Rockbox Technical Forums

Installation / Removal => Manual Installation => Toshiba - Installation/Removal => Topic started by: codigo on December 28, 2007, 02:50:34 AM

Title: gigabeat bootloader wont work
Post by: codigo on December 28, 2007, 02:50:34 AM
so i went to the http://download.rockbox.org/bootloader/gigabeat/ link and tried downloading it but it came out as a movie file and i searched other things on the same matter and i got a link that erased everything when i put it in my gigabeat an then gives me a black screen and says no system found on hdd error 00300060 if someone can give me a hand it doesnt really matter whichone i use i just want my mp3 player to work thank you
Title: Re: gigabeat bootloader wont work
Post by: rosco_pc on December 28, 2007, 03:46:21 AM
You need to use the bootloader from the rockbox site (it does not matter that it shows up as a movie file, just aslong as the file extension is .DAT), anything else is not really supported.

And following the installation instructions in either the manual (http://download.rockbox.org/manual/rockbox-gigabeatf/rockbox-buildch2.html#x4-60002)or the wiki (http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/view/Main/GigabeatFXPort#Installation_Instructions) to the letter should get you a working rockbox'd player (just don't try to make any shortcuts, download file from other sites, ...)
Title: Re: gigabeat bootloader wont work
Post by: Llorean on December 28, 2007, 02:46:27 PM
What do you mean by "it didn't work". What exactly did you do with it? The Sansa and iPod ones are installed VERY differently. For them you must run a program that installs the bootloader.
Title: Re: gigabeat bootloader wont work
Post by: Llorean on December 28, 2007, 03:00:17 PM
What do you mean, exactly. You just pasted a portion of the manual, yet you said you can't "find or work out" the very steps you pasted?

Do you mean you can't find the folders, or what?
Title: Re: gigabeat bootloader wont work
Post by: codigo on December 28, 2007, 03:16:37 PM
no i got the file from rockbox and i unziped it into the gigabeat then i downloaded the bootloader into my desktop to later move it i cant find the file i need to replace on my gigabeat i dont know if it also has to do with the fact that on my screen it says no system found on hdd...but i tried lookin for firmware to try to renew it and i found the latest one and when i plug it into the sub it goes straight to the gigabeat library but when i unplug it it says no system found on hdd so i find it odd
Title: Re: gigabeat bootloader wont work
Post by: Llorean on December 28, 2007, 03:18:19 PM
Okay, you need to un-break your Gigabeat first. You did something NOT from our instructions, and since you're not telling us what you did, it's nearly impossible for us to tell you how to fix it.
Title: Re: gigabeat bootloader wont work
Post by: codigo on December 31, 2007, 02:34:44 PM
its ok i fixed it thank you
Title: Re: gigabeat bootloader wont work
Post by: Nikias on January 28, 2008, 06:50:41 PM

its ok i fixed it thank you


Could you please explain how you fixed it? Because I'm having the same problem.
Title: Re: gigabeat bootloader wont work
Post by: Chronon on February 04, 2008, 03:44:11 PM
Check out this wiki page: http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/view/Main/GigabeatFXPort#Gigabeat_Recovery_Procedures
Title: Re: gigabeat bootloader wont work
Post by: Sydneyboy on February 08, 2008, 09:45:23 AM
Ok Noobie here,

I went to download the gigabeat bootloader from http://download.rockbox.org/bootloader/gigabeat/,however when I click on the FWIMG01.DAT file to download it it just opens the link with a page full of crap (well probably not crap). Any ideas on what this is and how do I down \load the bootloader?
Title: Re: gigabeat bootloader wont work
Post by: LambdaCalculus on February 08, 2008, 09:47:24 AM
Right click and pick "Save As..." or "Save Target As...", depending on your browser.
Title: Re: gigabeat bootloader wont work
Post by: Sydneyboy on February 08, 2008, 09:52:13 AM
Thanks for that ....who would have thought it was that easy!!!!