Rockbox Technical Forums

Installation / Removal => Manual Installation => Archos - Installation/Removal/Flashing => Topic started by: alzi on October 30, 2007, 04:02:51 AM

Title: play freeze with current build version flashed - JBR v1
Post by: alzi on October 30, 2007, 04:02:51 AM
Hello there,
My JBR v1 was ok with Rockbox 2.5. I flashed with a recent current build version. I have a 120go drive.
Everything seemed to work well but I can't play any audio file : it begins to play the file but it instantly freezes and shut down after a few seconds. I put back ver 2.5 and it works well.
What could be this problem ?
thanks
Title: Re: play freeze with current build version flashed - JBR v1
Post by: dionoea on October 30, 2007, 11:53:07 AM
Some major changes to the playback core were commited recently (i'm not sure if they affect hardware decoding targets like the JBR though). Could you try a build from a few weeks back (like a month ago) and see if you can still reproduce the freezing?
Title: Re: play freeze with current build version flashed - JBR v1
Post by: alzi on October 30, 2007, 12:40:54 PM
doesn't work with rockbox-recorder8mb-20070930 : same problem

Can I find older versions ?
Title: Re: play freeze with current build version flashed - JBR v1
Post by: pixelma on October 30, 2007, 01:06:16 PM

doesn't work with rockbox-recorder8mb-20070930 : same problem


Do you really have a modded recorder?

This build is for recorders that have a mod to increase ram size...
Title: Re: play freeze with current build version flashed - JBR v1
Post by: LambdaCalculus on October 30, 2007, 01:07:56 PM
That can definitely explain why his device is freezing and shutting down.

alzi, make sure you download the regular Archos JBRv1 build, NOT the 8MB build.

And like pixelma asked: did you mod your JBR to give it 8MB of RAM?
Title: Re: play freeze with current build version flashed - JBR v1
Post by: alzi on October 30, 2007, 01:17:03 PM
hum, what can i say : sorry ! It's ok now.

I thought "archos recorder v1" was for old recorder and "Archos Recorder 8MB" for mine... which hasn't any mod installed.

I will now looking for the interest of modding my JBR

thanks everybody
Title: Re: play freeze with current build version flashed - JBR v1
Post by: LambdaCalculus on October 30, 2007, 01:23:03 PM
You're welcome!

Here's a page to help you on your way: http://www.uwe-freese.de/rockbox/8mb_ram_en.html
Title: Re: play freeze with current build version flashed - JBR v1
Post by: alzi on October 30, 2007, 01:45:33 PM

You're welcome!
Here's a page to help you on your way: http://www.uwe-freese.de/rockbox/8mb_ram_en.html


Ok, I know wath to do now : stay with my unmodded JBR :-)