs, on the other hand maybe (thoughts from a guy who knows nothing about programming) maybe those extra poinless codes are helping in contributing to glitches and bugs

and obviously no i'm not saying this to be negative or insulting, but it'd be a rare for a batch or group of people who want or need it, i mean if you got busy and needed to pause a song i'm sure they don't go "Oh geez i gotta get that phone, *pause* (enjoy the music fade) then get back to it later as it fades in" i'm sure they want it to just STOP.

although it could be just me, anyways thanks for your reply

NOTE: the ipod wouldn't even recharge or have connectivity screen when it was black
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: Zardoz on September 21, 2008, 10:58:06 PM
Quote
NOTE: the ipod wouldn't even recharge or have connectivity screen when it was black
Sounds like the battery ran down completely, which happens. (Happened to me a few times.)

Quote
I had a feeling there might be an option to fade in/ fade out of pausing songs, on the other hand maybe (thoughts from a guy who knows nothing about programming) maybe those extra poinless codes are helping in contributing to glitches and bugs
It's just an option you can turn on or off. I think it's nice to have the choice.

Quote
i mean if you got busy and needed to pause a song i'm sure they don't go "Oh geez i gotta get that phone, *pause* (enjoy the music fade) then get back to it later as it fades in" i'm sure they want it to just STOP.
Hahaha that's a funny scenario, nicely described!! But all you got to do is turn it off in Playback Settings>Fade on Stop/Pause

Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: Febs on September 22, 2008, 05:39:16 AM
whatever man, I was just adding my 2 cents, unless you felt insulted on how i was wondering why there was a black screen, it wouldn't turn on, no sounds, no loading/booting sounds, virtual dead, then when hard resetted it started up but with no rockbox

You didn't respond to my question.  What happens if you reset the iPod again using the correct key combination?

Quote
NOTE: the ipod wouldn't even recharge or have connectivity screen when it was black

This is a well-documented bug in the iPod software.  It is not specifically Rockbox related.
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: Chronon on September 22, 2008, 12:15:21 PM
whatever man, I was just adding my 2 cents, unless you felt insulted on how i was wondering why there was a black screen, it wouldn't turn on, no sounds, no loading/booting sounds, virtual dead, then when hard resetted it started up but with no rockbox

You didn't respond to my question.  What happens if you reset the iPod again using the correct key combination?

The bootloader will boot Apple's firmware if you hold the Menu button during the boot sequence.  This is a probable explanation for why you found yourself in the Apple firmware.
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: astro2 on October 04, 2008, 11:01:02 AM
its a possibility, anyhow

I was wondering if i'm use to playlists like itunes and i rarely put fullalbums so that renders database pointless should i just use 'rockbox's playlist'?

also if i don't select save current playlist why does it still stay in ipods memory of what the list is?upon that when i select create playlist it absorbed EVERYTHING from sound clips from games to video files and song files...whats with that option?

kinda same to database option too, it scans for awhile if it senses data has changed i believe, and i was playing with options (as i'm still learning) and i clicked on 'untagged' on the database options and it scanned for ages with small sound clips and when i tried to exit it scanned some more, it says press play/pause to exit and it keeps scanning.
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: Chronon on October 04, 2008, 01:35:24 PM
What does an absence of full albums have to do with the usefulness of the database?  Playlists can be a good way to manage your music, but this kind of thing is all user choice.  Rockbox gives a number of ways to access and manage your music.  The details of how you do it are up to you.

The current playlist is still in RAM even if you don't save it. 

upon that when i select create playlist it absorbed EVERYTHING from sound clips from games to video files and song files...whats with that option?

kinda same to database option too, it scans for awhile if it senses data has changed i believe, and i was playing with options (as i'm still learning) and i clicked on 'untagged' on the database options and it scanned for ages with small sound clips and when i tried to exit it scanned some more, it says press play/pause to exit and it keeps scanning.

I have no idea what you did to create the playlist, so there's no way I can really comment about that.

You seem to have a lot of untagged audio clips on your player.  I'm not sure about why it would take a long time when you try to view the untagged files.
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: astro2 on October 05, 2008, 03:18:44 AM
i click on create playlist on itunes and i make multiple playlists, thats how i create them

i just want it to appear on my ipod when i choose music

the reason for this is i can avoid replacing the songs with dragn drop method, the songs are already on there using itunes, so to save time i just want them to appear, and by using a playlist method

otherwise i have to find out what i put in it how they're arrange then recopy them over in folders. If i can put over a playlist (i.e m3u) it will appear on rockbox, and in the way i sorted them out

do you know why they don't appear on the ipod playlist to m3u scans when i use the program?
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: Llorean on October 05, 2008, 03:26:04 AM
What do you mean by "the program"?

And iTunes playlists are not M3Us.
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: astro2 on October 05, 2008, 05:19:01 AM
i'm pretty sure i never said itunes playlist were m3us, anyways..

ok let me start again

* i have songs that i put on from itunes
* to save my time i'm not gonna retransfer them over to the music device (eg copy and paste)
* so the quickest way is the make rockbox remember my itunes playlist
* i heard a way to do that is, is to convert itunes playlist to m3u and then rockbox can tead it

*now i heard some admin/mod/developer (can't remember who) say there are 3rd party software to do this, i got my hands on a program, it is called "iTunesExportUI.exe" i didn't mention the program name because i thought it was irrelevant since eitherways i'm still trying to convert ipod playlists to m3us

* my ipod displays playlists and i want those displayed on my rockbox, i'm don't know enough to continue the next step, do i click on some save option on itunes so its saves everything into a single xml then convert it to a m3u??
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: Llorean on October 05, 2008, 06:25:43 AM
I'm sorry I thought you meant iTunes playlists were M3Us. Your general sentence structure can make it quite difficult to follow what you're saying at times. It would really help if you used periods where they belong instead of a long string of commas. It makes it very difficult to distinguish when you're beginning a new thought, or when I'm supposed to associate it with the previous part of the "sentence."

Any software to convert iTunes playlist to M3Us is unofficial, and any problems you're having with it should be addressed to the author (as these forums are for questions specifically about Rockbox, and while you're using Rockbox with the M3Us later, it's very similar to how we don't provide a forum for discussion on how to rip CDs even though you use the output of that in Rockbox).
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: Chronon on October 05, 2008, 12:30:54 PM
Retransferring your music is also irrelevant to whether you can use your previously created playlists.  Rockbox can still play all of the DRM-free music on your iPod.  You can argue that you find using your iTunes playlists useful, but this in no way suggests that you need to retransfer your files in order for Rockbox to use them.

As Llorean said, the particular process of converting to standard .m3u playlists should be taken up with the author of a tool that does this.  I have seen several such tools in a casual Google search in the past.
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: astro2 on October 15, 2008, 09:48:06 AM
i'm aware that rockbox can detect the music already on the ipod even if they have been through itunes (i.e security) however it can' t detect the original ipod playlist

the playlist is stored on the ipod and i can't export it, was just wanting some help which i'd thought i'd ask irregardless of it being a rockbox forum

i mean if it can't read the original playlist then YES it would virtually be like me copying music over again, otherwise i'd be a giant mess

in anycase you don't need to reply because i'm either going to go back to original apple firmware OR i'll download the songs off the ipod and place them in folders for rockbox to access
Title: Re: new rockbox user
Post by: saratoga on October 15, 2008, 09:50:34 AM
i mean if it can't read the original playlist then YES it would virtually be like me copying music over again, otherwise i'd be a giant mess


Not true.  You could convert the original playlist to m3u, as repeatedly discussed in this thread.