Rockbox Technical Forums

Rockbox Development => New Ports => Topic started by: xiion on May 15, 2008, 03:59:13 PM

Title: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: xiion on May 15, 2008, 03:59:13 PM
I think this device deserves rockbox on  it.

its got alot of potential, seeing as ithas a nice LCD screen, can play video, radio, bluetooth, Rhapsody, Music, and much more, but it also is very limited in its sound features. but if rockbox is ported to it (if it is ever considered) i feel that the "fullSound" Feature, should be kept, simply because it is AMAZING in quality. but yeah... lets get this ported, ya?

UPDATE:
found the firmware files, the player file, and a helpful info file that can be modified to direct the bios to load up a different player/firmware, such as rockbox. as soon as i get the files uploaded, i will find someone interested that can help, as i am not very good with decrypting anything or messing with those kinds of files.
Title: Re: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: LambdaCalculus on May 15, 2008, 04:47:01 PM
http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/view/Main/NewPort
Title: Re: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: scorche on May 17, 2008, 09:15:01 PM
I think this device deserves rockbox on  it.

What device doesn't? ;)

Quote
... but if rockbox is ported to it (if it is ever considered) i feel that the "fullSound" Feature, should be kept...

How would we "keep" something? Rockbox is not a modification of the existing firmware.  It is a complete replacement firmware that must be ported to the device and as such, we would have to implement whatever "fullsound" is into Rockbox.
Title: Re: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: xiion on May 19, 2008, 04:56:44 PM
Full Sound is Philips version of blueray's Video upscaling, but instead is an audio upscaler.

which makes your music sound "decrapified."
im working on finding a way to let it show me the firmware, because it isnt in any of the hidden folders, and there are no system files. just empty folders (which might be a .tar archive since it has doen that to me before EX: transfered a .gz or .tar linux file to my xbox, and it turned into an empty folder.)
so im still messing with the device to try and find the firmware and get it into an mi4 file if not done already by the manufacturers.
Title: Re: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: rottenzombie on April 05, 2010, 02:27:48 PM
So I want to do some work on this one. I got the SA5285. Already read some wikis and stuff. I want to open it and scan the pcb but I don't know how to open the player without breaking it. I looked at it, I can lift the back up a bit but only on one side. and I don't want to use blunt force and break something. I looked on the internet and didn't find anything. then I saw the wiki page for the 9200 on here and it looks a bit similar to mine. maybe I can open it the same way that the person did who opened the 9200.
Anyone got any tips on how to open it safely? of course it's my responsibility...
thanks.
Title: Re: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: Laci on April 05, 2010, 03:51:01 PM
i got an 5285 (without bluetooth). You can open it with a little screwdriver in the hole at the right botton. ive done it, but you cant see much. sorry for my english.
Title: Re: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: rottenzombie on April 05, 2010, 04:09:59 PM
yeah I opened the case a bit at the top. trying to remove the back but when I tried to pull it apart it sounded like it was glued together and stuff so I didn't go further. I really don't want to break it.
Title: Re: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: Laci on April 05, 2010, 04:17:43 PM
it is glued in the bottom, but you can easily remove the cover and the glue will stay there.

PS: you can go into a production test mode. shut down the device, hold vol up and vol down and power it on.
Title: Re: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: rottenzombie on April 05, 2010, 05:24:11 PM
I'll try again tomorrow.
thanks man production test mode is cool...do you know any more things like that?
Title: Re: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: Laci on April 05, 2010, 05:32:30 PM
yes. turn it off, hold the menu key (the one with the turning arrow) and power the device on. now it is in a direct usb drive mode, not the strange default mode.
Title: Re: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: rottenzombie on April 07, 2010, 09:38:21 AM
thanks for your tips laci.
guys this is how far I am right now(couldn't scan so I made a pic but it's good enough):
http://imgur.com/swBUA.jpg (http://imgur.com/swBUA.jpg)
do I need to open it further and get pics of the whole thing or is this enough? If I have to I'll do it...

some info about the cpu here:
http://csselectronic.com/telechips/tcc8300/

I couldn't find anything about the other components yet, I'll probably have to remove that white sticker too right?

I've never done anything like this but I want to learn how to do it. I'm willing to read a lot too, just need some little help to get started.
Title: Re: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: saratoga on April 07, 2010, 09:46:28 AM
I couldn't find anything about the other components yet, I'll probably have to remove that white sticker too right?

Bottom right is an SDRAM chip, left side is a NAND flash memory chip. 

You should create a wiki page with this info on it.
Title: Re: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: rottenzombie on April 07, 2010, 02:08:33 PM
thanks saratoga. I did that:
http://www.rockbox.org/wiki/GoGearSA5285

anything more to add right now? I linked the page in the pre-development section. I'll try to open the player a bit more and get more data.
Title: Re: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: saratoga on April 11, 2010, 03:22:10 PM
Try and figure out how firmware updates work.   Theres a lot of TCC chips that already have rockbox ports.  Maybe one of them has already figured out how to update the firmware to hacked binary on your player?  If not, try and figure out whats different about this one. 
Title: Re: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: ATTIKIT on April 27, 2010, 01:25:28 PM
Try and figure out how firmware updates work.   Theres a lot of TCC chips that already have rockbox ports.  Maybe one of them has already figured out how to update the firmware to hacked binary on your player?  If not, try and figure out whats different about this one. 


I dont know if this helps but on the Go Gear Vibe /17.Firmware updates work with the Device manager and if you go to were the app installed there should be all the files of the FW in the firmware folder at least with the Vibe /17 I have not tried this but you can tell the device manager to not check for updates and then if you click update I think it pulls the files from that folder and puts them on the device maybe.It seems to work for my player
Title: Re: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: rottenzombie on April 28, 2010, 06:10:41 AM
ATTIKIT you're right, thank you. there's a firmware.dat and a player.rom. what is the player.rom for?
I'm currently a bit busy, but maybe this helps somehow. I hope I can do more work on this soon even though I'm a great noob  ;D so I'll need a lot of tips  :-\

there's also an info.dat file with the following text:
Quote
[FIRMWARE]
FWTYPE=PH0C
MAJORVER=6
MIDVER=20
MINORVER=0
PRODUCTNUMBER=2
[MSC_NORMAL]
MSC_NORMAL_COUNT=1
MSC_NORMAL_FILE_0=firmware.dat
MSC_NORMAL_DESTINATION_0=\CONFIG\
[MTP_NORMAL]
MTP_NORMAL_COUNT=1
MTP_NORMAL_FILE_0=firmware.dat
MTP_NORMAL_DESTINATION_0=\CONFIG\

[Host Section]
Rom File Name=player.rom
Sample File Path=Sample
USB Timeout Value=5000
USB Ping Timeout Value=300
[Target Section]
CPU TYPE=1
SDRAM Index=6
Use Custom SDCFG=0
Custom SDCFG=0x00000000
Use Custom Base=0
Custom Base=0x00000000
Use Target Sequence=0
Target Sequence=
[ETC]
Download Option=0x00
Title: Re: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: ATTIKIT on April 28, 2010, 09:45:01 AM
ATTIKIT you're right, thank you. there's a firmware.dat and a player.rom. what is the player.rom for?
I'm currently a bit busy, but maybe this helps somehow. I hope I can do more work on this soon even though I'm a great noob  ;D so I'll need a lot of tips  :-\

there's also an info.dat file with the following text:
Quote
[FIRMWARE]
FWTYPE=PH0C
MAJORVER=6
MIDVER=20
MINORVER=0
PRODUCTNUMBER=2
[MSC_NORMAL]
MSC_NORMAL_COUNT=1
MSC_NORMAL_FILE_0=firmware.dat
MSC_NORMAL_DESTINATION_0=\CONFIG\
[MTP_NORMAL]
MTP_NORMAL_COUNT=1
MTP_NORMAL_FILE_0=firmware.dat
MTP_NORMAL_DESTINATION_0=\CONFIG\

[Host Section]
Rom File Name=player.rom
Sample File Path=Sample
USB Timeout Value=5000
USB Ping Timeout Value=300
[Target Section]
CPU TYPE=1
SDRAM Index=6
Use Custom SDCFG=0
Custom SDCFG=0x00000000
Use Custom Base=0
Custom Base=0x00000000
Use Target Sequence=0
Target Sequence=
[ETC]
Download Option=0x00

lol I might have to buy this player to help this port were can I get this player do you have a link please?
Title: Re: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: ishottuify on April 30, 2010, 05:45:49 PM
where do you get the player.rom and firmware.dat ...?
if it's from the vibe/17 firmware update it's no good.
attikit, what country do you live in...?
i can get you a refurbished one depending onn location
Title: Re: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: Laci on May 01, 2010, 05:29:32 AM
where do you get the player.rom and firmware.dat ...?
install Device manager for 52xx, then look in the directories where its installed. There is one called "Firmware"
Title: Re: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: ishottuify on May 01, 2010, 02:26:45 PM
a .rom file extension is a read only memory image file
i think attakit is right when he said that the firmware version upgrade is pulled from that directory
Title: Re: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: rottenzombie on May 02, 2010, 04:12:30 AM
Laci is right...it's not from the vibe it's from the SA5285(our player). I can upload the files somewhere if you want.
ATTIKIT, it's really cool that you want to help. I'm quite busy with studying right now but if you tell me what to do I think I can make it. I can do some programming too, although I mostly do stuff in java right now(I'm studying CS too). so I'm not totally a noob  ;D Just never done ports or anything like that, but it's very interesting.
Title: Re: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: ishottuify on May 02, 2010, 07:28:08 AM
I have a sa5245, which is the 4gb version of what you have rottenzombie.
I'll help out here too but i'm noobish at programming :-[
Would like to give it a shot though  :)
what should i be doing next...?
any and all ideas plz  ;D
Title: Re: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: ATTIKIT on May 03, 2010, 02:19:02 PM
Laci is right...it's not from the vibe it's from the SA5285(our player). I can upload the files somewhere if you want.
ATTIKIT, it's really cool that you want to help. I'm quite busy with studying right now but if you tell me what to do I think I can make it. I can do some programming too, although I mostly do stuff in java right now(I'm studying CS too). so I'm not totally a noob  ;D Just never done ports or anything like that, but it's very interesting.


Well I can't port rockbox to a player I dont own so I live in the U.S and I am a programmer in C# so...
Title: Re: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: ishottuify on May 04, 2010, 07:18:25 PM
i have updated the wiki page to also comply with sa5245 which is very similar to sa5285 except for the gb difference (obviously).
Title: Re: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: rottenzombie on May 06, 2010, 01:34:50 PM
@ishottuify
nice, the more the merrier :D
@ATTIKIT
you can buy a refurbished version in this amazon shop: http://www.amazon.com/shops/cphdeals
couldn't you just tell us what to do next? I wanted to get a small screwdriver so I can deconstruct the player a little further and get more info on the rest of the hardware...if that's needed.
Title: Re: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: ishottuify on May 06, 2010, 03:52:42 PM
i have updated the pcb picture rottenzombie
you don't need to take apart your player anymore  ;D
will update again when i figure out the lcd controller  :)

edit: managed to completly open the player and will update the wiki with pics.
@rottenzombie
be very careful not to damage the battery or pcb if you are still going to open up your player...
i had some close calls while opening mine   ;)

edit: posted pics will update with better labeled pics
Title: Re: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: rottenzombie on May 07, 2010, 06:58:15 AM
thanks...I guess the parts are the same(except of the ram), so I don't think I will have take apart my player too.
I think we're starting to go somewhere now. wish I had more time to work on this  >:(
Title: Re: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: Laci on May 07, 2010, 03:22:09 PM
@ishottuify: you have the model with bluetooth right?
I can see the icon of it.

btw: does rockbox support bluethooth?
Title: Re: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: ishottuify on May 07, 2010, 03:59:06 PM
after some investigation and help down at the irc, i was able to find out that the cirrus chip is probably the rtc. there is also some telechips code in svn but it is not tcc8300 (tcc77x and tcc780x). there is also the philips sa9200 directory which uses the same nand flash memory as ours.

@laci
rockbox does not support bluetooth as far as i know
Title: Re: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: Chronon on May 22, 2010, 06:17:53 PM
I can confirm that there is currently no  bluetooth-related code in Rockbox at the moment.
Title: Re: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: saratoga on May 22, 2010, 09:43:51 PM
If the bluetooth chip can take PCM audio, then it could probably be used like a normal DAC.  If it requires transcoding to SBC (a subband codec related to MP2), then its probably not going to be very easy to integrate into Rockbox. 
Title: Re: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: barul on January 31, 2011, 02:14:39 AM
Hi.
That's my 1st post on this forum, just to say that I've got a SA5295, and if this project could work, it's a very good thing :)

Has anyone got any news from it ?
Title: Re: Philips GoGear SA52xx
Post by: yapper on January 31, 2011, 04:05:57 AM
http://forums.rockbox.org/index.php/topic,21176.0.html (item 4)