Rockbox Technical Forums

Installation / Removal => Manual Installation => Toshiba - Installation/Removal => Topic started by: Xqtftqx on October 06, 2007, 09:35:41 PM

Title: Is my gigabeat bricked?
Post by: Xqtftqx on October 06, 2007, 09:35:41 PM
I was playing around with that firmware hack thing for the Gigabeat. And i didnt realse i didnt have the orginal firmware on there ( i had the blank files) i turned it off after transfering the files. turned it back on. and it started up got a error "rechage battery" and then rebooted and got the same error. after i turned it off. it didnt turn back on. i cant recharge it because ive been out and i dont have my charger with me. chould it be i need to plug it in and attempt to put the rockbox bootloader on. or do i have to follow the recovery process?
Title: Re: Is my gigabeat bricked?
Post by: AlexP on October 07, 2007, 04:43:17 AM
I'm having trouble understanding your post and what you have done.  Try splitting it into sentences with some proper punctuation and capitalisation.

1)  What firmware hack thing?  We only support Rockbox here.

2)  If you have installed the dummy firmware files but not the rockbox bootloader then you have clearly broken the original firmware without installing rockbox.  You need to use the recovery procedure to install the rockbox bootloader and unzip a rockbox build.

3)  Follow the instructions in the manual.  If you did that, you wouldn't be having these problems.
Title: Re: Is my gigabeat bricked?
Post by: Xqtftqx on October 07, 2007, 06:36:30 AM
i was using gigabet firmware hack 3.0. i think it chould be both because i deleted the .rockbox directory once and i got a error "no firmware" and i chould connect to the computer. did you guys add that? or is it built into the gigabeat.
Title: Re: Is my gigabeat bricked?
Post by: AlexP on October 07, 2007, 07:12:25 AM
We do not support third party hacks.

To recover your gigabeat follow:

http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/view/Main/GigabeatFXPort#Gigabeat_Recovery_Procedures

P.S.  This is personal preference, but could you at least capitalise the first word of a sentance?  I find it really hard to read when you don't.
Title: Re: Is my gigabeat bricked?
Post by: Xqtftqx on October 07, 2007, 12:28:12 PM
Ok, my gigabeat is apart HD disconnected. i pugged it into the usb. attempted to turn it on. it wont turn on. at all. i made sure the batter was on and everything what do i do?
Title: Re: Is my gigabeat bricked?
Post by: Phalangees on October 07, 2007, 12:32:42 PM
The firmware hack is very risky. What part of the firmware hack did you try to do?
Title: Re: Is my gigabeat bricked?
Post by: Xqtftqx on October 07, 2007, 01:06:25 PM
The Powerup on AC plugin'

EDIT:
I plugged in my HD to my bros Gigabeat.
with the orginal firmware and it loaded fine. i tryed the rockbox firmware. it whouldnt load at all. i put back the orginal firmware tryed it it worked on my bros plugged it into mine and it didnt work at.
Title: Re: Is my gigabeat bricked?
Post by: Phalangees on October 07, 2007, 02:40:49 PM
The firmware isn't on the hard drive. The firmware is in the flash of the gigabeat which isn't accessible by a computer and can only be changed by firmware updates. The firmware hack is actually manipulating the firmware update and then that update changes the flash. I'm no expert on this at all and I wouldn't give up yet. I really have no idea what you should do though. So will your gigabeat turn on at all?
Title: Re: Is my gigabeat bricked?
Post by: Xqtftqx on October 07, 2007, 03:16:22 PM
not at all. the screen stays black. i can acsess the HD with my bros by connect it.
Title: Re: Is my gigabeat bricked?
Post by: Phalangees on October 07, 2007, 05:07:19 PM
Well, you could put the original, non-hacked, firmware update on your gigabeat from your brothers gigabeat. Then you could put the hard drive back in yours and try turning it on. But if your gigabeat doesn't even turn on then I have no idea how it will read the update files and restore itself.
Title: Re: Is my gigabeat bricked?
Post by: Xqtftqx on October 08, 2007, 03:27:42 PM
tryed, Rockbox Loads fine on bros, but not on mine. looks like the flash is bad. is there a way i can copy the flash from his to mine?
Title: Re: Is my gigabeat bricked?
Post by: Phalangees on October 08, 2007, 09:27:27 PM
Not anyway that is known yet. Did you try turning it on while plugged in to the charger?? Maybe the flash thinks it can't turn on without it. If you still can't get it to turn on.... then I'm out of ideas and it seems like you've been the first complete brick I've seen. That really sucks and I hope you can get it working.
Title: Re: Is my gigabeat bricked?
Post by: Xqtftqx on October 09, 2007, 06:00:06 PM
Already Tryed, :( called them up, they said it was gonna be 150 bucks for a new one. :(. looks like a new one.
Title: Re: Is my gigabeat bricked?
Post by: Phalangees on October 09, 2007, 07:23:33 PM
I'm sorry to hear that. I really feel bad for you. I know I would be very very upset if my gigabeat broke. It's my most prized possession.
Title: Re: Is my gigabeat bricked?
Post by: Xqtftqx on October 11, 2007, 04:59:52 PM
Dont feel bad, i got a new one. and let this be a lesson, DONT USE THE FIRMWARE HACKS!
Title: Re: Is my gigabeat bricked?
Post by: Mad Cow on October 12, 2007, 03:02:13 PM

Dont feel bad, i got a new one. and let this be a lesson, DONT USE THE FIRMWARE HACKS!


I wouldn't say that. I've used the firmware hacks without problems. I have the shower power button delay and a custom bootsplash. You just have to be really careful and make sure you triple check before doing anything. What are you going to do with you old one? I'm looking for a bricked player or case to replace my damaged case.
Title: Re: Is my gigabeat bricked?
Post by: Xqtftqx on October 14, 2007, 12:15:09 PM
My case is pretty beet up, theres a lot of dents/scraches. idk what to do with the old one. may buy a HD case thats fits and use it as a external harddrive.